We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic hotel”
Review of The Drake Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Drake Hotel
Ranked #78 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Classic hotel”
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Drake on a Thursday night. Staff was extremely friendly. For an older hotel the rooms were very up to date. Had an executive room over looking Michigan Ave. Will stay here again next time I stay downtown.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtp216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,907
    1,084
    431
    230
    118
See reviews for
721
1,229
172
1,080
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (815)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barrington, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

What a great hotel! Perfect location and food. The service was superb. The Drake has an old Grande Dame hotel feel to it. I would recommend a suite. They are spacious with lots of room to store all of your shopping bags! I would also recommend room service and the chowder in the Cape Cod restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineRI_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Just stayed at the Drake in Chicago this past weekend for 2 nights. The place was busy, so my initial impression was influenced as a result as it was a bit difficult to find the check in area upon arrival. We arrived by train and bus and when we found the Drake we had to go up the stairs from the entrance and the check in was tucked back on the right. The door men did not even welcome us by an acknwoledgement or opening the door. Again, the place was busy with a wedding, so this may sound picky, but just wanted to note it. This also did not affect my overall experience. Besides, we had tickets to the Book of Mormon...so not complaining!

We are Hilton Honors members, so I always want to give a good representation of the experience the seasoned traveler can expect.

On check in I do say we had to wait a bit again to be acknowledged and checked in. However, once helped the customer service was great and we were well treated. We were upgraded to the 7th floor and to a room with a view of lake Michigan....wow! The door opened up to a large room an a nice vista of the the beach and the beautiful lake. The room had that old world charm and opulence. It had plenty of space and was well appointed. The king size bed was very comfortable and was appropriate fitting the size of the large room.

The concierge Mary Carmen was very pleasant and informative. She recommended some excellent restaurants nearby and was able to answer many of our directional questions.

We had dinner and drinks at the Coq D'or downstairs in the Drake. Excellent jazz singer with piano accompaniment. The food there was great and the atomosphere was perfect. Try the clam chowder and the mushroom truffle open face sandwich. It was a light meal, but went well with the drinks and the music. After eating at the Coq D'or we went upstairs and on the way the main dining area where they have high tea also had music playing. It was a popular locale; a full band; and people were dancing in this elegant venue. We were too tired from traveling and walking so we just watched for a bit and then went to bed.

Keep in mind that this hotel is old and as such the hotel hall ways are huge and the doors to the rooms don't seal out the noise as best as possible. We went to bed at 10pm and we could hear loud children and people getting ice in the hallway. It wasn't too bad, but I think in newer hotels with sound proofing in doors and hallways this wouldn't happen as much.

By all means this hotel should not be avoided. I think it is a great hotel and has the best location near the lake good for sites and/or a walk on the walking path. Also, there are many nice restaurants close by. The place is very clean and the restaurants and entertainment there are wonderful. As a note this hotel does not have a pool or a hot tub.

The show The Book of Mormon was superb, so when/if you get tickets a stay here would make your experience that much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marazzani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Great service-Real old time charm! Enoigh said= not uppity,not expensive. Better than at our last visit 30 years ago. Nothing more to say, but you won't be disappointed. It is close to lots of shopping and some eatimg and lots of people around.

Helpful?
Thank Doug G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We are a Chicago couple who realize that the top hotels on the Magnificent Mile do not include the Drake as her star has lost a bit of its luster. However we were really surprised to find a well run hotel with well appointed rooms and good service. We were upgraded to a 7th floor King Deluxe lake view (Room 752) which a great view of Lake Shore Drive and the beaches. Our room was huge and had only one complaint in which we could not control the heat and throughout the night the room kept getting warmer.

We had drinks and an appetizer at the Coq D'or which was crowded late night while a singer performed with a pianist. Drinks are strong and well crafted! One tip: self park at numerous locations only blocks away for $30 rather than pay the $56 valet fee.

Room Tip: Room 752 is huge with stellar lake views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellBoys60625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellMenkes, General Manager at The Drake Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear BellBoys60624

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us here on TripAdvisor. It’s great to hear where we succeeded during your stay, even surprising you with our rooms and service, but I’m disappointed to hear that we fell short in other areas. I’ve shared your comments regarding the room temperature with our Hotel Manager as this could facilitate a valuable training opportunity for our colleagues. I sincerely hope you will consider staying with The Drake Hotel on your next Staycation. Thank you, again, for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Honestly - I pretty much got exactly what I expected from this place. Above-average service, older property but kept up well. We had I believe it was one of the executive rooms and it was VERY spacious. Nice bathroom, big TV, comfortable bed, all in all - nice, charming place.

Also, we were there during New Years and the Christmas decorations were beautiful - and they seemed to have some huge shindig New Years Eve so it was fun to see all the buzz in the air as we went on our way to our own New Years Festivities.

I will say the executive lounge at the top of the building was really not all that impressive. I will give it an A for the view, but the room, space and amenities in the lounge were all below par.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellMenkes, General Manager at The Drake Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Ali K,

Thank you for posting your review. We are absolutely thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Drake Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is a fabulous hotel with history and charm. I have been a diamond member since 2001 and this is the finest Hilton Property that I have been to. The staff is always courteous, professional & friendly. I have always been upgraded to a suite that is wonderful with beautiful views of either Lake Michigan & Lake Shore Drive or Michigan Ave. I have stayed at this property 5 times and have always been pleased with my stay. This hotel is very convenient for shopping, dining or going to the lake.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gregory10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellMenkes, General Manager at The Drake Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Greyory10_10,

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful feedback with us here on TripAdvisor. It sounds like you have had many great experiences with The Drake Hotel as well as Hilton. Thank you for being a loyal to our property, as we know there are many options in Chicago. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Conrad Chicago
Conrad Chicago
#7 of 189 in Chicago
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Drake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drake Hotel

Property: The Drake Hotel
Address: 140 E. Walton Place, Magnificent Mile, Chicago, IL 60611-1501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#39 Family Hotel in Chicago
#49 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#49 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Drake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Chicago hotel has inspired more legendary acclaim on par with The Drake. This timeless property affords guests easy access to the city's most exclusive shopping, nightlife and dining.A fully equipped fitness/wellness center, business center and meeting rooms are available (surcharge). The stunning Gold Coast Room can accommodate 600 guests.Afternoon Tea at The Drake Hotel is as Chicago as a hot dog at Wrigley Field or a ride on the Ferris Wheel at Navy Pier. High society has always recognized The Drake Hotel as the quintessential social hotspot. Princess Diana, Queen Elizabeth and the Empress of Japan have all been seen in the Palm Court.Though The Drake has progressed both architecturally and technologically over the past 93 years, the roots of The Drake Hotel run deep beneath Lake Shore Drive into Real Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Drake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Drake Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotels Chicago
Chicago Drake Hotel
Drake Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing