We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,128)
Filter reviews
1,128 results
Traveler rating
526
429
103
46
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
526
429
103
46
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lincoln park continental breakfast lakeview neighborhood great neighborhood quiet street honor bar hard boiled eggs cozy hotel depaul university stay there again brown line cubs game within walking distance older hotel parking garage north side nice breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
1,018 - 1,023 of 1,128 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed a couple of nights in a standard room in May 2011 and we definetly expected something better. The room was cramped and dark with dirty feeling because of thick carpeted floor (we also spotted one cockroach). Just behind the window was a narrow alley with some traffic and people going by, so you really didn't want to open the curtains. Outside the door in the corridor (just opposite our room) was a noisy ice cube machine. You got used to the noise though, but every time somebody got some ice (like the staff for the breakfast) you realised how close it really was... And the complimentary breakfast was a joke, at least from European point of view. Just some unhealthy cereals and wheat bagels... Coffee was good, though.

Well, something good, too. The (mostly white) neighbourhood is quite nice with plenty of restaurants, shops and other services. A metro station is also within walking distance, and the beach by Lake Michigan as well...

Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jellona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Our experience at the Willows was wonderful. Caren the hotel guest manager was great and deserves all the credit for making our trip wonderful. The beds are amazing and so comfortable we wanted to take them with us. The breakfast was great the were donuts awesome! And who doesn't love afternoon cookies after walking all day. If you needed any help at all the staff was great at giving recommendations and directions of places to go and visit. Plus the maps of the trains are a huge help if it's your first time in Chicago. I would suggest the Willows Hotel to anyone. The location wasn't too far away from downtown when you took the train but the neighborhood make you feel safe and secure. Plus the great part is it's just up the road from Molly's Cupcakes!

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Clean, well maintained and safe. in very trendy GLU type urban neighborhood at Clark and Diversy. older building with horizontal rooms? flat screen TVS. Extra for parking garage around the corner, with unlimited in/out privileges. second stay...first on business a few years ago! This time with wife and kids.

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank azkfmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

A little hard to find but worth the effort. A nice spacious comfortable room, not elegant but more than adequate. Although we did not use the mini-bar, I was pleased to see that the snack and drink prices were very reasonable by hotel standards. One small drawback, the parking, although reasonably priced for a Chicago hotel, was inconvenient.

Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marvfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

The front desk staff were efficient, friendly and helpful.
The room was very comfortable and quiet (great beds)
Good bus service is appx five minutes walk from the hotel. We did not find many good restaurants nearby. Our time was limited so we had a good lunch downtown and snacked in a cafe in the evening.The hotel breakfast was varied and plentiful.
I cannot think of anything to dislike about The Willows Hotel

Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirkwall1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews