We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Lovely Lobby”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Drake, A Hilton Hotel
Ranked #79 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is a beautiful old hotel in downtown Chicago. The location is awesome. They have a great, huge fitness center, the rooms are nice (but old nice, not modern). The staff is very friendly. The heat was harder to control because of the building being so old.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sorrmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,939)
There are newer reviews for The Drake, A Hilton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,932 - 2,938 of 3,939 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

I had a one night stay in the Drake in business. It is very well appointed and historic. The decor is classic for a grand hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

While at the hotel I had a drink in the bar as well as room service for breakfast. Both were very good.

The hallways are very wide and the rooms are oversized as you find in many historic hotels. The location is also very good near Michigan Avenue.

The only negatives was the shower was very dark and views were average.

Overall excellent hotel.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
Thank JCollura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Room was clean and well appointed (2 bathrooms!) with a really comfy bed and lovely touches. Fabulous grand older style hotel with class & character. Nice bar, well located. I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EatDrinkCycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This iconic hotel really oozes history and class, Rooms are spacious ( we had a great view over the lake ) , The Staff were excellent !
We were there on St Patricks Day so yes it was busy but alive.
Its a easy cab ride downtown or a nice walk plenty of places to Eat and also close to shopping Malls..... If you want to see the town make sure you do it on a Segway

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadAussie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellMenkes, Manager at The Drake, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear MadAussie Z,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback with us here on TripAdvisor. It sounds like you had a great trip and were able to really enjoy our historic property. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Chicago!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just spent the last week at The Drake for a series of business meetings. You can see that this is a classic hotel. But, if you look closer, it's long in the tooth. The hotel is in need of a refurb. My room had multiple issues - like sliding closet doors that wouldn't slide, wallpaper with substantial peeling of the seams, etc.

From a conference perspective, it's less than ideal. Some of the rooms are long and narrow with low ceilings making you feel somewhat trapped in. The rooms are on various floors leaving you going up slightly one level than down a bit another - it's a strange layout. Worse, we had about 200+ people and when our sessions would end, everyone would head to the one set of elevators - which are small and very slow. There were no stairs available and many people were just a floor or two above the conference rooms (not sure how this is even possible from a fire safety perspective, but that's another topic).

This hotel has a lot of character. The staff was very friendly and the food was pretty good. However, it's in need of a remodeling to bring it back to it's former glory days and I was surprised by this given what I had previously heard about The Drake.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I took my dad on a surprise trip to Chicago for his retirement gift. He was completely blown away by the entire experience but all started when he walked into the Drake. His mouth literally dropped open in awe of the beauty. I got an amazing rate on The Drake on a travel website and definitely wasn't expecting this type of old school luxury. The front desk was very pleasant and our room was spotless. The Drake is also conveniently located and within walking distance to many sites including Navy Pier (which he loved). We had breakfast one morning and while it was overpriced the service was great as was our food. The concierge was also helpful in recommending restaurants in the area and helping us get cabs. If I return to Chicago I would definitely want to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellMenkes, Manager at The Drake, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you, Katie H! We really appreciate those comments look forward to having you as a guest again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

A very last minute meeting resulted in a very last.minute reservation at the Drake..the only available room was with twin beds but we were in a jam and booked it. Upon arrival the valet and bellman promptly took the car and the bags...check in took mere minutes and we went off to inspect our twin bed room. Suprisingly, the room was great, huge bathroom,big closet, super comfy fluffy beds which made me happy.
We went down to the bar and had drinks and snacks, specifically manhattens, deviled eggs and chicken wings and all were perfect. The bar is old school fun.
We ordered room service for breakfast and made some crazy requests on the room service hangtag you leave on the door. Everything thing we asked for was done perfectly...we wanted poached eggs on spinach on top of tomatoes and they did it! Anyway we got a late checkout and made our meeting happy and rested.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tamrie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#100 of 191 in Chicago
9,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Drake, A Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drake, A Hilton Hotel

Address: 140 E. Walton Place, Magnificent Mile, Chicago, IL 60611-1501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#39 Family Hotel in Chicago
#49 Business Hotel in Chicago
#49 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $152 - $479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Drake, A Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Chicago hotel has inspired more legendary acclaim on par with The Drake. This timeless property affords guests easy access to the city's most exclusive shopping, nightlife and dining. A fully equipped fitness/wellness center, business center and meeting rooms are available (surcharge). The stunning Gold Coast Room can accommodate 600 guests. Afternoon Tea at The Drake, A Hilton Hotel is as Chicago as a hot dog at Wrigley Field or a ride on the Ferris Wheel at Navy Pier. High society has always recognized The Drake Hotel as the quintessential social hotspot. Princess Diana, Queen Elizabeth and the Empress of Japan have all been seen in the Palm Court. Though The Drake has progressed both architecturally and technologically over the past 93 years, the roots of The Drake Hotel run deep beneath Lake Shore Drive into Real Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Drake, A Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Drake Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotels Chicago
Chicago Drake Hotel
Drake Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing