We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Willows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Willows
Ranked #68 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Newton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

Our family stayed at the Willows for two nights. The staff was amazingly friendly and helpful. The location is great - close to shops and restaurants in the Lincoln Park section of Chicago. Our room had a nice shower and the bathroom mirror which accommodated three females dealing with hair and make-up in the morning - nice bonus. The radiator in the room seemed antiquated but we turned it off and did not require using it during our stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chingis09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    327
    64
    23
    17
See reviews for
294
248
58
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duxbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2011

Just finished staying at the Willows Hotel in Chicago. Although our room was small, it was very comfortable, and the staff went out of their way to help in any way they could. Very friendly, and they were very helpful in arranging transportation and advice on local restaurants and directions. Great location in Lincoln Park, easy walking to some great restaurants and to a couple El stops when we wanted to go down to the Loop. Highly recommended if you're looking for a small quality hotel on the North Side.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardNiedringhaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2011

Got a very good deal and was upgraded to a room with a bigger bed. Location perfect for our requirements and close to large range of restaurants, bars, shops etc. Find that down town becomes quite dead after workers leave and Lakeview comes more alive.
Hotel was clean and comfortable with wi-fi and complimentary breakfast which is more than adequate to start the day. Could do with some redecorating but for the price, location, atmosphere, staff, rating - couldn't complain.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oy-bell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at The Willows! Thier pillows are delightful. Clean and very confortable. Pretty too!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janetboblove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwyn, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2010

Stayed here just last week for one night as my brother was having surgery at a near by hosp. Staff were very nice ,made sure I got in safe as I had a late night return from the hosp and had to be buzzed in. My room was small, but suited my purpose. Even though the hotel had no record of bedbugs I did my own check and the sheets and bed were immaculate! I slept very comfortably all night. The continental breakfast was great- just need some portable trays on tables to eat on. Would stay here again . I have stayed at the Gramercy Park Hotel in New York in1980 and the Willows was cleaner,much quieter and better maintained- like being back in an "old charming days" hotel!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roserage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights in a king exec room. It was large, clean and comfortable. The staff were especially helpful in helping me with finding places to eat/visit, and the continental breakfast was very good. The surrounding area was also very nice, with many independent shops and restaurants. The free wifi worked well, and when I needed documents printed, the staff were helpful. I would absolutely stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maryjane333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2010

There was so much about this hotel that we loved. Our double queen room was spacious, the beds were comfortable, the honor bar was well stocked with many items for $1.00! The internet was free and fast. They have a special button to call a taxi and one shows up in five minutes. There were two overhead ceiling fan lights in our room which were quiet and made us very comfortable in the evening. It is in a clean, walking neighborhood on the bus line. We were thrilled and are already planning a return visit.

Our only suggestions for improvement are the breakfast in the morning. There are only couches in the lobby so no place to eat and the selection could be better. But it is free! Also, there is about 10 inches of small counter space in the bathroom.

We were here visiting a Chicago based friend and we strongly recommended the hotel to her for when she has visiting relatives.

Also, guests have privileges to the adjacent Bally Fitness Center

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank corabethma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#49 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Lakeview
City Suites Hotel
City Suites Hotel
#112 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Lakeview
BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln Park
Days Inn Chicago
Days Inn Chicago
#84 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,555 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
#143 of 187 in Chicago
3.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willows

Property: The Willows
Address: 555 West Surf Ave, Chicago, IL 60657-6020
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lakeview
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#37 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#59 Family Hotel in Chicago
#67 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Willows 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your The Willows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Willows Hotel Chicago
Willows Hotel Chicago
Willows Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing