We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary delight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Ranked #72 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“Anniversary delight”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for our anniversary. The Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers holds a special place in our hearts because I proposed to her here and we spent our honeymoon at the Sheraton in Hawaii. Prior to making the reservation, I contacted the hotel to let them know it was our anniversary but I didn't necessarily expect anything. To my surprise immediately on arrival we were greeted at the front desk with Happy Anniversary and Welcome Back. Our room was even upgraded. Later on the next day the hotel staff treated us to a sample plate of fruit. Your staff went above and beyond in making this anniversary a special treat for us both. We will definitely be back again and again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
HAPPY ANNIVERSARY! It was a pleasure to host you and your wife during this special time! Thank you for taking the time to share your review and your loyalty. Come back and see us again soon before the next anniversary. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,446
    1,460
    658
    265
    145
See reviews for
1,019
946
188
2,092
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,382)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Being a lifetime SPG Gold member, we have stayed at many hotels over the years. Apart from the beautiful renovated rooms and excellent location, the hotel offered exceptional service during our stay. For our trip we chose to stay in an upgraded room for access to the Club Lounge. The staff at the club lounge, particularly Connie and Rene, provided excellent and friendly service. Our kids loved them and really enjoyed passing by the club lounge for the off menu snacks and kiddy cocktails that they made. Thanks to the team at the Sheraton for making our vacation extra special!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank telram77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We are so grateful for your glowing remarks and thank you for specifically calling out some of our staff. I will certainly pass that feedback on and please know how much we appreciate your business. Looking forward to hosting you again very soon and keeping our excellent standard you've awarded us! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for the 4th of July weekend and loved the location. The view from our window was perfect and we could see the Navy Pier. It's right downtown Chicago without the Chicago price. Also close to the metro which we used a lot.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bengalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We are so appreciative of your business and you taking the time to share your feedback. It was our pleasure to host you and we look forward to doing again very soon.
Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on a business trip. Great location, easy access.
The Sheraton Club is a good place to start your day, however it was very busy during my visit.
Tip- Take the stairs upstairs to enjoy the peace and quiet.

The front desk staff were great.
Due to a mix up the junior suite I had was not big enough to hold all the meeting attendees.
Nelson worked with me to make sure I had a larger suite before the meeting started. My compliments to Nelson for handling the situation,

People like Nelson make it a pleasure to stay at the Starwood Group Hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room. Enjoy burgers on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind remarks and on behalf of Nelson and our entire team, we are very grateful for your business. Please let us know if there is anything else we can ever do to make your stays more comfortable and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Windy City soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This hotel is beautiful in every way. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. The location in downtown with its phenomenal views of the Chicago River and Lake Michigan are outstanding. They offer convenient lists of nearby eateries divided by breakfast, lunch and dinner. We thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our stay at this hotel. The bed was the most comfortable my wife and I have ever experienced in a hotel. Maxx, the Good Humor ice cream man sets up outside the hotel at night offering tasty, affordable ice cream treats.

Room Tip: Corner rooms with views of the river and lake are outstanding! We were on the 25th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing such compliments. I'm elated to hear you enjoyed your experience with us and can't wait to welcome you back with the same great service again soon! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

CREDIT CARD WARNING ! Nice hotel, great location, comfortable bed and pillows, room a little small. I would have given this hotel four stars. However, I don't like their credit card policy. I stayed five nights. I paid three nights in advance at check in using my corporate credit card. I then paid the last two nights later using my corporate credit card. At check in I had to leave a credit card for incidentials even though I didn't intend to use eat their snacks, drink their booze, or use their wifi. Since I had read reviews about "accidential" charges for incidentials I gave them my personal card for incidentials only. THERE WAS NO MENTION OF ADVANCE CHARGES. At checkout everything appeared good. All five nights paid for on my corporate credit card (about $1,250) and no charges for incidentials. When I got home from my trip I checked my credit card charges on the internet just to make sure all my charges in Chicago were OK. The first item I noticed was a Sheraton Chicago Hotel charge to my personal credit card for $857.71. Apparently they thought I was going to be hungry and thirsty. We immedicately called to see why my personal credit card was charged for $871.71. We were told to call back on Monday and talk to accounting. The excuse they gave was that the front desk girl ran my personal credit card first so the system automatically charged a minimum two night stay plus a percentage of what they think you'll spend. It's a good thing I wasn't close to my credit limit or I would have gotten a surprise when I went to use it for something else in Chicago. WHEN YOU CHECK INTO THIS HOTEL YOU BETTER HAVE A DETAILED DISCUSSION ABOUT THE MONEY THEY SUCK OUT OF YOUR CREDIT CARD ACCOUNT BEFORE YOU HAND IT TO THEM. If your comfortable with that you'll love your stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haztaz69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
I sincerely apologize for the confusion from a billing perspective and at your earliest convenience I would love the chance to speak with you so that we can repair our relationship and ensure all billing discrepancies have been rectified. I can be reached at 312-329-6995 and look forward to chatting with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, WI
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Every year, the "girls" in the family go on a Back-to-School shopping trip and we ALWAYS stay at the Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers. We are never disappointed. The staff is professional, friendly and always eager to help you. The rooms are spotless, spacious and comfortable. This year, the room we stayed in had been completely remodeled and no expense was spared with the carpeting, bedding and furniture. I noticed a previous reviewer called the hotel "outdated." I would have to disagree. It's a very classy hotel and the decor is traditional with a bit of a contemporary flair. The location cannot be beat...close to Navy Pier, Magnificent Mile and State Street shopping. If you are the outdoor type, the hotel is located on the river and you can rent a bike or a kayak steps away from the hotel. Grant Park is also a very close walk. Try the Sheraton, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing such compliments and your loyalty. The annual girls shopping trip sounds so fun! I'm thrilled to hear you have enjoyed each experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#10 of 190 in Chicago
2,029 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#21 of 190 in Chicago
4,608 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#86 of 190 in Chicago
6,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Swissotel Chicago
Swissotel Chicago
#64 of 190 in Chicago
4,076 reviews
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#70 of 190 in Chicago
4,471 reviews
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Chicago

Property: Sheraton Grand Chicago
Address: 301 East North Water Street, Chicago, IL 60611-4534 (Formerly Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Chicago
#30 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#31 Green Hotel in Chicago
#33 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Grand Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand Chicago is Chicago's premier downtown riverfront hotel, just off Michigan Avenue, and within a short walk of Navy Pier, Millennium Park, museums, shopping and entertainment. The hotel offers spectacular views of either Lake Michigan or the city skyline. Guests enjoy deluxe accommodations, including Sheraton's Sweet Sleepersm Beds, in-room safes, coffee makers, in-room refreshment center, high-speed Internet access, cable television with movies and video games. Club guest rooms, located on the top four floors, feature plush robes, turndown service, complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon hors d'oeuvres. There are five distinctive restaurants and lounges, including the acclaimed Shula's Steak House, health club, indoor swimming pool, sun deck, sauna, and massage therapy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Grand Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing