We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Ranked #72 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stay in Chicago several times a year and the Sheraton is our "go to" destination. A great location with terrific views. Most importantly, the staff is wonderful, the rooms are beautiful and the beds are really comfortable. I have stayed in hotels around the world and the Sheraton is one of the best. We will be returning!

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

It was a pleasure to host you and thank you for taking the time to share your review. Come back and see us again soon. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,087)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,637 - 2,643 of 5,087 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

Lovely location on the river. Feels a little like San Antonio in the shadow of the Wrigley building and Trump tower. It looks like the hotel rooms have been refreshed but they are not very exciting looking.The bed is very comfortable like a Sheraton Bed.

There is wireless in the rooms but you have to pay for it. It is free in the lobby and there is lots of seating to work and mingle with other guest. I wasn't told on check in but there are two sets of elevators. One for the lower floors and the other for the higher floors. Just note the burger place closes early at 7pm but you can eat on the river walk

The other hotel restaurant is a little pricey and the food is not very good.

What was lacking:

Upon check in I wasn't given much information about the hotel, In the room there is a newsletter type publication for room service but there wasn't any information about the hotel...location of fitness center, business center restaurants...
Limited choices for room service
trays are left in the halls until the next day even if you call to pick up.
If staying for the week there is not an option to pay for internet more than one day
Not an outlet near the bed for working with a lap top
Hotel food mediocre but pricey
Staff inconsistent... was mixed...upon check in no eye contact, no info, going through the motion
Some staff was very helpful and polite. Concierge was mixed...one was very helpful for dinner the other seemed to go through the motions.
Internet in business center was slooooooow. It took 15mins just to print a boarding pass because it couldn't connect to the website.
Not sure if there is a gift shop

What was good:

the Bed was cooommfy!
location is near Michigan Ave and a short walk from the park
On the river
The conference rooms were a comfortable temperature
Love the lobby where you can sit and work at a table or on the chairs
Elevators were quick
Quiet not on a busy street
They were accommodating with a request I had.
it was fairly quiet on the upper floors.

The price through the week was a little high but the weekend price was very reasonable.
I opted for the "Green" service which means no service in exchange for points but I noticed that someone came in the room any way...they moved the cord for the iron.

Walk up to Michigan and visit the Chicago Tribune building. Look closely at the artifacts from around the world implanted in the walls of the building. The architect river tours are also near by.
Over all I feel a little mixed about the hotel but it was decent and I had a good rest.

Room Tip: On the river side or Michigan ave side less noise. High floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

I sincerely apologize for any disappointment. That is not at all the Sheraton way, so at your earliest convenience I would love the chance to speak with you so that we can repair our relationship and welcome you back to experience what we do stand for. I can be reached at 312-329-6995 and look forward to chatting with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I went with my wife on a business trip. The room was rather worn and dated. Unless you really tightened the hot water handle in the sink, it would turn itself back on.... And not just a trickle, more like a significant stream of water... Possibly as much as a gallon per minute. The bathroom floor had some small cracks. The safe is tiny. The closet doors don't stay open unless you prop them open. The staff was the best part of our stay. We were there Tuesday through Sunday, and it was pretty expensive - over $300 a night when you count tax. I saw a sign that said 24 hour parking was $49!!!! Also, if you want to stream movies to your tablet or computer, it is $17.95 a day, unless you join the Starwood club.

Thankfully we only had to pay for one night as the rest was paid for by my wife's employer. Also, food at the restaurants was lacking in quality for the price, but we did not eat at Shula's Steakhouse.

It is a few blocks to Navy Pier, and a few blocks to the magnificent mile.

Oh, and not really the hotel's fault, but there is a ton of construction noise, and lots of sirens. I could hear it all from room 1138.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Papa_Deuce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

I sincerely apologize for the confusion and disappointment during your recent stay with us. That is not at all the Sheraton way, so at your earliest convenience I would love the chance to speak with you so that we can repair our relationship and welcome you back to experience what we do stand for. I can be reached at 312-329-6995 and look forward to chatting with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Enjoyed my weekend stay from the moment I checked in. The staff was great and catered to my every need and the facility is first rate with great sized rooms and ulta comfortable beds to insure a great nights sleep. I also was able to enjoy great views as the hotel is on the river just as it flows into the lake yet is only blocks from great shopping and fantastic restaurtants.

Room Tip: Become a Starwoods Preferred Guest member. Always get great upgrades atthe Sheraton.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing such compliments. I'm elated to hear you have enjoyed each experience with us and can't wait to welcome you back with the same great service again soon! Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

My stay at the Sheraton Chicago left a few things to be desired. It just didn't live up to the expectations of the property and amenities. Housekeeping services were hit and miss. One day 2 bath towels another day 3, for example. I wish housekeeping would pay attention to dirty glasses and ice buckets! And also refrain from moving and touching our things! Hi-lights of our stay were the excellent concierge services and Isaah at the front desk. The Riverwalk area was nice. There weren't too many close-by restaurants. We were discouraged from taking a cab to the Navy Pier as it was within walking distance. Maybe for some, but not for everyone! Seems cabs prefer to go the airports.

This was my first visit to Chicago outside of the airport. Loved the city...would choose a different hotel for a return trip.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

I sincerely apologize for any disappointments during your stay as we strive to make each stay enjoyable and exceed expectations. Should you want to address anything further, I can be reached at 312-329-6995. I look forward to chatting with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

After a horrifying experience at the Hotel Sax, I checked out of my room at 10pm and came over to the Sheraton for the BlogHer conference and had an unbelievably great experience. Clean, well lit, amazing service, great amenities, I can't rave about it enough!!

Room Tip: It seems like every room is great. I attended some parties in suites while I was there and it was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwc321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing such compliments, we were thrilled to host you during your conference and can't wait to welcome you back with the same great service again soon! Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Wonderful accommodations and a terrific staff throughout the hotel. Very clean rooms and a great view of the River and in the distance Lake Michigan. Very convenient location . . . easy to navigate downtown Chicago. Valet parking a bit pricey, but it is downtown Chicago! You could come and go as you please, and there was very little wait to get our vehicle. Very pleasant stay will definitely return!

Room Tip: We had a room on the 31st floor river view! AWESOME!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you for your business! We are looking forward to hosting you again very soon and keeping our excellent standard you've awarded us! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#86 of 192 in Chicago
6,927 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 192 in Chicago
2,165 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Chicago

Address: 301 East North Water Street, Chicago, IL 60611-4534 (Formerly Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Chicago
#30 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#31 Green Hotel in Chicago
#33 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $120 - $527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Grand Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand Chicago is Chicago's premier downtown riverfront hotel, just off Michigan Avenue, and within a short walk of Navy Pier, Millennium Park, museums, shopping and entertainment. The hotel offers spectacular views of either Lake Michigan or the city skyline. Guests enjoy deluxe accommodations, including Sheraton's Sweet Sleepersm Beds, in-room safes, coffee makers, in-room refreshment center, high-speed Internet access, cable television with movies and video games. Club guest rooms, located on the top four floors, feature plush robes, turndown service, complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon hors d'oeuvres. There are five distinctive restaurants and lounges, including the acclaimed Shula's Steak House, health club, indoor swimming pool, sun deck, sauna, and massage therapy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Grand Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing