We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday bash at The Drake”
Review of The Drake Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Drake Hotel
Ranked #79 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birthday bash at The Drake”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We recently celebrated my mother's 89th birthday at The Drake - a dream come true. Our room was exquisite and the staff bent over backwards to make our stay very special. Tea at the Palm Court was lovely and the food was delicious; the harpist even played Happy Birthday for us! Family members gathered in the downstairs bar/lounge later that evening and found the drinks to be not overly-expensive and the atmosphere cozy and inviting. All in all, I would give this 5 stars and highly recommend a visit to this fine hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teagal123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,942
    1,097
    443
    234
    118
See reviews for
733
1,254
174
1,092
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (828)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

The second time I stayed here. The hotel is old, but that would give a wrong impression. It is pure vintage. Time stood still. Nicely decorated with lots of dark wood and warm colors. The lobby / reception is one stair up from streetlevel. As it was Christmas-time the lobby had a big, big christmas tree and plenty of other X-mas decorations. Very nice.The lounch services classic tea and a harpist is playing. Employees are friendly. The room was spacious with a well equiped bathroom, with a real lifesize tub. Bed is excellent. View on the lake. Wifi in the room is charged for, in the lobby free (which is a pity). Breakfast in the restaurant is limited. No buffet, only a menu to choose from. If you like old fashioned, vintage, yet high quality hotels, this is the place to be.

Room Tip: ask for a room withlake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joost D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Having lived in Chicago my entire life, The Drake has always been an iconic hotel to me which is why when my husband and I decided to make a mini-vacation in our own city we choose The Drake. While the view of the lake is unbeatable the hotel is a bit outdated and did not live up to my expectations. The location is good, it is close to shopping and short cab or bus ride to museums or the zoo. As far as hotel ammedities there were not many. Internet is not free as it is in many other major hotels and eating at the hotel is quite expensive. I do not recommend the breakfest buffet. It was $65 for two and was just the standard overcooked french toast, rubbery eggs and limp bacon. If a view of the lake is your most important criteria (which it was for me) then this hotel is an excellent choice. If your looking for a more luxury then look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Choose a lakeview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank windycitytraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
397 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This place is older than the Queen, but is still in good enough shape to find enjoyment and a good nights stay. This is a good old fashion hotel like the Willard Hotel in D.C. Rooms are huge with a good view of Lake Michigan or Lake Shore Drive. I got to see 2 major wrecks on the S Curve in 1 night! Staff are knowledgable and friendly. Get to the bar early during Christmas season or you will be left out without seating. The best time of year for this hotel is Christmas season. Breakfast is great at the diner. Use your Honor's privileges to eat a great breakfast. Book a lower floor unless you want to stop at all 10 before arriving at the top. I can see why Princess Di stayed here. It is cool.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimo688889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I was assured at the front desk that I had a great room. It was near the elevator and noisy. The room did not have any appeal and was spartan in furnishing. It was clean but not warm. In fact the heating system did not work properly and the internet service was sporadic at best.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dudderbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I wanted to make my husband's 60th birthday special, and after much research, chose a stay at the Drake hotel as our celebration headquarters. From the time we first made our reservation, to the moment we checked out, we were treated as cherished guests. The hotel is gorgeous and immaculate! Used to the generic, cookie cutter big chains, what a wonderful treat it was to explore the hotel and learn of its history. The pride in their work and their place of employment is evident in every staff member we encountered. The hotel's location is perfect for exploring the city, and its proximity to the beauty of the lake (our room had an amazing view!) is awe-inspiring for Chicago natives and tourists alike. For us, there where will be no other place we'll stay when we treat ourselves to another getaway in our beautiful city. Special thanks to Melissa Neigebauer and Hotel Manager, Stevan Gruvberger for your help in making our stay, and my husband's birthday, extra amazing :>

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melnette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I was walking in the neighborhood looking for a quiet bar, and saw the Drake Hotel. Couldn't figure out why I was attracted to it, but asked the bellman at the hotel if there was a quiet bar on the premises. He pointed downstairs. Small bar and club -- comfortable -- with knowledgeable bar staff. Expensive, but well made, drinks. Good starting point for all-night Chicago adventure. Took a day to figure the Drake connection: It played a role in the movie Mission Impossible -- the hotel name was stamped into the bible in the room, and later played a role in the movie.

Room Tip: Just drinks and conversation. Good time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cooncat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellMenkes, Manager at The Drake Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Cooncat123,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a TripAdvisor review following your recent visit at The Drake Hotel. It was a pleasure hearing your visit was enjoyable and the history surrounding The Drake brought you excitement

We very much appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you for choosing The Drake Hotel.

Sincerely,


Stefan Gruvberger
Hotel Manager
The Drake Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 190 in Chicago
2,808 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Drake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drake Hotel

Property: The Drake Hotel
Address: 140 E. Walton Place, Magnificent Mile, Chicago, IL 60611-1501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#39 Family Hotel in Chicago
#49 Business Hotel in Chicago
#50 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Drake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Chicago hotel has inspired more legendary acclaim on par with The Drake. This timeless property affords guests easy access to the city's most exclusive shopping, nightlife and dining.A fully equipped fitness/wellness center, business center and meeting rooms are available (surcharge). The stunning Gold Coast Room can accommodate 600 guests.Afternoon Tea at The Drake Hotel is as Chicago as a hot dog at Wrigley Field or a ride on the Ferris Wheel at Navy Pier. High society has always recognized The Drake Hotel as the quintessential social hotspot. Princess Diana, Queen Elizabeth and the Empress of Japan have all been seen in the Palm Court.Though The Drake has progressed both architecturally and technologically over the past 93 years, the roots of The Drake Hotel run deep beneath Lake Shore Drive into Real Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Drake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Drake Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotels Chicago
Chicago Drake Hotel
Drake Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing