We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some minor issues, but definitely worth a look.”
Review of The Drake Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Drake Hotel
Ranked #78 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Some minor issues, but definitely worth a look.”
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Situated in a great location at the north end of Chicago's Magnificent Mile, The Drake remains a classic gem of a hotel, and surprisingly affordable for such a renowned name. Rooms were clean and comfortable, with good lighting throughout. The layout of the room did leave some to be desired, with television and small couch on opposite ends (I assume this is a product of the older design of the building). Still, a lovely and well-maintained property, and definitely worth a visit.

Other notes:

Hotel is located along Michigan Ave., so catching a city bus generally means only a few minutes' wait, if you opt not to walk. Subway is a couple blocks west.

Don't bother paying extra for "City View" rooms - more often than not, your view will be of the rooftop A/C machinery.

Hotel places a $100 hold (per day reserved) on credit card upon check-in, to cover incidentals. Maybe a deal-breaker on a long stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellMenkes, General Manager at The Drake Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Dear Jonathan,
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at The Drake. We certainly make every effort to ensure this wonderful hotel is maintained as absolutely best possible and I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. It is common practice for hotels to place a hold on credit cards to cover incidental charges. We appreciate your mentioning this so other travelers will be aware, as this is especially important for travelers using a debit card. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Drake. Sincerely, Russell Menkes, General Manager, russell.menkes@hilton.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,909
    1,086
    431
    231
    118
See reviews for
721
1,233
173
1,080
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (816)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland Ohio
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Just returned for the windy city of Chicago. Now mind you, I always do my homework before I travel. I google every hotel, attraction and restaurant to get the best deal. I always read the reviews as well. First I have to say that this hotel ranks as one of my all time favorite luxury hotels. I travel often and believe that we all deserve to get what we pay for. If we pay a large amount for a hotel then we should get luxury. This hotel was amazing. It was absolutely beautiful. It was built in the 1920's and believe me you can feel the historical ora upon walking into the hotel. The rooms even though old were updated yet still had the wonderful historical feeling, almost haunting. The rooms are clean ansd lavish. We were able to get the bed and breakfast which was worth every cent. The food and service, simply remarkable! The staff was wonderful, professional and accomadating. The only problem was the cost of the parking. We paid $100.00 for two nights of parking, valet that is. The parking rates all over Chicago are really outragious but it just was not at this hotel. I would love to go back to the Drake. The bed was oh so comfy as well.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frequentflyer2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellMenkes, General Manager at The Drake Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Dear Frequent Flyer 2010
I am delighted to know that you enjoyed staying with us at The Drake. Our team members are very much a part of the success and appeal of this hotel and make every effort to ensure every guest stay is special. Parking in Chicago is unfortunately very expensive and hopefully we provided all parking options to you. We look forard to welcoming you back, and I hope you will contact me directly if there is ever anything I can do to be of assistance to you. Sincerely, Russell Menkes, General Manager, russell.menkes@hilton.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
115 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Just returning home, from what maybe our best vacation EVER!!!! My husband and I decided to share our 20th anniversary vacay with friends!!...We all decided to take the Executive Suite option, allowing us a central and relaxed meeting spot, and the most spectacular view each and every morning for breakfast!! The staff, the rooms, the location, everything was amazing about this hotel!! We loved the nostalgia and the elegance!! and it was the foundation of a fantastic time!!!...we will be returning to Chicago...and the ONLY hotel we'll even consider will be the Drake!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephaniefromcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellMenkes, General Manager at The Drake Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Dear Trip Advisor,
Thank you for your review. It is a privilege to be part of this historic property, and our entire team prides itself on helping to create special occasions for our guests. We are so pleased that you had a wonderful 20th anniversary stay and we look forward to your future visits. You can be assured we will do our best to make your next stay even better ! Sincerely, Russell Menkes, General Manager. russell.menkes@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

This was one of the best hotels I have stayed in for a long while. It was in a great location and we had views overlooking the lake (definitely worth the small upgrade fee). The place was very clean, the rooms were huge and the staff very friendly. This is an excellent location to walk to almost everything. It is not far from the Lincoln Park Zoo and right on the shopping strip. I would for sure stay here next time I come to Chicago.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmtreloar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarac, Florida
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2011

After living in Chicago most of my life I went back with friends for pleasure. What a great experience. Consierge service wonderful - got us into OPRAH the next day. Food great and service superb. 4 Star hotel with affordable rates. Clean rooms and spacious too.

Room Tip: Use your AAA and AARP discounts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suziedon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, MI
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We go to Chicago quite often, mostly to visit our daughter, but this time my husband had a business conference and I tagged along. We checked in late Sunday afternoon and I'm not sure if the doormen were understaffed or if there were some regulars that they were paying closer attention to but we had to unload half our luggage ourselves and carry them by hand up to the lobby on the main floor-one flight up. I was a bit disappointed by that level of service at such a reputable hotel. Check-in was smooth and our room more than I expected. We had a great view north overlooking Lake Shore Drive and the lake. The room was very spacious and the bathroom was not at all cramped. My husband was allergic to the down pillows and comforter but they sent up new pillows and remade the bed with blankets but left the comforter for me and left a nice note indicating which were the down pillows (for me) and the alternate pillows for him.

The bar downstairs was very cozy and the bartender was extremely attentive. Loved the feel. Had breakfast in the dining room one morning and thought the one piece of French Toast was good but very overpriced. Next time I'd go for the buffet.

The location was perfect in it was on the north end of the Miracle Mile and only a few blocks from the "L".

My only other complaint was the workout room. It was in 3 separate rooms all requiring a key to enter each. I like to do a circuit and it would have meant going between rooms. Not terrible but just inconvenient.

I would stay here again because of the convenience and the comfort of the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Villagequilter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
109 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

I have stayed at the Drake for years. In the past, I was there so frequently that I reached Hilton's "Platinum" status. Those days were very nice, because the perks I received with that status were very nice (free breakfast at the Executive Lounge, free wi-fi, etc.)

Through no fault of the Drake, I've had less travel in the past few years so now I'm only at the "Silver" status. So when I checked in at the Drake this time, I didn't get any of the nice perks I had become accustomed to.

My room was OK, but the bathroom definitely could have used a better cleaning. The bedding is nice, as always. Towels are a bit worn out.

I went to the Drake Brothers for breakfast, and asked the host if there was wifi before being seated. At check-in, they said that there is wifi in all public areas. What they don't tell you is that it's $7.50 per hour.

Room service is very limited. I had an early flight home today and had to leave for the airport at 6am. Room service doesn't begin until 6am and Drake Brothers opens at 630. Really would have liked to have had an early option.

The Coq d'Or is great. Good food, very friendly atmosphere. We always enjoy the Cape Cod Room too.

Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank chicagolover59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Conrad Chicago
Conrad Chicago
#8 of 189 in Chicago
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Drake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drake Hotel

Property: The Drake Hotel
Address: 140 E. Walton Place, Magnificent Mile, Chicago, IL 60611-1501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#39 Family Hotel in Chicago
#49 Business Hotel in Chicago
#49 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Drake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Chicago hotel has inspired more legendary acclaim on par with The Drake. This timeless property affords guests easy access to the city's most exclusive shopping, nightlife and dining.A fully equipped fitness/wellness center, business center and meeting rooms are available (surcharge). The stunning Gold Coast Room can accommodate 600 guests.Afternoon Tea at The Drake Hotel is as Chicago as a hot dog at Wrigley Field or a ride on the Ferris Wheel at Navy Pier. High society has always recognized The Drake Hotel as the quintessential social hotspot. Princess Diana, Queen Elizabeth and the Empress of Japan have all been seen in the Palm Court.Though The Drake has progressed both architecturally and technologically over the past 93 years, the roots of The Drake Hotel run deep beneath Lake Shore Drive into Real Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Drake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Drake Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotels Chicago
Chicago Drake Hotel
Drake Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing