We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, but pricey.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Ranked #69 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ida, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel, but pricey.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

An upscale hotel in which very little is free, including internet or even picking up a package delivered to you at the hotel! Room was spacious and clean. Hotel is very large and easily accommodated the large conference I attended.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Hoosier-in-MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
We appreciate your business and you taking the time to share your thoughts about our hotel. I do apologize for any disappointments and if you would like to chat at your convenience I can be reached at 312-329-6995. Safe travels and we look forward for the chance to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,394
    1,413
    639
    258
    139
See reviews for
986
925
183
2,039
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a night in December to celebrate our 15th Anniversary. We checked in early, were upgraded to a deluxe king corner room with lake view on the 26th floor. Also, he enrolled us in the rewards program and we received free wi-fi ($17), with other benefits. I asked for bath robes and later an extra pillow and both were quickly delivered. We had to wait for a taxi outside at a busy time (5 PM) but they had heat lamps and 2 attendants hailing taxi's and facilitating the line (groups to airports, etc). When we returned from dinner there was a fresh fruit tray with chocolate dipping sauce, 2 bottles of expensive water, and an anniversary card, signed by several members of the staff! Unexpected, above and beyond! The bed and bedding were very comfortable and the hotel was quiet. We slept in and then enjoyed the pool on the second day and enjoyed the late (1pm) checkout we were offered free of charge at check in. At checkout, there was an erroneous charge for an $8 bottle of water but the attendant reversed it right away when we said we didn't drink it.
The ONLY negative was that the valet had a mix up upon retrieving our car and we had to wait about 20 minutes. However, they were very apologetic and worked hard to get our car as fast as possible.
Also, it's a great location that's close to everything. This is definitely going to be "our" Chicago hotel from now on. We can't wait to go back this spring when it warms up. The staff is outstanding!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing such compliments. I'm elated to hear you enjoyed your time with us and can't wait to welcome you back with the same great service again soon! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Superb stay for RSNA, Club level top notch and Pat the housekeeper went above and beyond to make our stay a very pleasant one. All the staff in the Club lounge were friendly and helpful. Very welcoming staff at the front desk who sorted out our card glitches quickly. The gym is very well appointed with good equipment.

Room Tip: Go for Club level
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew4038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your business and positive accolades. It was a pleasure to host you and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again soon. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Planned to take the girls into Chicago to celebrate a birthday & booked at Sheraton Hotel & Towers. Great idea! Friendly staff, beautiful prairie style architectural details, painless check-in, comfortable & spacious room. Willis Tower excursion (wow-the views are stunning) dinner at Shula's-portions are sized for the Defensive Team, cut the steaks with a butter knife, professional attentive service. Relaxing morning. Marvelous, upbeat staff made this trip a fond memory without breaking the bank. Making plans for return, just need another excuse!

Room Tip: You will have City Lights at night with every view, the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing such compliments. I'm elated to hear you enjoyed your experience with us and that we could brighten your day. We can't wait to welcome you back with the same great service again soon! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

I was responsible for taking care of the reservations and payment of not only my own room, but also that of 6 other colleagues. Although it was very time consuming, Tori at the front desk was very patient and meticulous in adjusting each reservation. She also offered me an upgrade from a regular room to a suite. She mentioned that she was just as appreciative to have a customer be as understanding as she tries to be.

As I was passing the front desk two days later, she remembered who I was and asked how my wife was enjoying the suite.

It is nice to know that quality customer service and just pure politeness still exist!!!

Room Tip: If you can get one of the newly remodeled corner suites it is worth it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llandeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
On behalf of Tori and our entire staff, thank you so much for your kind remarks and the opportunity to host you, we greatly appreciate it! We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nobleton, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Great location for shopping.. We found the Hotel room very very Hot, we couldn't fix the heat... The wash rooms I found need up dated... Paint was falling off the back of the bathroom door... Beds where comfortable...

Room Tip: Rooms are clean.. Beds clean... Just the bathrooms need extra care.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigger104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
I sincerely apologize for the confusion and disappointment during your recent stay with us. That is not at all the Sheraton way, so at your earliest convenience I would love the chance to speak with you so that we can repair our relationship and welcome you back to experience what we do stand for. I can be reached at 312-329-6995 and look forward to chatting with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
94 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Hotel Sheraton and Towers has complete menu for business travelers.The lobby is great and hotel has ample parking facilities, nearly half a dozen fast moving elevators. It is within walking distance of all attractions of downtown Chicago. It has 34 floors, very helpful staff, many rooms for holding meetings and a 24 hr fitness center including an all weather swimming pool. The staff was very helpful and provided an electric iron on demand. They also permitted early check in without additional cost and reversed charges levied on account of ignorance and not reading instructions on mini -bar. They are very prompt in answering emails.

However limitations are that the services including expensive laundry, non availability of free refrigerator and wi- fi. Although most of the information is provided on the website, the discerning traveler has to notice it. I shall return if the stay is company provided. It will be useful if free water and breakfast could be mad available as it is likely to boost up the demand for rooms in this great hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MahendraM_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
We appreciate your business and you taking the time to share your thoughts about our hotel. I do apologize for any disappointments and if you would like to chat at your convenience I can be reached at 312-329-6995. Safe travels and we look forward for the chance to welcome you back to the Windy City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Swissotel Chicago
Swissotel Chicago
#60 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,832 reviews
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#75 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,247 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#81 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Chicago

Property: Sheraton Grand Chicago
Address: 301 East North Water Street, Chicago, IL 60611-4534 (Formerly Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Chicago
#30 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#30 Green Hotel in Chicago
#33 Business Hotel in Chicago
#43 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Grand Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand Chicago is Chicago's premier downtown riverfront hotel, just off Michigan Avenue, and within a short walk of Navy Pier, Millennium Park, museums, shopping and entertainment. The hotel offers spectacular views of either Lake Michigan or the city skyline. Guests enjoy deluxe accommodations, including Sheraton's Sweet Sleepersm Beds, in-room safes, coffee makers, in-room refreshment center, high-speed Internet access, cable television with movies and video games. Club guest rooms, located on the top four floors, feature plush robes, turndown service, complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon hors d'oeuvres. There are five distinctive restaurants and lounges, including the acclaimed Shula's Steak House, health club, indoor swimming pool, sun deck, sauna, and massage therapy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Grand Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing