We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Ranked #72 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 30, 2014

The staff, the location, the service and the attention to detail all made our weekend spectacular. It was a great weekend in a great city and the Sheraton Hotel and Towers Chicago was the pivot point for all of it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcousineau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,086)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,260 - 2,266 of 5,087 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2014

Our group GAWDA has stayed at the hotel before and I am a ex- resident of the area. It is great to come back and stay close to the action. Nice, clean, great service and location to see the city and eat at good establishments ( walking distance)

Room Tip: try to see the Navy Pier and lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a conference in April 2004. Overall it was a good hotel, and good for conferences, nice views, but it wasn't entirely without issues.

Personally I found the neighborhood very boring. Traveling to desirable neighborhoods outside was prohibitively time consuming. The hotel itself is on the fringes of downtown, so going anywhere outside the hotel adds an extra five minutes walk to start getting where you're going. Good if you want to shop at major chain stores and department stores on the Magnificent Mile, but those are pretty run of the mill anyway.

Some things were ridiculously overpriced. If you want an egg omelette sent up to your room your looking at somewhere in the vicinity of $34 dollars including extra room service fee (on top of 24 dollar omelette) and mandatory tip. Want a snack or something from the bar fridge? Take a quick look at the price list, if you're willing to sell out 5 bucks for a can of soda, sure. So I went out and bought some snacks and drinks to throw in the fridge only to discover that it's designed so that you can't add anything to it, and if you want to take something out in order to put your own drink in, they'll charge you $25 dollars for the use of the fridge. Wifi? ~ $15 bucks a day. To me, this was all a bit ridiculous.

At the conference I was at, food was considered by many to be unappealing. When I saw it myself, I walked out of the lunch room and headed for Xoco (there are better options within a reasonable walking distance if you have an hour or more for lunch).

Housekeeping service was not ideal. Shower was consistently plugged (ie each night) which if you don't notice will end up leaving a pool of dirty bath water. Odd. Also surfaces were left uncleaned.

Free Lobby WIFI seemed problematic, not sure that I ever successfully connected. I had to go up to my room to use WIFI, and that was consistently a hassle because on ever device and every day, they want to go through a process of paying for WIFI, which I had waived due to conference, but still had to go through the irritating procedure every time. The business hotel for business people who have all the time in the world to sit around fiddling with Sheraton's web login process, apparently.

Sound proofing seemed very bad, could hear everything from other rooms and hallway.

Overall a decent stay but unless I had to go back for a conference I would book elsewhere.

Room Tip: Sounds proofing was bad, so perhaps a room furthest from hall traffic?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sir-hilary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

During our visit in Chicago we stayed here. We were in room 2227 and let me say the view was amazing. We we also had access to the club floor which has a nice we as well. The Sheraton is located perfectly. Walking distance to Navy Pier and numerous must see locations. Their staff is very friendly and willing to assist in anyway.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Thomas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Recently spent my fourth weekend in four years at the Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers. This is a very nice upscale hotel located only a few minutes walk from the downtown loop. Over the past four years my wife and I have always found the hotel to be well maintained and most of the staff is friendly. On this trip, one of the reception desk gentlemen was a little surly, which was quite a surprise as I could hear the other personnel as I waited in line and they all sounded happy and friendly. The good includes the fact that Paula at the concierge desk was very helpful, calling a local restaurant and making a reservation for us. When we arrived at the restaurant, we were given a free appetizer that had been provided by Paula. Quite unexpected and we were very appreciative. Now for the bad. When we checked in, I was asked for a credit card. I asked for the reason, since my company had already paid for the room. I was told that it was for "incedentals" in case I used room service or took something from the snack tray, or made a phone call. I had no intention of doing any of these things, but gave my credit card as I was assured that nothing would be charged if I did not avail myself of any incidentals. I happened to look at my bank account on Saturday and found a pending payment to Sheraton for $174.04 which is an amount I still do not know how they computed. I went to the reception desk and was again told that it would not be charged if I did not have any incidentals. I checked out Sunday without incidentals and came home. On Monday, I tried to use my credit card to pay for a purchase online and it was declined. When I looked at my bank account, there was still a pending payment listed. I called both the Sheraton who told me I needed to talk to my bank, and the bank who told me this was standard operating procedure. I put the two in touch with each other and was told that my account would be opened back up by having the pending payment removed as should have been done immediately when I checked out. As of this morning (Tuesday) it still showed as a pending payment and I can still not pay for my purchase online. It is my understanding that this is some sort of banking procedure, but I am still upset with Sheraton for making me use my credit card for incidentals when the room was already paid in advance. If I had know the trouble that this would cause, I would have given them $100 cash that they would have returned when I left. I have learned my lesson and will never allow a hotel to use my credit card for "incidentals" again. Interestingly enough, I had just replied to the hotel website with a very positive review when I discovered this whole credit card problem. Other than this hiccup, the hotel is very nice.

Room Tip: We had a very nice room on the side facing away from the river. It was a corner room with an excell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trophywifeshusband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

The hotel is nicely remodeled. The staff was great. I was at a conference with my 4 kids and everyone at the hotel was very helpful. Its is hard to be a single woman traveling and the Sheraton made it easier.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irismom47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The room was great. Best night sleep I have had in a long time. The room was clean and comfortable. Great location. Walking distance to shopping and Navy Pier. Kids loved the pool and staff was very helpful with giving directions to areas we wanted to visit.

Room Tip: Any room would be a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#86 of 192 in Chicago
6,923 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 192 in Chicago
2,165 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Chicago

Address: 301 East North Water Street, Chicago, IL 60611-4534 (Formerly Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Chicago
#30 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#31 Green Hotel in Chicago
#33 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $120 - $527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Grand Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand Chicago is Chicago's premier downtown riverfront hotel, just off Michigan Avenue, and within a short walk of Navy Pier, Millennium Park, museums, shopping and entertainment. The hotel offers spectacular views of either Lake Michigan or the city skyline. Guests enjoy deluxe accommodations, including Sheraton's Sweet Sleepersm Beds, in-room safes, coffee makers, in-room refreshment center, high-speed Internet access, cable television with movies and video games. Club guest rooms, located on the top four floors, feature plush robes, turndown service, complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon hors d'oeuvres. There are five distinctive restaurants and lounges, including the acclaimed Shula's Steak House, health club, indoor swimming pool, sun deck, sauna, and massage therapy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Starwood, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Grand Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing