We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little hotel.”
Review of The Willows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Willows
Ranked #78 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2011

My daughter and I stayed in a double queen. Lots of space, great bathroom. Good location with lots of restaurants and shopping. Decent breakfast. The staff was friendly and the place was very clean. Overall it was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreatTrip5353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (987)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

882 - 888 of 987 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed a couple of nights in a standard room in May 2011 and we definetly expected something better. The room was cramped and dark with dirty feeling because of thick carpeted floor (we also spotted one cockroach). Just behind the window was a narrow alley with some traffic and people going by, so you really didn't want to open the curtains. Outside the door in the corridor (just opposite our room) was a noisy ice cube machine. You got used to the noise though, but every time somebody got some ice (like the staff for the breakfast) you realised how close it really was... And the complimentary breakfast was a joke, at least from European point of view. Just some unhealthy cereals and wheat bagels... Coffee was good, though.

Well, something good, too. The (mostly white) neighbourhood is quite nice with plenty of restaurants, shops and other services. A metro station is also within walking distance, and the beach by Lake Michigan as well...

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jellona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Our experience at the Willows was wonderful. Caren the hotel guest manager was great and deserves all the credit for making our trip wonderful. The beds are amazing and so comfortable we wanted to take them with us. The breakfast was great the were donuts awesome! And who doesn't love afternoon cookies after walking all day. If you needed any help at all the staff was great at giving recommendations and directions of places to go and visit. Plus the maps of the trains are a huge help if it's your first time in Chicago. I would suggest the Willows Hotel to anyone. The location wasn't too far away from downtown when you took the train but the neighborhood make you feel safe and secure. Plus the great part is it's just up the road from Molly's Cupcakes!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Clean, well maintained and safe. in very trendy GLU type urban neighborhood at Clark and Diversy. older building with horizontal rooms? flat screen TVS. Extra for parking garage around the corner, with unlimited in/out privileges. second stay...first on business a few years ago! This time with wife and kids.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank azkfmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

A little hard to find but worth the effort. A nice spacious comfortable room, not elegant but more than adequate. Although we did not use the mini-bar, I was pleased to see that the snack and drink prices were very reasonable by hotel standards. One small drawback, the parking, although reasonably priced for a Chicago hotel, was inconvenient.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marvfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

The front desk staff were efficient, friendly and helpful.
The room was very comfortable and quiet (great beds)
Good bus service is appx five minutes walk from the hotel. We did not find many good restaurants nearby. Our time was limited so we had a good lunch downtown and snacked in a cafe in the evening.The hotel breakfast was varied and plentiful.
I cannot think of anything to dislike about The Willows Hotel

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirkwall1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Were in town for Oprah's last show and stayed one night. Chose this hotel because it came up as being in close proximity to the studio (3 miles). It's actually 6 miles away. Was difficult getting taxi, although front desk said one would be by quickly, we had to walk down to nearest busier street to hail one. Historic hotel that has been updated. So decor is fine but uneven floors, very small elevator, and tiny bathroom are to be expected I guess. Bathroom had pedestal sink and no counter space at all for two women to get ready, so that was difficult. Bed and desk area were so close together that you couldn't get through if someone was sitting at the desk - I had to roll over the bed to get to the bathroom. Undesirable view out the windows (room #408). Staff was friendly and helpful and breakfast bar was more than adequate. Choc. chip cookies in afternoon were delicious.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#77 of 192 in Chicago
865 reviews
Lakeview
City Suites Hotel
City Suites Hotel
#110 of 192 in Chicago
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lakeview
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
#148 of 192 in Chicago
234 reviews
Gold Coast
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willows

Address: 555 W Surf St, Chicago, IL 60657-6020
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lakeview
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#37 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#67 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $87 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Willows 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Willows Hotel Chicago is a Lincoln Park favorite, located on a quiet residential street just steps from Lake Michigan. Within walking distance are countless dining and entertainment options, and downtown Chicago and Wrigley Field are a short drive away. The hotel includes continental breakfast, WiFi, fresh baked cookies in the afternoon, as well as coffee and tea 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Willows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Willows Hotel Chicago
Willows Hotel Chicago
Willows Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing