We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Small, quiet, and affordable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Willows

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Willows
Ranked #59 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Small, quiet, and affordable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This place is great! Staff was incredibly friendly and gave me a free upgrade without even asking for it. Parking garage right behind the hotel was incredibly convenient, making the usual parking hassle a non-issue. Room was very nice, very spacious. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in the city!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prufrock9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    298
    59
    21
    12
See reviews for
257
230
50
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Robina, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

What a great little hotel! We stayed here recently when visiting Chicago and found that this hotel was in a great location- restaurants and bars close by. The area felt safe and it was only a short walk to the train station. Staff (especially Miguel) were very helpful and polite. We would stay here again if we visited Chicago.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil and Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petoskey, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Went back to the Willows for second time this year. Still the best place to stay in Lakeview. Not luxury but clean and very close to everything. Filled with people running in Chicago Marathon on Sunday.
Rooms are a little dated but can't beat the price or location. Good free breakfast and lack of dining isn't a problem since the area is filled with great places.

Room Tip: Pop for a Jr. Suite, it gives you more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for four nights. Although our room was a little old-fashioned, it was clean and well-maintained with a more-than-adequate bathroom. What sets the hotel apart is the staff, as others have noted, and the location, in a great neighborhood for walking around and with easy access to public transportation. You'll also like the the complimentary breakfast and the afternoon snack. We definitely will try and come back to the hotel on our next trip to Chicago.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjo1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This location goes above an beyond requests and accommodations! Silvia and Maria are one of the hotel's staff members that made my stay all the more at home. Staff is always very helpful and resourceful ask to where I can locate needs and very diligent to my room needs. At moment's notice, the staff will deliver and go beyond to make my stay feel warm and welcome. Thank you Silvia and Maria!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We spent two nights here at the end of September. It was clean, comfortable, and in a good location for us. It is an older hotel with a window air conditioner that cycles off and on, so the noise level is high then low. There is a ceiling fan, though, that circulates the air when the window unit is off. The staff is extremely polite and helpful. The continental breakfast included cereal, instant oatmeal, breads, boiled eggs, yogurt, juice, coffee and tea.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Needleartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed at The Willows recently while on business. The staff was excellent, as was the property. Very helpful and friendly. Nice location in a good neighborhood. Good sized room, clean and quiet. I would definitely stay there again, without hesitation. Very conveniently located to shopping, food and pharmacy (Walgreens) right around the corner.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KCWinGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#31 of 189 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 677 reviews
Lakeview
City Suites Hotel
City Suites Hotel
#109 of 189 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 450 reviews
Lincoln Park
Days Inn Chicago
Days Inn Chicago
#68 of 189 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 2,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lakeview
BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
#141 of 189 in Chicago
3.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willows

Property: The Willows
Address: 555 W Surf St, Chicago, IL 60657-6020
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lakeview
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#37 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#59 Family Hotel in Chicago
#67 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Willows 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Willows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Willows Hotel Chicago
Willows Hotel Chicago
Willows Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing