We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Drake, A Hilton Hotel
Ranked #81 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We went for a conference but stayed for two extra days to enjoy the Fourth of July Chicago style. Fabulous property and great martinis by Hanna in the Coq d' Or. One of the best weeks of our life. The view from our suite, facing north was fantastic.

Room Tip: Gold Coast executive suite facing north offers a breathtaking view of Lake Michigan. One bedroom exe...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellMenkes, Manager at The Drake, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thanks for reviewing us! We always enjoy hearing about work-to-play stays. We also pride ourselves on our ability to be that kind of grand hotel. We hope you enjoyed the fireworks, cocktail in hand, from Oak Street Beach across the street or from our top floor Executive Lounge. If not, Labor Day is just around the corner! Come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,939)
There are newer reviews for The Drake, A Hilton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,763 - 2,769 of 3,939 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

It's an old hotel, but unlike others, it's extremely well kept. All the corners dusted, all the nooks and crannies clean. Our room was spacious and elegant and the Assistant Service Director, Ioannis Vragkos was extremely helpful, professional, and gracious. Very good.The only knock is that we could hear our neighbors conversations quite clearly and the internet was down our entire stay (for a seemingly good reason). Luckily our neighbors checked out and it was a family trip so I didn't really need the internet very badly...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellMenkes, Manager at The Drake, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Andrew, we at The Drake Hotel Chicago are so pleased that you and your family had a pleasant stay! What you experienced from our helpful staff is what we call The Drake Standard-- anything less is unacceptable. Being one of the oldest buildings on the Magnificent Mile we are enthusiastic about offering modern amenities and classic charm simultaneously, though, I'm sorry the internet was down during your stay. We look forward to seeing you and your family again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Beautiful hotel, quiet with very comfortable beds, with very helpful staff. Prime location, just steps away from the magnificent mile. I would love to return to this hotel. The junior suite was incredible. It really was a joy to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellMenkes, Manager at The Drake, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Kathryn, thanks for visiting The Drake Hotel! I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I hope you had a chance to enjoy Real Chicago while you were here. We hope you visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at The Drake a few weeks ago. The room was spotless and the price very reasonable. The bed had the comfort we associate with Hilton. The greeting and check-in were excellent and the self-parking worked perfectly and, considering the parking costs in Chicago, the rates were acceptable; same with the wi-fi. To be sure, this is a hotel of the Old School. That is part of its charm. If hotels like this are no longer available, we will all lose something.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CardinalePrimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellMenkes, Manager at The Drake, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Alan, I am glad you had a wonderful stay with us in June. I agree with you, hotels like The Drake add something to the charm of the city. The Drake has been around longer than most known Chicago landmarks-- a real historical treat. Thank you for taking the time to review us and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The have live music in the bar and gives a very nice ambient together with the classic decoration of the historic building. The location is perfect, one block away from the Gold Coast beach. Is not massive big, so it is very comfortable unlike the Palmer house where there is so much people because of the size of the hotel and you can't hear anything when the lobby is full.
Rooms have a perfect size.
Things to improve: The wall of my shower had hairs.. for a hotel of this category is totally unacceptable. Aside from that everything was perfect.

Room Tip: If you pick a room with view to the back of the hotel you see the lake, is very nice view. Strongly...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MexKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellMenkes, Manager at The Drake, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thanks for the review! I'm glad you had the chance to enjoy our live music in the Palm Court and Coq d'Or during your stay. I agree with you, the size and history of The Drake Hotel are direct contributors to its innate charm. We hope you join us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The family room was huge at around 500 sq ft. It is a great place to stay with comfy beds, old world charm and a great location. It has an excellent fitness center and free live excellent jazz on some Thursday nights in the Palm Court. What a great experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yogi_93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellMenkes, Manager at The Drake, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thanks for the review! I'm glad you got the chance to enjoy some jazz in the Palm Court, next time you should join us for live music in the Coq d'Or! Thanks for staying at The Drake Hotel and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Making our reservation a month in advance, we got a very reasonable (for downtown Chicago on the Miracle Mile) rate for a top floor room (9 out of 10), executive level, paying extra for both that and the lakeshore view. Both our room and the executive lounge allowed one to gaze up the Gold Coast with the lake (and sailboats), the beach, the walking/jogging/biking trail, tree-lined Lakeshore Freeway and the condo buildings all in view. The executive lounge (walk-up to a partial 11th floor) offered fine serve-yourself breakfast fare until 10 am and hors d'oeuvres in the late afternoon/early evening. Custom coffee drinks in the morning and alcoholic beverages in the evening were well prepared (with no waiting line) for reasonable charges to the room. Other highlights include beautiful, classic public spaces with enormous, fresh floral arrangments in the lobby and the main lounge. The water-themed restaurant and bar are cozy. (Have the bartender point out Marilyn Monroe's initials!) The lower level's small store arcade with it's interesting window displays is another classic treasure you only find with hotels of this erea. The expertly efficient and friendly concierge was wonderful, helping us get tickets for our pre-selected activities as well as guiding us to some other gems, based upon our tastes and preferences. These folks deserved a nice gratuity and got it! The room was very nice, but had some minor wear on the furniture and moisture spots on the bath walls. There were also a couple of minor HVAC and plumbing maintenance issues that were at least partially addressed upon complaint. (Older hotels sometimes have their limitations as to how finely conditions can be tweaked.) Don't miss a walk across the street to Spiaggia. Get one of the tasting menus with the drink pairings and prepare yourself for a meal without equal! VERY expensive , but worth every dollar! After all, you saved that cab fare dining here! This is still one of the grand hotels of America that everyone should experience at least once.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellMenkes, Manager at The Drake, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review of The Drake Hotel. When our guests upgrade to the lakeview and executive lounge accomodations they walk away with picturesque memories atop the Magnificent Mile. I see you made it to the Cape Cod restaurant to see Marilyn and Joe DiMaggio's initials-- quite an experience. We pride ourselves on The Drake Standard and I'm very happy you received it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#100 of 191 in Chicago
9,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Drake, A Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drake, A Hilton Hotel

Address: 140 E. Walton Place, Magnificent Mile, Chicago, IL 60611-1501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#39 Family Hotel in Chicago
#49 Business Hotel in Chicago
#51 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $151 - $475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Drake, A Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Chicago hotel has inspired more legendary acclaim on par with The Drake. This timeless property affords guests easy access to the city's most exclusive shopping, nightlife and dining. A fully equipped fitness/wellness center, business center and meeting rooms are available (surcharge). The stunning Gold Coast Room can accommodate 600 guests. Afternoon Tea at The Drake, A Hilton Hotel is as Chicago as a hot dog at Wrigley Field or a ride on the Ferris Wheel at Navy Pier. High society has always recognized The Drake Hotel as the quintessential social hotspot. Princess Diana, Queen Elizabeth and the Empress of Japan have all been seen in the Palm Court. Though The Drake has progressed both architecturally and technologically over the past 93 years, the roots of The Drake Hotel run deep beneath Lake Shore Drive into Real Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Drake, A Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Drake Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotels Chicago
Chicago Drake Hotel
Drake Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing