We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old World Charm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Willows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Willows
Ranked #69 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Tazewell, Virginia
2 reviews
“Old World Charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

The Willows is a great place to stay in Lincoln Park/Lakeview area. The place is clean, quiet and very nice. Adrian is a great host at the front desk. He is very helpful with directions, where to go, and what to do. The chocolate chip cookies are delicious every day at about 4 pm. Nice neighborhood place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wswarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    327
    64
    23
    17
See reviews for
294
248
58
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. Hotel is older, but well maintained, well furnished and has good amenities. It's in a great location, nice quiet street, good neighborhood, near shops and restaurants. Short safe walk to the bus to museums, shopping, Art Institute. Nice breakfast in lobby with cozy fireplace. Very nice and helpful staff. Helped me figure out buses and looked up next bus coming for me. Staff was always available and friendly. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tag51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

I took a trip home and made a side visit to Chicago. I found a deal online for this hotel and saw that the reviews were good. I thought it was a nice hotel for the price we paid and it centrally located in Lincoln Park, which was a plus. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Divina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed at this Nice Hotel for a weekend in Nov 2013 !! Close to Lincoln Park !! Room was large enough for My two adult Sons and myself ! Free breakfast , walked or a cab was always close. Quite neighborhood Beautiful Hotel with Excellent staff ! The women who cleaned our room did a fantastic job also ….would defiantly stay again !!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gumby45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is a great old hotel- well maintained rooms, staff is very friendly and helpful and the breakfast is very good. We stayed there over a night and the room was clean and roomy -Would definitely stay here again in a great location centrally located in Lincoln Park neighborhood - Sister hotels are also very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pationet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Indiana
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

We've stayed at The Willows several times while visiting our son in the Lincoln Park/Lakeview area. It is very nice, the rooms and beds are comfortable, and the staff are always friendly. The prices vary - it is very reasonable when there are no events in the neighborhood, but can be pricey when something is going on. Yesterday they were removing furniture from 4th floor rooms, so it appears that new furniture is on its way.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CZTHOMPSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#47 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Lakeview
City Suites Hotel
City Suites Hotel
#112 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Lakeview
BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln Park
Days Inn Chicago
Days Inn Chicago
#85 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,555 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
#143 of 187 in Chicago
3.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willows

Property: The Willows
Address: 555 West Surf Ave, Chicago, IL 60657-6020
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lakeview
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#37 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#59 Family Hotel in Chicago
#67 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Willows 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your The Willows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Willows Hotel Chicago
Willows Hotel Chicago
Willows Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing