We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Ranked #72 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dubuque, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good location.”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This is our second time staying here. We stayed one time about 10 years ago, and was less than impressed for the price... this time it was a little better. The room was nicer, the floor we were on was nicer than last time. We asked for a high floor, as we like to take pictures of the skyline and street views... we were given a room on the 17th floor... not exactly "high" for a 35 story property... they DID get us into a room early, so that was a plus.

There was a couple of busloads of kids staying at the hotel.... so using the pool wasn't gonna happen... looked like grade-schooler soup in there... so we didn't use the pool. Otherwise you didn't even know the kids were there. Very well behaved.

If we were to come back, I would insist on a higher floor. We had a high level Starwood member on our reservation, and they still didn't put us on a club floor or inform us of any of the Starwood perks that should have been available to us.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelin_fool_1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianHutchins, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
I'm happy to hear that your stay was better than last time and thank you for taking the time to respond and give us feedback. We are always looking to improve. Please reach out to me directly before you come back. I will personally make sure you have the highest possible room and add some special touches. I want to try and get that review to a perfect 5 next time :)

Brian Hutchins, Hotel Manager 312-329-6995
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,446
    1,460
    658
    265
    145
See reviews for
1,019
946
188
2,092
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,382)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Crown Point, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed February 9, 2014

The hotel and staff are simply outstanding. Rooms are clean and staff is superb ! I would highly recommend this location. Views of the city are breathtaking, everyone is attentive from the valet all the way through housekeeping.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianHutchins, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Hi Ron!

I really appreciate your business and the great review that you completed. It makes my day when a guest says "Simply Outstanding." Thanks for being a great customer of ours. Please reach out if you need anything in the future.

Brian Hutchins
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We've stayed here a couple times. Location great, and staff is fabulous...everyone exceptionally friendly and helpful. They go above and beyond. Rooms are super clean and quiet. Upgrade to the club lounge ...it's totally worth it. Free breakfast, free evening light meal, free drinks (coffee, tea, sodas, water, etc) 24 hours a day, plus more. Our only glitch during out last stay was the parking charges. We specifically came to Chicago to watch granddaughters compete in a gymnastics meet, and this hotel was one of 3 on their list. Great rate by the way. When we checked in around 8pm, we were told the 1 day parking fee for our car was $35, but only through 3pm the following day. Asked if we could have an extension because we wouldn't be back from Navy Pier until almost 6pm when the gymnastics event was done, and were told we would have to pay an additional hourly fee for the 3 additional hours, even though it wasn't a 24 hr period. Additional hourly fee is horrific ($24/1 hr and $33/2-6 hrs). Ultimately we tracked down someone from the valet parking desk, and they said it was no problem, and gave us a procedure to get out of the garage without additional charges. The front desk could have told us that and saved us that trouble of going down to the parking garage to ask. But be forewarned, you HAVE TO ASK, or you will see the charges on your card for the additional parking fees.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianHutchins, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you so much for the great feedback and I am really happy to hear that you had a nice stay with us again. Sorry for the confusion on the parking rates. Unfortunately, we cannot make that adjustment at the front desk since the garage is operated by a separate company here. But I'm happy to hear that you were taken care of in the end. Sorry it was an inconvenience. Please let me know if I can assist with anything in the future.

Best,

Brian Hutchins
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed here 4-5 times the last few years. Nothing spectacular but for the price it is good place to stay downtown. Hotel allows pets and sometimes the stench is not pleasant. It's a big hotel and therefore service is not the best but not bad. Rooms are decent and clean. Pool and gym are there if you need them, but the pool is small and if you have a bunch of kids playing then it gets loud.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vodkatonics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianHutchins, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for the feedback. I'm sorry to hear that we did not do anything special to wow you while you were with us. Decent is never what we are aiming for and I would love the opportunity to show you a better stay next time. I'm shooting for a 5 and if you reach out ot me ahead of time, I know I can get there. Hope to see you again soon and show you the best side of the Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers I can.

Brian Hutchins
Hotel Manager
312-329-6995
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 9, 2014

My stay at Sheraton was simply excellent. Great location, clean rooms and friendly staff. Would recommend it to all. Did not have much time to enjoy the amenities but am sure it would be worthwhile. Looking forward to my next stay with the whole family.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 80viper02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianHutchins, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank You so much for giving us the excellent review. I'm really happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. When you do return with the family, please feel free to reach out to me ahead of time. Thanks for your business!

Brian Hutchins
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Branch, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We have stayed at the Westin on Michigan Ave and we love it, but the Sheraton is also amazing. The locations is great. We are a quick walk to Navy Pier or to State Street. If you can get a room with a view of the river, it's worth it. We love Chicago and love to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianHutchins, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Hi Jennifer…

Thank you so much for staying with us and writing such a nice review. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and liked the location of the hotel. The Westin Michigan Ave is another great hotel and happy that you chose us this time around. If you need anything in the future, please don't hesitate to reach out!

Brian Hutchins
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

PROS:
-Location
-Friendly service at the front desk
-Value for money ($92/night through hotwire.com is very fair for the quality)

CONS:
-Long lines at check-in
-Outrageous parking prices
-Overpriced breakfast

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderfool44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianHutchins, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I'm happy to hear that you had an enjoyable visit overall in our hotel. I'm sorry to hear that the lines at the desk were long when you arrived. I will certainly pass along that feedback to our front desk leadership team. We always use the feedback to get better.

Please reach out if I can ever be of assistance.

Best,

Brian Hutchins
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#10 of 190 in Chicago
2,029 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#21 of 190 in Chicago
4,609 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#86 of 190 in Chicago
6,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Swissotel Chicago
Swissotel Chicago
#64 of 190 in Chicago
4,077 reviews
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#70 of 190 in Chicago
4,466 reviews
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Chicago

Property: Sheraton Grand Chicago
Address: 301 East North Water Street, Chicago, IL 60611-4534 (Formerly Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Chicago
#30 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#31 Green Hotel in Chicago
#33 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Grand Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand Chicago is Chicago's premier downtown riverfront hotel, just off Michigan Avenue, and within a short walk of Navy Pier, Millennium Park, museums, shopping and entertainment. The hotel offers spectacular views of either Lake Michigan or the city skyline. Guests enjoy deluxe accommodations, including Sheraton's Sweet Sleepersm Beds, in-room safes, coffee makers, in-room refreshment center, high-speed Internet access, cable television with movies and video games. Club guest rooms, located on the top four floors, feature plush robes, turndown service, complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon hors d'oeuvres. There are five distinctive restaurants and lounges, including the acclaimed Shula's Steak House, health club, indoor swimming pool, sun deck, sauna, and massage therapy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Grand Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing