We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chicago perfection”
Review of The Willows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Willows
Ranked #69 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Chicago perfection”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

If you love boutique hotels but not the price, you must stay at The Willows on Surf Street. It's within walking distance of every kind of food you can imagine, shopping, the price is right on, it's clean, unique, comfortable, wifi, parking AND the lobby has a terrific breakfast and 24 hour locally-roasted coffee and tea. It's just a short walk to the train, too! The front desk was sincerely helpful and seemed to be invested in our stay. We won't be staying anywhere else when we visit Chicago. Oh - and the neighborhood? We wandered and walked after dark all over (using common sense, of course) and never had a creepy vibe. We stayed for 3 nights and would have stayed a week if business hadn't gotten in the way.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryMMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    347
    70
    25
    18
See reviews for
316
260
61
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

An OK hotel, saved only by superb service. Not fit for the business traveler. It was a bit of a disappointment after reading all these excellent review. It's not really a boutique hotel (those hotels normally don't have a minibar, or snacks displayed with prices on them), and it's not one of the modern, fully renovated places (the TV had a keyboard next to it - always a bad sign - and you need to move the bed to find a proper electricity plug). Worst thing was breakfast, which was quite awkward: a corner area with a poor choice of (mostly packed) goods, strange cutlery and no sitting room - I had to take it to my room). Parking costs 22 dollars per night. Location isn't great if you're a business traveler or a couple who wants to taste the bustling city life, but is good if you want a bit of relaxation not too far from the city center.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joinseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marino44, Regional Manager at The Willows, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your most recent stay with us. I'm sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I just wanted you to know that we will be doing a full renovation of the hotel with a completion date set for the end of the year.

We hope to get a chance to restore your confidence in the Willows Hotel.

Sincerely,

Keith E. Scott
Regional Manager
Broughton Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My best friend and I were in town to see Madonna and we lucked out by getting a GREAT room at The Willows. The staff was so nice and sweet. Very helpful. I can't believe how affordable this little boutique hotel is with such an incredible location. I hate large chain hotels and I hate being a customer. The Willows feels more like a Bed & Breakfast. Will always stay here when we visit.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms in this hotel. It's so quaint and sweet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scttcrry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinth, MS
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed here for two nights on a business/vacation trip to Chicago. The location is good. There are lots of restaurants within walking distance. There is a train stop about 15 minutes walk away. It is an older building, but our room was comfortable. They provide parking at a garage down a neighboring alley for $22. This was very convenient. I had a problem checking into the garage on arrival and they deducted one day's parking to make up for that. I would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pstacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights before moving on to travel Route 66.
This hotel is good value for money and located in a great area, near Lincoln Park and only a couple of miles from Downtown.
The rooms are a bit dated and gloomy, at least ours was, and we had booked a superior room.
Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful.
A basic breakfast was provided in the morning, which was cold and bought in from an outside company,but not bad.
Loads of restaurants and pubs within walking distance of the hotel
Considering the price of some Downtown hotels this is good value.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greytop13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2013

For two nights in Chicago at The Willows, we enjoyed excellent accommodations and superb service. Besides living up to our expectations as a quaint and charming hotel, we appreciated the friendly and helpful staff -- Eric Williams, Bianca Pasare, Eric Quamme, and Miguel Cortez. Guests who who are driving will find, as we did, that the nearby parking garage offers convenient and secure parking at a reasonable rate. We will gladly return to The Willows.

Room Tip: Ask the staff who go out of their way to insure that guests have rooms that meet their desires.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2013

September 2012 we got married on North Ave beach in Chicago. We had a wonderfull wedding and stay at the willows. Nice romantic rooms, friendly staff and it's cheap to take a taxi where ever you want to go in Chicago.
Special thx to Ricky and Adrian who made are trip to Chicago a blast!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eveline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#52 of 189 in Chicago
755 reviews
Lakeview
City Suites Hotel
City Suites Hotel
#111 of 189 in Chicago
505 reviews
Lakeview
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
#146 of 189 in Chicago
225 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willows

Property: The Willows
Address: 555 W Surf St, Chicago, IL 60657-6020
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lakeview
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#59 Family Hotel in Chicago
#67 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Willows 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Willows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Willows Hotel Chicago
Willows Hotel Chicago
Willows Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing