We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great "Old Time" Chicago Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Drake, A Hilton Hotel
Ranked #79 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is a classic hotel on the mile and has a ton of charm. The staff (except the bartender in Palm Court) were very friendly and helpful. The room was very nice and the tree and life-sized nutcrackers in the lobby made it really feel like the holidays. The proce is reasonable for the location.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KGREENW7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,939)
There are newer reviews for The Drake, A Hilton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,975 - 2,981 of 3,939 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed at a junior suite at the Drake. Room is somewhat nice and spacey, though some parts just seem out of date but overall good. Also had in room breakfast with sausage + croissant with tea and cranberry juice, on top of that, service called and asked whether I enjoyed the meal. Sweet.
One down side is, bell men always seemed to be distracted.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

spent one night during christmas holiday. check-in was seamless, however upgraded room

not worth the extra money. hotel lobby arguably the best holiday decorations of all chicago

hotels,

room on lower floor functional w/ michigan ave view. hallways large and well lit.

all in all, for a dated hotel, very well run and a good value and location.

Room Tip: ask for room w/two lounge chairs if couple. if paying extra for upgrade, as for north view(lake a...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raceaveal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I guess my review may not be very relevent to readers of Tripadvisor as my stay was some years back now when the Drake was considered to be one of the best hotels in town. No complaints then, good sized room, decent bathroom and great atmosphere in the public areas. From what I see on Tripadvisor and going by the hotel's internet site this famous icon is now just a fairly typical Hilton which is a great shame. What it needs to become great again is new ownership/management. I have seen what has been achieved with both the Savoy and Claridges in London returning them to the prestige they used to enjoy, so perhaps that's what should happen here and then it could be a top destination once again. My stay was well before January 2012 but that's the earliest date available on this site.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rc51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We recently celebrated my mother's 89th birthday at The Drake - a dream come true. Our room was exquisite and the staff bent over backwards to make our stay very special. Tea at the Palm Court was lovely and the food was delicious; the harpist even played Happy Birthday for us! Family members gathered in the downstairs bar/lounge later that evening and found the drinks to be not overly-expensive and the atmosphere cozy and inviting. All in all, I would give this 5 stars and highly recommend a visit to this fine hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teagal123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

The second time I stayed here. The hotel is old, but that would give a wrong impression. It is pure vintage. Time stood still. Nicely decorated with lots of dark wood and warm colors. The lobby / reception is one stair up from streetlevel. As it was Christmas-time the lobby had a big, big christmas tree and plenty of other X-mas decorations. Very nice.The lounch services classic tea and a harpist is playing. Employees are friendly. The room was spacious with a well equiped bathroom, with a real lifesize tub. Bed is excellent. View on the lake. Wifi in the room is charged for, in the lobby free (which is a pity). Breakfast in the restaurant is limited. No buffet, only a menu to choose from. If you like old fashioned, vintage, yet high quality hotels, this is the place to be.

Room Tip: ask for a room withlake view
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joost D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Having lived in Chicago my entire life, The Drake has always been an iconic hotel to me which is why when my husband and I decided to make a mini-vacation in our own city we choose The Drake. While the view of the lake is unbeatable the hotel is a bit outdated and did not live up to my expectations. The location is good, it is close to shopping and short cab or bus ride to museums or the zoo. As far as hotel ammedities there were not many. Internet is not free as it is in many other major hotels and eating at the hotel is quite expensive. I do not recommend the breakfest buffet. It was $65 for two and was just the standard overcooked french toast, rubbery eggs and limp bacon. If a view of the lake is your most important criteria (which it was for me) then this hotel is an excellent choice. If your looking for a more luxury then look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Choose a lakeview room.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank windycitytraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#100 of 191 in Chicago
9,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Drake, A Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drake, A Hilton Hotel

Address: 140 E. Walton Place, Magnificent Mile, Chicago, IL 60611-1501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#39 Family Hotel in Chicago
#49 Business Hotel in Chicago
#49 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $152 - $479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Drake, A Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Chicago hotel has inspired more legendary acclaim on par with The Drake. This timeless property affords guests easy access to the city's most exclusive shopping, nightlife and dining. A fully equipped fitness/wellness center, business center and meeting rooms are available (surcharge). The stunning Gold Coast Room can accommodate 600 guests. Afternoon Tea at The Drake, A Hilton Hotel is as Chicago as a hot dog at Wrigley Field or a ride on the Ferris Wheel at Navy Pier. High society has always recognized The Drake Hotel as the quintessential social hotspot. Princess Diana, Queen Elizabeth and the Empress of Japan have all been seen in the Palm Court. Though The Drake has progressed both architecturally and technologically over the past 93 years, the roots of The Drake Hotel run deep beneath Lake Shore Drive into Real Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Drake, A Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Drake Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotels Chicago
Chicago Drake Hotel
Drake Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing