We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy hotel, great rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Ranked #69 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Coto de Caza, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Classy hotel, great rooms”
Reviewed October 7, 2010

We stayed at the Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers while taking my son and daughter back to school. A week prior we stayed at the W in Chicago on Lakeshore Drive. While both are fine Starwood properties, the W was loud and pretentious. The Sheraton, on the other hand, impresses in its understatement. It is simply a classic hotel, well appointed, and comfortable. Staff was helpful and friendly across the board, from the front desk to the cocktail waitress who brought us our well made drinks. This is my hotel of choice in Chicago.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tompquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,473
    1,472
    663
    265
    145
See reviews for
1,039
952
190
2,104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,395)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

I am a picky guest, working in the hotel industry for a competitor. The Sheraton Chicago hotel staff was terriffic. Despite the heavy bookings and turnover during our stay, the staff blocked us an additional room on the same floor when our son joined us for the second night of our stay. The hotel allowed us a late checkout for the larger room on the day of departure, which was nice for us as a family since our planes did not depart until late afternoon. All of us agreed the beds were very comfortable. The hotel was very busy the entire period of our stay, but we nevertheless received excellent and cheerful service, from the front desk to the housekeepers to the bell staff. Beautiful lakefront views from the rooms, and the location is ideal--just a block east of the congestion of Michigan Avenue and close to the Loop. The hotel is less than a ten minute walk to Millennium Park and the Art Institute...make sure you find an hour or two to visit. We booked as part of a wedding group, and the rate was very good. We did not use most of the hotel facilities because I am a former Chicagoan familiar with the city; this hotel was well located to get to all our destinations (restaurants, Navy Pier, Lincoln Park, Grant Park, museums, theater, North Side, Hyde Park), and, unlike many of the downtown hotels, it has very convenient access by car/taxi with none of the Loop or Michigan Avenue congestion.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nocutescreenname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2010

This hotel is perfectly situated to take advantage of all Chicago has to offer. It is two blocks form lake Michigan where you can walk to Navy Pier, enjoy the lakeside bike / walking path for a leisurely walk or a multi-mile run. It is also two blokc from Michigan avenue where you can shop and sightsee all day or have lunch, breakfast or just people watch. The staff at this hotel are some of the best I have seen. I travel fo rbusiness for a living and this place is "TOP NOTCH" accross the board from service to voerall value and experience.

My wife and I spen three nights during a weekend in July and to celebrate or 22 Anniversary. What a trip. The room was not ready when we arrived as the hotel was very busy, so they gave us a couple drink tickets to relax until room was ready. Now, I am a frequent preferred guest here and I get treated very well. We were also upgraded to a very nice room. Danit Harth is the Chief Experience Officer and she is Top notch.

This hotel is also located on the river which is very nice to stroll along or catch an architectural cruise. Lover this hotel and going back again with my family in late October. I can't wait.

Jamie Mueller

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muels41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

This hotel is in a good location along the river. Free wi-fi is available in the coffee shop and some portions of the meeting rooms. Walking distance to neighborhood diners and coffee shops as well as the Magnificent Mile. Overall a decent business hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaveSuitcaseWillTrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

When I entered the room, I was fairly happy with the decor and what looked like a flean, new bed. But, traveler beware as I did an inspection before I put my bags down, and although I did not see signs of bugs in the room, I awoke with a few red welts similar to mosquito bites on my stomach and back. When I was packing my bag, I found one trying to hide in it. Lord knows if there are more I missed...but really, we all know where there's one, there's more. After running around in total panic, and inspecting further, I saw the black remnants of them in the sheets and on the mattress. I think the hotel staff did a reasonable job of surface cleaning, but bed bugs are good avoiders, and an overnight brought them out. Check your bags people...if you don't, you'll bring the darn things home.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank imtheglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2010

This hotel really gets the idea of customer service. They are all friendly, helpful and very willing to take the time to answer anything. While the rooms are pretty standard, the beds rock and the location cannot be beat. I am frustrated by the fact that the internet costs about $15 a day and if you want to use the workout facilities you have to pay $12 a day. I feel like these things should just come with a place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greenfairy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2010

This hotel is in one of the best locations in the city. You can have a view of the River and the Lake. It is located right on the river and there are always tour boats coming by with happy people on them.

There is an outdoor restaurant along the river with a great view of some of the buildings.

The service was great and we had a free food happy hour from 5-8 along with breakfast. This is included with a deluxe room. There was an amazing view from the 33rd floor.

The rooms were nice and beds are comfortable.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cinjon62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 190 in Chicago
2,095 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#88 of 190 in Chicago
6,732 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#22 of 190 in Chicago
4,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#71 of 190 in Chicago
4,555 reviews
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Swissotel Chicago
Swissotel Chicago
#64 of 190 in Chicago
4,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Chicago

Property: Sheraton Grand Chicago
Address: 301 East North Water Street, Chicago, IL 60611-4534 (Formerly Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Chicago
#30 Green Hotel in Chicago
#30 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#33 Business Hotel in Chicago
#41 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Grand Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand Chicago is Chicago's premier downtown riverfront hotel, just off Michigan Avenue, and within a short walk of Navy Pier, Millennium Park, museums, shopping and entertainment. The hotel offers spectacular views of either Lake Michigan or the city skyline. Guests enjoy deluxe accommodations, including Sheraton's Sweet Sleepersm Beds, in-room safes, coffee makers, in-room refreshment center, high-speed Internet access, cable television with movies and video games. Club guest rooms, located on the top four floors, feature plush robes, turndown service, complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon hors d'oeuvres. There are five distinctive restaurants and lounges, including the acclaimed Shula's Steak House, health club, indoor swimming pool, sun deck, sauna, and massage therapy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Grand Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing