We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Grandeur remains relevant”
Review of The Drake Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Drake Hotel
Ranked #81 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, United States
1 review
“Historic Grandeur remains relevant”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I was rarely in the hotel room, but upon arrival, it was clear the level of service was high. The hotel from entry to the room was clean and quiet. The restaurant was undergoing renovations, but there are restaurants nearby this location and a coffee shop was on the lower level next to the flower shop. There is a large dining area which appears to be more of a meeting space for guests. It was quite grand and comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellMenkes, General Manager at The Drake Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for your delightful review of The Drake Hotel. I appreciate your observations in reference to our atmosphere being clean and comfortable. It's unfortunate you didn't have the opportunity to visit the Cape Cod restaurant because of the floor renovation. The good news is, Cape Cod has been in The Drake for over 80 years so perhaps next time you're in town you can grab a bite in the nation's first themed seafood restaurant.

Russell Menkes
General Manager, The Drake Hotel
russell.menkes@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,960
    1,109
    449
    239
    121
See reviews for
738
1,270
174
1,111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (839)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bull Valley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

I called to upgrade a room to a suite for friends that were a taking there. I filled out a credit card authorization form and was charged for the room upgrade. My friends were excited about our little anniversary gift surprise for them. I find out later on that even though I paid for the room upgrade (and was charged) that they were charged as well and that the front desk would not let them leave until they were charged for the room upgrade. I called and was able to get it corrected, but they ruined a nice surprise for their anniversary by making them worry about covering charges they did not expect to pay for. I have asked three times for a receipt to be mailed to me for the charges I incurred. I guess I will now have to ask a fourth time. They took a surprise gesture for our friends and ruined it. I handle a lot of corporate events and the request I had was very simple and straight forward.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Kim t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellMenkes, General Manager at The Drake Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Giving the gift of an upgrade was a truly thoughtful present and I know that when it comes to a less than perfect hospitality experience it is difficult to enjoy your stay. That being said, I hope your gift did not go unnoticed and more than anything, I hope they were able to have a romantic anniversary at The Drake. If it is possible, I'd like to discuss your experience with you directly. If you would be so kind as to email me your TripAdvisor name and the best way to contact you, I will reach out at your earliest convenience.

Russell Menkes
General Manager, The Drake Hotel
russell.menkes@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We went in early Dec. for a weekend of shopping, dining, and seeing a Christmas Carol. The Drake had beautiful holiday decorations up. We were able to purchase tickets to the Shed Aquarium from the concierge, thus by-passing the line. We enjoyed our entire stay. Love the location.

Room Tip: We up graded to a premium room. More space and right on Michigan Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2014

My fiance and I made a trip downtown for NYE to go to dinner in the Signature Room of the John Hancock and then staying at the Drake that night. Overall, the service and accommodations at the Drake are fantastic! The historic beauty of the place has a great feel. In addition, the lake view was wonderful and we were treated very nicely by the staff. I highly recommend the Drake as a getaway for a weekend or for your stay in Chicago.

Room Tip: The lake view rooms are what make the Drake special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbyc276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellMenkes, General Manager at The Drake Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for choosing The Drake Hotel as your New Year's Eve destination. While our historic charm tends to get people in the door, it's the memories created inside that keeps people coming back. I'm so pleased you and your fiance enjoyed yourselves and I appreciate your comments about the service and accommodations. I hope to see you back at The Drake soon!

Russell Menkes
General Manager, The Drake Hotel
russell.menkes@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Arrived early on very cold day, but room was ready.Check in was quick & hassell free. All staff were pleasant and quick to help. Luggage arrived at room within 5 minutes. Great view of lake and shore line. We were celabrating wife's birthday and Hotel had cake waiting in room. As this turned out to be record breaking cold weekend we spent much time in bar staying warm. Will return to Drake next trip to Chicago and have told friends of wonderful time.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellMenkes, General Manager at The Drake Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for not only sharing your story on TripAdvisor but also advising your friends to visit our landmark property. This has been a brutal winter but you have to appreciate The Drake's "City within a City" atmosphere: five restaurants, shops and entertainment-- you never have to venture out into the cold. I'm pleased you'd choose The Drake for your wife's birthday and we hope we'll see you again for another happy occasion.

Russell Menkes
General Manager, The Drake Hotel
russell.menkes@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We spent time this weekend with family and had. A wonderful time! We stayed at the Drake 20+ years ago, and it was nice! but not like this time. Rooms were well appointed (we had a king and a family double room). Maybe they view could have been better, but the design and ambiance of the lobby area was spectacular. I hope. To return next December to see Christmas decor. Everyone we met from the hotel were soooo nice. Especially the desk help and Carlos the doorman. He was so informative. Curios to Hilton.

Room Tip: We did overlook walls in our rooms.... ask for the best view available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IowanTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellMenkes, General Manager at The Drake Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Your observations about The Drake Hotel are greatly appreciated. I've passed your compliments on to Carlos who has been with The Drake for 40 years! While I'm pleased you enjoyed the service and accommodations, 20 years is just too long! We hope you do indeed join us again this year for Christmas, if not sooner - Iowa is just around the corner from us!

Russell Menkes
General Manager, The Drake Hotel
russell.menkes@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Our group of 5 all had lovely rooms with great beds and sitting space. We did not try any hotel restaurants but did enjoy a cocktail in the bar. The hotel location is a stand out, the Palm Court is beautiful, a must see. Even though we had requested early check in our rooms were not available until 3, a disappointment.

We would all stay at The Drake again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emptynesteralmost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellMenkes, General Manager at The Drake Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your observations on TripAdvisor. I am so pleased to read you enjoyed yourselves in our well appointed suites and made it out to enjoy a cocktail in Coq d'Or. It is unfortunate that your request for early check-in wasn't honored. If you would like to speak further about your experience at The Drake, I'd appreciate the opportunity to hear more. Please, email your TripAdvisor name and best time/way to contact you and I'll reach out at your earliest convenience.

Russell Menkes
General Manager, The Drake Hotel
russell.menkes@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 190 in Chicago
2,827 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#98 of 190 in Chicago
8,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Drake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drake Hotel

Property: The Drake Hotel
Address: 140 E. Walton Place, Magnificent Mile, Chicago, IL 60611-1501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#39 Family Hotel in Chicago
#49 Business Hotel in Chicago
#51 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Drake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Chicago hotel has inspired more legendary acclaim on par with The Drake. This timeless property affords guests easy access to the city's most exclusive shopping, nightlife and dining.A fully equipped fitness/wellness center, business center and meeting rooms are available (surcharge). The stunning Gold Coast Room can accommodate 600 guests.Afternoon Tea at The Drake Hotel is as Chicago as a hot dog at Wrigley Field or a ride on the Ferris Wheel at Navy Pier. High society has always recognized The Drake Hotel as the quintessential social hotspot. Princess Diana, Queen Elizabeth and the Empress of Japan have all been seen in the Palm Court.Though The Drake has progressed both architecturally and technologically over the past 93 years, the roots of The Drake Hotel run deep beneath Lake Shore Drive into Real Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Drake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Drake Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotels Chicago
Chicago Drake Hotel
Drake Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing