We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so "drake" as I,d dreamed...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Drake Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Drake Hotel
Ranked #78 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not so "drake" as I,d dreamed...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2004

We were a party of 6, in 3 twin bed rooms from May 29th to June 3rd. 2 rooms were quite OK but the 3rd was so small and facing a wall that we complained and after much begging were given a half lakeview one (3rd floor). It was unusually cold (20º less than normal) but the heating was off and the best they did was giving us very old and not so efficient small heaters. The inroom TV hotel services account gave each day a different and wrong total so we spent every morning half an hour waiting anc complaining to a most untypical Assistant Manager... no french, no spanish speaking. The public rooms are nice but not gorgeous. Best assets: housekkeping maids and buffet breakfast.

Helpful?
6 Thank Trufa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn D, Manager at The Drake Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2016
Thank you for your feedback with regards to your recent stay with us. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay and that you did not feel we had staff speaking Spanish or French. We are proud to employ staff from all over the world and do have staff that speak both of these languages. I encourage you to contact me at 3129324505 to discuss this past stay and see what I can do to make it right for you and your guests.
Regards,
Kathryn Day
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,857
    1,065
    419
    226
    116
See reviews for
698
1,207
166
1,050
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (802)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2004

It's very exciting to stay at the Drake!!! The lobby is very grand and you can feel the history as you walk in. The front desk staff is extremely helpful. We stayed for two nights and were disappointed with our room the first night. It was cramped and all we saw out our window was the wall of the neighboring business building. We called the front desk and she had nothing else available at the time but told us to call back the next morning for an upgrade. When we called early the next day, they said they had a Lake view room for $20 more. We decided to go for it and did not regret it one bit. It was on the third floor and had a view of the Lake and the road along the lake. It was very relaxing. It was also a much bigger room. Ordered room service the next morning to sit by our window and enjoy the view. The food was expensive by tasty. It was hard to say good bye to this room.

Helpful?
7 Thank onejoehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2004

It was everything I expected and more. The room was well organized, the food was wonderful, there were serveral staff members to assist with all of my needs, the dessert room was impressive and the desserts were definately home made. I had a wonderful time in a beauftiful room and would highly recommend The Drake

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
100 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2004

I stayed here recently for 3 nights and liked the historical charm of the place. Rooms were a bit small and perhaps over furnished, but the high ceilings prevented it from feeling too cramped. I had no problem with the climate control in the room. The hotel is old but it seems to be refurbished and not at all run down. My nits: not obvious that there's an elevator from the street to the lobby check in (steps are daunting if you have luggage), and I couldn't understand why they had such cheap / poor quality radios in the room - really diminishes the place.

Helpful?
2 Thank RFJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2004

Great Location and Great Hotel.... The staff was perfect and the location could not have been better.. The rooms were a little warm, the temp controls did not work that well... ( Opened the window and we were fine) Otherwise, perfect.......

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2004

My wife and I stayed at the Drake in Jan. and enjoyed our stay.

The bad: The rooms are on the small side and the temperature controls in our rooms weren't working.

The good: Great service, friendly staff, wonderful bar. Clean rooms.

Helpful?
5 Thank kcplaza2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2004

My husband and I stayed at the Drake for our 10yr anniversary. We stayed for 3 days, and the hotel is simply gorgeous. The staff works HARD to exceed your expectations. The hotel is lovely, and has beautiful showcases all through out the area called the "Arcade". They have these GORGEOUS children's black and white photographs, and some paintings as well. We even used the photographer they have showcased there, and she is just as classy as the Drake. The Drake picked a wonderful choice there.

This is a class A hotel. Our room was more than we could ask for. The hotel is pricey, but what can you expect in the Gold Coast?

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Streeterville
The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Drake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drake Hotel

Property: The Drake Hotel
Address: 140 E. Walton Place, Magnificent Mile, Chicago, IL 60611-1501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#39 Family Hotel in Chicago
#48 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#49 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Drake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Chicago hotel has inspired more legendary acclaim on par with The Drake. This timeless property affords guests easy access to the city's most exclusive shopping, nightlife and dining.A fully equipped fitness/wellness center, business center and meeting rooms are available (surcharge). The stunning Gold Coast Room can accommodate 600 guests.Afternoon Tea at The Drake Hotel is as Chicago as a hot dog at Wrigley Field or a ride on the Ferris Wheel at Navy Pier. High society has always recognized The Drake Hotel as the quintessential social hotspot. Princess Diana, Queen Elizabeth and the Empress of Japan have all been seen in the Palm Court.Though The Drake has progressed both architecturally and technologically over the past 93 years, the roots of The Drake Hotel run deep beneath Lake Shore Drive into Real Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Drake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Drake Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotels Chicago
Chicago Drake Hotel
Drake Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing