We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little small hotel”
Review of The Willows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Willows
Ranked #77 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We spent two nights here at the end of September. It was clean, comfortable, and in a good location for us. It is an older hotel with a window air conditioner that cycles off and on, so the noise level is high then low. There is a ceiling fan, though, that circulates the air when the window unit is off. The staff is extremely polite and helpful. The continental breakfast included cereal, instant oatmeal, breads, boiled eggs, yogurt, juice, coffee and tea.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Needleartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (969)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

679 - 685 of 969 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed at The Willows recently while on business. The staff was excellent, as was the property. Very helpful and friendly. Nice location in a good neighborhood. Good sized room, clean and quiet. I would definitely stay there again, without hesitation. Very conveniently located to shopping, food and pharmacy (Walgreens) right around the corner.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCWinGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayed at the Willows for a week and really enjoyed the stay. The rooms were very clean and the staff was very friendly. The hotel is in a great location. Visitors are able to walk to many great restaurants as well as Wrigley Field.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1234567Stephanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

If you love boutique hotels but not the price, you must stay at The Willows on Surf Street. It's within walking distance of every kind of food you can imagine, shopping, the price is right on, it's clean, unique, comfortable, wifi, parking AND the lobby has a terrific breakfast and 24 hour locally-roasted coffee and tea. It's just a short walk to the train, too! The front desk was sincerely helpful and seemed to be invested in our stay. We won't be staying anywhere else when we visit Chicago. Oh - and the neighborhood? We wandered and walked after dark all over (using common sense, of course) and never had a creepy vibe. We stayed for 3 nights and would have stayed a week if business hadn't gotten in the way.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryMMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

An OK hotel, saved only by superb service. Not fit for the business traveler. It was a bit of a disappointment after reading all these excellent review. It's not really a boutique hotel (those hotels normally don't have a minibar, or snacks displayed with prices on them), and it's not one of the modern, fully renovated places (the TV had a keyboard next to it - always a bad sign - and you need to move the bed to find a proper electricity plug). Worst thing was breakfast, which was quite awkward: a corner area with a poor choice of (mostly packed) goods, strange cutlery and no sitting room - I had to take it to my room). Parking costs 22 dollars per night. Location isn't great if you're a business traveler or a couple who wants to taste the bustling city life, but is good if you want a bit of relaxation not too far from the city center.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joinseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marino44, Regional Manager at The Willows, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your most recent stay with us. I'm sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I just wanted you to know that we will be doing a full renovation of the hotel with a completion date set for the end of the year.

We hope to get a chance to restore your confidence in the Willows Hotel.

Sincerely,

Keith E. Scott
Regional Manager
Broughton Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My best friend and I were in town to see Madonna and we lucked out by getting a GREAT room at The Willows. The staff was so nice and sweet. Very helpful. I can't believe how affordable this little boutique hotel is with such an incredible location. I hate large chain hotels and I hate being a customer. The Willows feels more like a Bed & Breakfast. Will always stay here when we visit.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms in this hotel. It's so quaint and sweet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scttcrry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed here for two nights on a business/vacation trip to Chicago. The location is good. There are lots of restaurants within walking distance. There is a train stop about 15 minutes walk away. It is an older building, but our room was comfortable. They provide parking at a garage down a neighboring alley for $22. This was very convenient. I had a problem checking into the garage on arrival and they deducted one day's parking to make up for that. I would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pstacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#70 of 192 in Chicago
830 reviews
Lakeview
City Suites Hotel
City Suites Hotel
#112 of 192 in Chicago
538 reviews
Lakeview
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
#147 of 192 in Chicago
233 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willows

Address: 555 W Surf St, Chicago, IL 60657-6020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lakeview
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#37 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#59 Family Hotel in Chicago
#67 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $91 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Willows 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Willows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Willows Hotel Chicago
Willows Hotel Chicago
Willows Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing