We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea ...”
Review of The Drake Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Drake Hotel
Ranked #78 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
St. Catharines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea ...”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

the Palm Room is a must for a relaxing cup of afternoon tea.
Break up a busy day of shopping 'The Mile' in the calming atmoshere of The Drakes tea room.
Attentive service, fabulous tea, a fountain and harp music, can make this a special treat for your significant other.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zappappaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,907
    1,084
    431
    230
    118
See reviews for
721
1,229
172
1,080
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (815)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
223 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Very nice hotel and historic property located just within the magnificent mile shops and a few blocks from a very nice Restaurant zone at Rush street. Hotel is old but very well maintained and gives you a typical Chicago old fashioned ambiance. My room was ample but restaurant was nice. Perfect for leisure travelers.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with the Lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEM22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This hotel is lovely although it is an older hotel and that shows at times. We had a nice view of the lake and the room was spacious. The bathroom was small and the shower water pressure was just awful but it's a a nice hotel with great staff in a super location near the Mag Mile.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Thought we would love the Drake, but were quite disappointed in our stay. Booked a one night stay, (thank God it was only one night!) beds only have "soft feather" pillows. I know I might be picky on this, but on a king-size bed that has 5 pillows lined up, I'd mix & match so your guests would have the best of both worlds. What prompted me to write this review, was the 4:30am wake-up call from the drunk Irish (shocking!) ladies next door. Front desk was called, didn't really help. It probably doesn't help that the walls are paper thin, but that's not my problem. I expect to get a quiet nights rest. You would expect that from some kind of motel. Probably wouldn't stay here again. Just overall disappointed in the whole experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMwed2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, MN
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We just spent our second valentines day, 3 day vacation at the Drake. They are so very professional and cater to every care. The consierge cannot be topped, fabulous recommendations, and they work magic with reservations. The hotel itself is obviously a classic beauty with all the upgrades without losing its originality. You don't feel like you are staying in the same hotel room you stay in every other hotel. It's truly a wonderful place to spend special time together.

Room Tip: There is no bad room, from our experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esh2244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellMenkes, General Manager at The Drake Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at The Drake. Your kind remarks are sincerely appreciated. We always make an effort to ensure every guest's experience is special and are delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable second stay with us over Valentine's Day weekend! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just spent three nights in the truly magnificent, historic and beautiful Drake Hotel in Chicago. The staff was pretty great overall, very accommodating and not stuffy in the slightest. We especially liked the girl from Brazil (so sorry we forgot her name) who went the extra mile for all customers and give them extra special attention. We ran into her on many occasions and she is top quality, the best. Now, the front desk was another story. Very cold and not professional, not helpful at all, especially the girl we encountered both checking in and out. Stood there flatly. Cold and expressionless both times, not welcoming whatsoever. The front desk is the first and last impression a hotel makes so it was odd that this was allowed.
We went to all there venues, just about every restaurant and bar. All were great and worth the cost. We got a nor1 upgrade and upgraded to a premier suite with lake-view which was spectacular. The hotel benefits from these up-sells as they get more money for a room that would otherwise go unsold. A win-win. Plus we literally did not leave the facility over 3 days so all our money was spent at the hotel.
Now for the awful, and truly disappointing...... The lighting! I am a seasoned traveler and lover of all things historic and the lighting was atrocious! The use of those god-awful compact fluorescents are everywhere. They have ruined the feel for the historic, the sense of history, of being transported to another time. The beauty of these spaces has been ruined. There was a ghastly blue-green harsh pall throughout the all the common spaces. The hallways, in front of elevator, the famed Palm Court, the grand ballrooms. And my favorite, The Cape Cod room too. Horrible, depressing and disappointing. Our room also had those squiggly curly cue fluorescencts in every lamp. The romance of the place was just ruined. Keep in mind these suites run over $550 night, with fluorescents????? Lighting is the key to design, the most important element. These light bulbs are ruining these historic spaces. I hope something is done about this. We are going to have to bring our own incandescents next time. I know there is a growing trend and backlash from many people not liking these bulbs so I thought I would mention it. Thanks for an otherwise good overall experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alanchicago6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California, United States
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Love the Drake Hotel. My favorite place to stay in Chicago. Close to shopping, eating, and Lake Michigan shores. Rooms are very comfortable. Doormen are the best. Love the coffee shop next door, also.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Conrad Chicago
Conrad Chicago
#7 of 189 in Chicago
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Drake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drake Hotel

Property: The Drake Hotel
Address: 140 E. Walton Place, Magnificent Mile, Chicago, IL 60611-1501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#39 Family Hotel in Chicago
#49 Business Hotel in Chicago
#49 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Drake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Chicago hotel has inspired more legendary acclaim on par with The Drake. This timeless property affords guests easy access to the city's most exclusive shopping, nightlife and dining.A fully equipped fitness/wellness center, business center and meeting rooms are available (surcharge). The stunning Gold Coast Room can accommodate 600 guests.Afternoon Tea at The Drake Hotel is as Chicago as a hot dog at Wrigley Field or a ride on the Ferris Wheel at Navy Pier. High society has always recognized The Drake Hotel as the quintessential social hotspot. Princess Diana, Queen Elizabeth and the Empress of Japan have all been seen in the Palm Court.Though The Drake has progressed both architecturally and technologically over the past 93 years, the roots of The Drake Hotel run deep beneath Lake Shore Drive into Real Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Drake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Drake Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotels Chicago
Chicago Drake Hotel
Drake Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing