We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend at The Willows in Chicago”
Review of The Willows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Willows
Ranked #73 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great Weekend at The Willows in Chicago”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

The customer service was outstanding! I can't say enough about how wonderful the staff and people at The Willows were. They were always right where I needed, opening doors, finding me something at breakfast. They were terrific.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    362
    76
    27
    18
See reviews for
334
271
66
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The hotel is a perfect oasis of calm and comfort away from the bustle of downtown Chicago. It is an attractive building in a quiet street, and the staff I encountered.could not have been more helpful and friendly. I had a good sized room which was equipped with everything I needed, in particular a really comfortable bed. Continental breakfast was included and the rate I paid was very reasonable given the amenities on offer. If you don't have a car, there are plentiful buses all around and the El station with a direct line to the Loop is no more than a 15 minute leisurely walk.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lester W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I stayed one night at The Willows and it was a very pleasant stay. I was upgraded at no charge to a King room. The room was large and spacious with a great bathroom. Better yet, the bed and pillows were very comfortable. The room was very quiet. I slept great! The hotel is nestled away in a neighborhood with alley access to a public parking ramp for $20 a day. I was able to walk to shopping and restaurants easily. There was an honor system for snacks and drinks in the room that had "honorable" prices. I only paid $1 for a bag of M&M's, that satisfied my late night sweet tooth!! Other hotels charge unreasonable prices for these snacking conveniences and I never touch them! The front desk staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knittingbandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, OH
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We have stayed at the Willows many times. The staff is friendly and helpful. The neighborhood is great for restaurants and walking. Close to the Cubs as well. We enjoy it every time we have been there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yitchokgadol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

My friend and I just spent 6 days 5 nights here. Beautiful building, new carpet, beds and pillows very comfortable. Great breakfast choices.Staff was awesomely friendly! Loved the ceiling fans in the rooms as well.

Room Tip: Every type of store within walking distance (CVS, Walgreens, Walmart, 20 restaurants, Starbucks, Tea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twilson254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
1,131 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 515 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We had a King Bed in a room that was large enough to accommodate several more with a small closet and bathroom. The windows overlooked the alley so traffic noise was at a minimum. However there were two other sources of noise, a loud "clomping" resident in the room overhead and the radiators. Although we turned the radiators off, they still spouted and hissed in the middle of the night and the room was so warm that we slept only under a sheet. The water in the sink had to run for several minutes to turn tepid but the appearance of hot water in the shower was more rapid. Amenities in the bathroom were of high quality and ample.

Breakfast was varied, bagels and sweet rolls, several kinds of oatmeal packages, several kinds of cold cereal, yogurt, hard cooked eggs and eggs/cheese/muffins to microwave, plus coffee and tea, orange and cranberry juice.

The staff were friendly and helpful. The location just a few blocks from the Brown Line on the CTA, the restaurants on Diversey and Halstead and only a block from the shops of Clark and Broadway is perfect. The location on a residential street between a busy neighborhood and Lincoln Park makes the hotel most pleasant. Parking is available in a facility a half block away for an extra charge.

Room Tip: The fourth floor would avoid overhead noise from residents who tend to clomp instead of walking. Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjrg59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iron Ridge, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed a night here recently and had a great experience. The staff were so courteous and polite, it made a reaL difference. The hotle is in a great location walking distance of lots of places to go and eat. We received a great recommendation from the staff. Would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ogof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lakeview
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#54 of 190 in Chicago
780 reviews
Lakeview
City Suites Hotel
City Suites Hotel
#112 of 190 in Chicago
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
#147 of 190 in Chicago
229 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willows

Property: The Willows
Address: 555 W Surf St, Chicago, IL 60657-6020
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lakeview
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#37 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#59 Family Hotel in Chicago
#67 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Willows 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Willows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Willows Hotel Chicago
Willows Hotel Chicago
Willows Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing