We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No longer a top hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Drake, A Hilton Hotel
Ranked #83 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed at The Drake for one night with friends last Saturday. It's been a few years since we last stayed here and I'm sad to say we probably won't return. We feel like The Drake is in a very slow decline. The public areas still have that wow factor but the rooms and corridors are showing their age. Our friends' room was not ready at the check-in time of 3pm so they were offered complimentary breakfast. The front desk service was just ok. The doormen were generally ok, although upon leaving one doorman who asked if we had bags, but then did not help us load them in our car, yet still he hustled for a tip by holding open one door of the car. He did not get a tip. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The bathroom was accessible so it had a lot of bars that had been retrofitted into a standard sized bathroom leaving little space in the shower/tub. The cost for the room was not excessive by Chicago standards and probably reflects the hotel category.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellMenkes, Manager at The Drake, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear Trip Advisor Nick M,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at The Drake. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you were caused and regret that we did not provide you with our normal very high standards of service. I am sorry that we did not have your room ready by the check in time. I also apologize for the poor service you received from our staff. Please be assured that I will speak with all relevant departments regarding your experience. We appreciate your advising us of your experience in order that we may correct any lapses in our service. We do hope you will give us another opportunity to show you our very high level of service, and if you will contact me directly the next time you plan a trip to Chicago, I will make certain you have a most enjoyable stay.
Best regards,
Stefan Gruvberger
Hotel Manager The Drake
312-932-4504

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,025)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,126 - 3,132 of 4,025 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at The Drake and have no great complaints, but depending on the cost of the room, you might find a better hotel. I've heard it's quite expensive if you book direct. We got it through Priceline at an acceptable rate and we had a Kind Deluxe room which was HUGE! The bed was comfy and the bathroom was clean, so I was content. However, we had to switch rooms after the 1st night because of a continuous banging noise (every 10-15 minutes). We never figured out the source of the noise, but it was very loud which prevented some sleep. The front desk was very accomodating the following morning and moved us to another room. I'm guessing they were already aware of this issue and hoped it would somehow go unnoticed - which was impossible! Despite the fabulous location - close to the very nice Oak Street Beach, the John Hancock Center and lots of high end shopping, neither of our rooms offered any view at all. Our original room allowed us to see a lower roof and equipment on it and our second room allowed us to stare directly into another building across the street. That was a little disappointing as it was our 1st visit to Chicago. We also found the cost of room service and hotel restaurants to be outrageous! I also find it a little upsetting that they charge for the internet. I think it's awful for any hotel (especially the more expensive ones) to charge for this when most restaurants and cafes offer it for free. Overall, it was a relatively nice hotel considering how old it is - the size of the room is remarkable compared to some of the more modern 4 star hotels - we'd stay again if the price were reasonnable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iluvspence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellMenkes, Manager at The Drake, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear Trip Advisor iluvspence,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at The Drake. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you were caused and regret that we did not provide you with our normal very high standards of service. I am sorry that we were unable to find you a room with a better view. I also apologize for the noise disturbance you experienced during your stay. Please be assured that I will speak with all relevant departments regarding your experience. We appreciate your advising us of your experience in order that we may correct any lapses in our service. We do hope you will give us another opportunity to show you our very high level of service, and if you will contact me directly the next time you plan a trip to Chicago, I will make certain you have a most enjoyable stay.
Best regards,
Stefan Gruvberger
Hotel Manager
312-932-4504

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed in king suite facing Oak St. Beach. Gorgeous view from all windows of the lake and Lake Shore Dr. Spotlessly clean, comfortable bed, marble bath. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Drake Bros. restaurant was fine for breakfast. High tea served in beautiful Palm Court was delightful! Cape Cod Room Restaurant was our only disappointment. Service and food only fair and lacking ambience. Plenty of great dining within walking distance however. This grand, historic Michigan Ave. hotel is a gem!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher level due to street noise from Lake Shore Dr. Suites facing the lake have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgurion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellMenkes, Manager at The Drake, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear Trip Advisor Gramyjo,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at The Drake. We sincerely appreciate your kind remarks and are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. thank you for all of your delightful comments regarding the staff, cleanliness, and service you experienced at The Drake. I do sincerely apologize for the lack of quality in The Cape Cod. Comments such as this help me to carry on the tradition of excellent service that the Drake is so well known for. Thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and hope you will feel free to contact us whenever we can be of assistance to you.
Best regards,
Stefan Gruvberger
Hotel Manager
312-932-4504

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Very nice hotel with storied history. Some challenges for those with limited mobility.

Room and bed were great as was our upgraded view. Bathroom on the small side (especially considering the adjacent but no-longer-utilized "bar" annex) but ample closet space overall.

Executive floor lounge is also on the small side, but great breakfast and happy hour choices.

Location is right next to the Gold Coast and at the end of Miracle Mile.

Overall a great, great choice for a get away weekend to the Windy City!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sideshow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellMenkes, Manager at The Drake, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear Trip Advisor Sideshow2,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at The Drake. We sincerely appreciate your kind remarks and are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. I do sincerely apologize for the lack of space in regard to the Executive Lounge and guest bathrooms. Comments such as this help me to carry on the tradition of excellent service that the Drake is so well known for. Thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and hope you will feel free to contact us whenever we can be of assistance to you.
Best regards,
Stefan Gruvberger
Hotel Manager
312-932-4504

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I grew up in Chicago and was there for business and always wanted to stay at The Drake. The Lobby and Lobby bar are just as beautiful as I remember as a kid. The put me in a suite (thanks to Hilton Honors paying off) that made me feel like a princess. THe only problem is that the bathrooms should be updated. Other than that - it was a great experience.
Oh - but should warn you - parking is $50 a night!

Room Tip: Highly recommend the Hilton Honors program as you will get better rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellMenkes, Manager at The Drake, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear Trip Advisor Heatherk,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at The Drake. We sincerely appreciate your kind remarks and are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. thank you for all of your delightful comments regarding the staff, cleanliness, and service you experienced at The Drake. I do sincerely apologize for the lack of quality in The guest restrooms and high prices of Chicago parking. Comments such as this help me to carry on the tradition of excellent service that the Drake is so well known for. Thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and hope you will feel free to contact us whenever we can be of assistance to you.
Best regards,
Stefan Gruvberger
Hotel Manager
312-932-4504

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed four nights,got a cheap deal and got an ok room for the price. The Drake is in great spot and is very traditional,which is very likeable. Other,younger,members of our family stayed downtown in a modern hotel which was a bit more hip. We ate out but the bar is very nice,Carl is font of all wisdom,and this helps with the comfortable feel of the place. There are regulars in the bar which is unusual(but nice)for a city centre hotel.So for us older end,slower folk who want to potter about,do a bit of shopping the Drake is fine.

Room Tip: You need the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellMenkes, Manager at The Drake, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Trip Advisor Colin R,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at The Drake. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you were caused and regret that we did not provide you with our normal very high standards of service. I will speak to all relevant departments regarding your experience. We appreciate your advising us of your experience in order that we may correct any lapses in our service. We do hope you will give us another opportunity to show you our very high level of service, and if you will contact me directly the next time you plan a trip to Chicago, I will make certain you have a most enjoyable stay.
Stefan Gruvberger
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Very good with a combination of a great hotel, great room, and service. I stayed at this hotel one night after a nearby conference. I'm diamond elite and I was upgraded to a large 2 room suite - I believe a Jr. Suite. I also had access to the Exec Lounge for afternoon appetizers and breakfast. Typical offerings there. Free wifi (for elites) with a good strong signal, too. What I was most impressed with was the "space" for an older hotel. Service was outstanding, everyone was friendly. Finally, you can't beat the area for getting to a variety of restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bk_t1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 192 in Chicago
2,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Drake, A Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drake, A Hilton Hotel

Address: 140 E. Walton Place, Magnificent Mile, Chicago, IL 60611-1501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#39 Family Hotel in Chicago
#49 Business Hotel in Chicago
#51 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $129 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Drake, A Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Chicago hotel has inspired more legendary acclaim on par with The Drake. This timeless property affords guests easy access to the city's most exclusive shopping, nightlife and dining. A fully equipped fitness/wellness center, business center and meeting rooms are available (surcharge). The stunning Gold Coast Room can accommodate 600 guests. Afternoon Tea at The Drake, A Hilton Hotel is as Chicago as a hot dog at Wrigley Field or a ride on the Ferris Wheel at Navy Pier. High society has always recognized The Drake Hotel as the quintessential social hotspot. Princess Diana, Queen Elizabeth and the Empress of Japan have all been seen in the Palm Court. Though The Drake has progressed both architecturally and technologically over the past 93 years, the roots of The Drake Hotel run deep beneath Lake Shore Drive into Real Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Drake, A Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Drake Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotels Chicago
Chicago Drake Hotel
Drake Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing