We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will come back again”
Review of The Willows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Willows
Ranked #77 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2011

This is a lovely and charming hotel in Chicago. It's not downtown but it's on a lovely neighborhood. The buses around the corner will take you to downtown (about 20 minutes ride)
The staff were very helpful and the rooms were clean and comfortable.
Free breakfast and free internet.
Overall great hotel !

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank borderline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (969)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

844 - 850 of 969 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2011

The Willows is apart of the 'neighborhood inns of chicago' chain, but there's nothing chain-like about this hotel. From the moment I checked into the hotel to checkout, I was impressed with the service I received, and the quality of my room. Although the room itself was a bit more small than I originally expected, I liked the set up and it was perfect for one person. The hotel has an afternoon tea/coffee and cookies daily, which was nice to come to after a long day of business-related work. As for the location, it was ok; there were a few restuarants and bars in the neighborhood, but parking was challenging. As a young woman, I did not care for the in & out parking's location-it was in a poorly lit alley on the side of the hotel, with lots of dumpsters and hiding places for muggers. Other than the parking, I loved the hotel, and would stay in it again.

Room Tip: The rooms by the ice machine are a bit noisy; you can hear it EVERY time someone gets ice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JHawkGirl29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

My husband and I just visited family in Chicago. This hotel was very nice and the price was great!! The staff went above and beyond to make us feel at home. They were so friendly!! The room was comfortable and very clean... The coffee and tea in the lobby was a very nice touch. The continental breakfast was great. I will definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marino44, Regional Manager at The Willows, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank You for comments and choosing to stay with us at the Willows Hotel, and we look forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,

Keith E. Scott
Regional Manager
Broughton Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

This hotel was great. The local bus route is very close by and we found the service frequent. Reception was a pleasant place to sit with a tea or coffee and during our time there I witnessed three different receptionists dealing with guests and they were all patient, pleasant and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 118 is opposite the ice machine. As the staff appear to use it before 6 am to get ice to lay t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbieWoWos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a 3 day visit to Chicago and our stay at the Willows made the entire experience perfect. Located just 15 minutes from downtown by bus, this lovely neighbourhood hotel made for a great escape from the noise and bustle of the city. It is situated in a great neighbourhood within minutes of fabulous restaurants, shopping and Lincoln Park. On site parking is only $22.00 per day.

The helpful staff are another plus for this hotel. Everyone was friendly and offered suggestions for restaurants and directions when needed. John was a particular favourite who answered every question with a broad smile.

Enjoy your stay at this gem of a hotel.

Ron & Maureen

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Chose this quiet hotel for its proximity to the Italian consulate downtown (3 miles). Walked in late at night to a lovely French provincial (with fireplace) lobby and the friendliest host. Traveling singly I had expected a small, nothing room but mine was charming with a soft bed, large wardrobe and desk that had a chair that didn't kill my back (free wifi). The bathroom was actually larger than ones I have had in double rooms. Opened the honor bar for a bourbon and coke for $5--just what I needed after traveling all day. I needed a cab the next morning and the host actually ran down a half block to hail a cab from the corner (3 times)! Next time I want to explore the neighborhood--a few streets away a myriad of little shops and restaurants. Charming.

Room Tip: Single room 109 was tops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suporto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We spent a week visiting the city, and could not have picked a more perfect place to stay. Elegant and comfortable, this hotel has it all. Our room - a king suite - had a spacious sitting room as you enter the door and was beautifully appointed. The continental breakfast has something to offer everyone, and the hotel is located in a great neighborhood. The staff was wonderful - special thanks to John B. and Caren for their help. I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#70 of 192 in Chicago
830 reviews
Lakeview
City Suites Hotel
City Suites Hotel
#112 of 192 in Chicago
538 reviews
Lakeview
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
#147 of 192 in Chicago
233 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willows

Address: 555 W Surf St, Chicago, IL 60657-6020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lakeview
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#37 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#59 Family Hotel in Chicago
#67 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $91 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Willows 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Willows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Willows Hotel Chicago
Willows Hotel Chicago
Willows Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing