We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nostalgic Elegance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Drake, A Hilton Hotel
Ranked #84 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2012

As soon as you enter the Drake, you know your experience there will be special. The elegant design and style takes you back in time. The lobby greets you with a grand bouquet of fresh flowers and beautiful chandeliers. My room was large and the bed was comfortable. My meal from room service was exquisite. The staff were very courteous and friendly. The location is perfect for upscale shopping on North Michigan Avenue and near Rush Street for an exciting night life. I would definitely stay there again !

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,030)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,120 - 3,126 of 4,030 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Chicago and our stay at the Drake. We traveled with our three children and we were given a wonderful suite with an incredible view of the lake. The Executive Lounge is not gigantic but it is well stocked and a wonderful place to have breakfast or a drink at the end of the day and, again, the view was amazing. We really enjoyed using the gym. The staff was first rate and very helpful. We would absolutely recommend this hotel!!

Room Tip: Executive Lounge is a great treat!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank u4kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I travel to Chicago a few times a year, and this was my first stay at the Drake. What a wonderful experience! Staying at the Drake is a bit like going back in time, to an era where hotel guest were treated as valued customers. From the parking valets, to the bellmen, to the front desk staff, every interaction was professional, respectful, and efficient. As a Hilton Gold member, I was upgraded to a junion suite (family room), which was a very large room, king size bed, with a sitting area with HDTV, sofa bed, and two chairs.

The lobby is beautiful, with large crystal chandeliers, huge vases of fresh flowers, and classic decor. The hotel has two bars, one on street level, and the other at the lobby level. Both feature staff that know how to make a martini, and pour a good drink. The lobby bar featured a swing band on the evening I was there, and the same location is used for high tea in the afternoon.

The breakfast buffet is well-done, but a bit limited in hot food selection. There is an omelet station, which quickly becomes an untenable wait if the restaurant is busy. Plenty of cold food and healthy selections, though.

In all, the Drake is a wonderful place to stay when you are in Chicago.

Room Tip: The Junior Suites are spacious, with classic decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AccidentalGlobetrttr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is our second trip to Chicago and our first at the Drake. What an experience, just entering the lobby is absolutely breathtaking, huge vase of flowers refreshed daily and amazing chandelier that harkens back to days gone by. The rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated and the staff goes above and beyond to meet your needs. Some hidden gems that The Drake offers are live music, we took in the Flatcats a swing band that got our toes tapping and feet a ‘flyin and Café Lavazza attached to the hotel and is a great breakfast place, with delicious coffee and an assortment of tasty breakfast options; yogurts, fresh fruits and scrumptious pastries. The Drake is also well situated a short jaunt to Oak beach and just steps from Rush street full of fabulous places to eat. Our favourite is Le Colonial French Vietnamese cuisine; ask for a seat on the balcony over-looking the street great view and fantastic meal with a special someone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingtechers247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights for a wedding (also held at the hotel). When we booked our "family room" we were told that the room wasn't big enough for a pack & play by the reservations agent. That couldn't have been further from the truth - the room was quite large! It was a handicap accessible room with a large entry way, sitting area, 2 beds, 2 bathrooms. But, outlets were coming out of the wall, and was clearly in need of some repairs. Our kids loved the couches in the elevators and the powder rooms off the tea court. Staff was quite friendly and allowed us to check in early.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azgal_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for one night but wished it was more...the hotel has fantastic decor throughout, from the lobby to the bar to the bedrooms...even the corridors have great carpets! The bed was huge (and I was in a 'single' room) and comfortable, and the location is good. The only downsides are that the internet costs $12.50 or something per day and breakfast was pretty pricey too, but it's a small price to pay for such swanky surrounds!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacquelineA3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Held a corporate meeting here and really enjoyed the hotel. Staff was great, loved my room and older ambiance. As a runner, loved the fact that I could walk out the door and run along the lake in a minute as well as the great location on MI ave.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SalMTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#9 of 192 in Chicago
2,969 reviews
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Drake, A Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drake, A Hilton Hotel

Address: 140 E. Walton Place, Magnificent Mile, Chicago, IL 60611-1501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#39 Family Hotel in Chicago
#49 Business Hotel in Chicago
#52 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $125 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Drake, A Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Chicago hotel has inspired more legendary acclaim on par with The Drake. This timeless property affords guests easy access to the city's most exclusive shopping, nightlife and dining. A fully equipped fitness/wellness center, business center and meeting rooms are available (surcharge). The stunning Gold Coast Room can accommodate 600 guests. Afternoon Tea at The Drake, A Hilton Hotel is as Chicago as a hot dog at Wrigley Field or a ride on the Ferris Wheel at Navy Pier. High society has always recognized The Drake Hotel as the quintessential social hotspot. Princess Diana, Queen Elizabeth and the Empress of Japan have all been seen in the Palm Court. Though The Drake has progressed both architecturally and technologically over the past 93 years, the roots of The Drake Hotel run deep beneath Lake Shore Drive into Real Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Drake, A Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Drake Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotels Chicago
Chicago Drake Hotel
Drake Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing