We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel - Twin Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Drake, A Hilton Hotel
Ranked #84 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Met a girlfriend in the middle of the country and we chose The Drake as our hotel. The twin-bed room was perfect for the two of us -- 9th floor (no view). The room and hotel was clean and the carpets felt fresh. There was a little wear on the edges but for the most part we felt the room was just right and we got a good value for what we paid (we did get the government rate). We enjoyed a late dinner in the downstairs bar/restaurant and high tea on Saturday (make reservations for tea!). The hotel was perfectly situated for shopping -- which is all we did. The staff was friendly and helpful. We would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mamie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMenkes, General Manager at The Drake, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2012

Dear Trip Advisor,
Thank you for visiting the Midwest and allowing The Drake to be your host. We are delighted to hear that your stay was enjoyable and it is wonderful to see that our guests are visiting more than one of our restaurants. Your feedback is greatly appreciated, and thank you again for taking the time to review The Drake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,378 - 3,384 of 4,105 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2012

had a very pleasant stay at The Drake this past weekend.Room was large and well appointed with good amenities.Unbeilavable location just off the best area of Michigan Avenue so best shopping and great restaurants.
Best person there - Carlos - the doorman - first class and really knew how to get us around
lounge enterttainment on Fri/Sat night super

Room Tip: get a high floor and pay a bit extra for the lake superior view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josie053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMenkes, General Manager at The Drake, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2012

Dear Trip Advisor

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Drake. It is great to see team member's names mentioned in these reviews so that we can personally acknowledge their fine service. We are very pleased to have Carlos as part of our family here at The Drake. It is also great to hear that you were able to experience our live entertainment in the lounge. Thank you again for your kind review. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

The Drake has fantastic old world charm but manages to still feel hip and relevant.

As soon as you enter the lobby you know that you are in a true classic. The decor is beautiful and the staff very gracious and friendly. The rooms may not have all the electronic amenities of a super modern hotel, but the classic charm and feel more than make up for it.

The location at the top of The Magnificent Mile is absolutely perfect - you can walk to everything but it is just slightly removed from all the hubbub.

Also, the service is outstanding. My sink was slightly clogged - I called guest services and when I returned about an hour later not only was it fixed but they left a little note telling me so. Nice touch!

Breakfast at The Drake Brothers was good; I would suggest ordering off the menu as opposed to the buffet.

Also - Hilton Honors members get fantastic upgrades here - or at least I did. The Executive Suite with a lake view is amazing!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichardMadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMenkes, General Manager at The Drake, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2012

Dear Trip Advisor,

Thank you for your review and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to make sure or hotel remains relevent, but more so than anything else we always want it to maintain that classic charm you made note of. We thank you for choosing The Drake and we hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

My husband and I spent a one night stay at The Drake, Chicago. We wish we could have stayed longer. We loved The Drake. It is a beautiful hotel and the staff was wonderful. Our room was absolutely beautiful, and our bed was THE Most comfortable bed we have every slept on in a hotel.
The location is perfect, close to The Magnificent Mile shopping, dining and walking around the wonderful city of Chicago.
We will definitely return to Chicago and definitely return to The Drake,as well.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sylvi97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMenkes, General Manager at The Drake, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2012

Dear Trip Advisor,

Thank you for your kind review, and taking the time to provide your accolades re: our location and of course, that wonderful Serenity bed. We hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

As a Chicagoan, I pass The Drake each day and have always wanted to stay there. Over the weekend, I did just that. We were able to reserve a room for a moderate price and enjoyed a night out on the town. As other reviewers stated, The Drake is magnificent with historic charm. The hotel's accommodations were excellent. The staff was friendly and very helpful. I did not experience any of the issues mentioned by other reviewers in regards to thin walls, maintenance issues, or the like. Our experience was top notch. I will certainly mention this property to out of town guests!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelCHI_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMenkes, General Manager at The Drake, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2012

Dear Trip Advisor,

Thank you for your review. It is great to hear when even our in-towners stay with us! Indeed, the Drake represents the authentic Chicago, and we are glad you were able to experience it for yourself. You and your out-of-town guests are welcome anytime and we thank you again for your great review and kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

As we were attending a dinner dance at the hotel, we decided to bite the bullet and spend the w/e, even though we live less than 30 miles away. The hotel has a definite charm and personality. We didn't splurge on a fancy room overlooking lakeshore but the room was nice. Not the size, you'll get in Vegas, but, hey, this is Chicago.
The meal for the dinner dance was probably THE best we have had at an event like this. It is really difficult to cook filet nicely for 300+ people, but these guys do it. We went crazy the following day and had "Afternoon Tea." It isn't cheap, but as a once every so often treat, it is really enjoyable and to my surprise quite filling. There is a reason why so many good hotels are in this part of the city. The location is fabulous. Being able to walk on the lake shore at this time of year was a joy and made us feel as if we were a thousand miles from home.
I hear the kids calling! Back to reality! For a w/e away, the hotel, food and location take beating.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishmanSpeaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMenkes, General Manager at The Drake, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2012

Dear Trip Advisor,

Thank you for the review regarding your recent weekend stay with us. I am so glad you were able to have the opportunity to attend an event here, and yes, our banquet and culinary staff are top notch. We take great pride in our catering and events team as well. To have made the decision to stay with us for the weekend when you live so close I'm sure was a tough one and we're extremely happy you made it. I am delighted we were able to make the experience memorable, and hope we can welcome you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

One of the primo hotels in Chicago $$$$, but if you do priceline, bid even lower than we did @ $79 a night, you might get it. And if you check what it costs regulary to stay there, you'd better be sitting down. It's close to EVERYTHING, meaning that you can walk wherever. So, who pays retail anymore, even for a luxury hotel!?

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankSUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMenkes, General Manager at The Drake, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2012

Dear Trip Advisor,

Thank you for your review and kind remarks regarding our reputation. We are glad you were able to find such a value. Keep an eye on our website for some great promotions. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#17 of 192 in Chicago
3,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Drake, A Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drake, A Hilton Hotel

Address: 140 E. Walton Place, Magnificent Mile, Chicago, IL 60611-1501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Chicago
#35 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#49 Business Hotel in Chicago
#50 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $119 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Drake, A Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Chicago hotel has inspired more legendary acclaim on par with The Drake. This timeless property affords guests easy access to the city's most exclusive shopping, nightlife and dining. A fully equipped fitness/wellness center, business center and meeting rooms are available (surcharge). The stunning Gold Coast Room can accommodate 600 guests. Afternoon Tea at The Drake, A Hilton Hotel is as Chicago as a hot dog at Wrigley Field or a ride on the Ferris Wheel at Navy Pier. High society has always recognized The Drake Hotel as the quintessential social hotspot. Princess Diana, Queen Elizabeth and the Empress of Japan have all been seen in the Palm Court. Though The Drake has progressed both architecturally and technologically over the past 93 years, the roots of The Drake Hotel run deep beneath Lake Shore Drive into Real Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Drake, A Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Drake Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotels Chicago
Chicago Drake Hotel
Drake Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing