We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Drake, A Hilton Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$540
$519
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$406
$373
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Talbott Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$679
$589
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$1,049
$975
The Peninsula
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$399
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$289
$254
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$618
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kimpton Hotel Allegro(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$521
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$594
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Best Western River North Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$301
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (4,216)
Filter reviews
4,216 results
Traveler rating
2,129
1,198
496
259
134
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,129
1,198
496
259
134
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe palm courtcape cod roomcoq d'orclassic hotelfamily roomthe executive loungeoak street beachlake michiganthe magnificent milethe north endhistorical hotelold chicagoa lake view rooman older hotelthe gold coastjunior suiterush street
Filter
Updating list...
2,704 - 2,709 of 4,216 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2014

A grand old lady in need of a facelift Parking at the hotel is overpriced with a LONG wait to get car The High Tea is Fabulous although the hotel needs more than that to rest it's laurels on and service would be a Fabulous place to start

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank FabulousFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellMenkes, General Manager at The Drake, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your observations on TripAdvisor. I'm so pleased you enjoyed tea in The Drake's historic Palm Court. I can assure you, we would never be so bold as to rest on our laurels, we are always updating and improving the property to make sure that our guests experience the best service and ambiance. We look forward to seeing you again soon for another fabulous time!

Russell Menkes
General Manager, The Drake Hotel
russell.menkes@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We had a great time. The fantasy is always to have a night stay at the Drake! We finally did it and we are looking forward to a repeat. The staff was great! From the Valets to the check in desk to check out! Can't wait to come back

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Gail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

If you are looking for some yesteryear hospitality, the Drake Hotel serves it up right. Everything was perfect in an imperfect way. First, the hotel was built in 1920 and one can see that, but that is part of the allure. I had a Junior Suite and it was clean, comfortable, and spacious with a great view of the ice covered Lake Michigan. However, due to its age, there is some marred trim and wall paper. I didn't let something so minor ruin my stay. I embraced its character. The service staff was on top of their profession and I was always treated as an honored guest. Of note, was the live entertainment in the Palm Court. Extraordinarily fun! I will return to this glorious hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room over looking Lake Michigan above the 4th floor.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RetiredPawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

had very good experiance with the hotel for 1 night in chicago.
very nice room, big washroom, the majestic ballroom - go to see.
the hotel do not provide breakfast as part of the regular room - a minus
the parking is 65$ for over 6 hours - too expensive!
the location - great.

Room Tip: had the 4th floor facing the main street - no noise at all !
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaikidon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

The Drake is one of the "Grand Old Ladies" of hotels. No room is the same. The Lobby areas are beautifully appointed. Where can you find an upholstered bench in the elevator. I have stayed here many times and always leave feeling "grand".

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Janice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews