We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Ranked #77 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I stayed at this hotel years ago and had wonderful memories of the room and the service. This time around, the experience was less memorable. The staff is still very attentive and friendly. The location can't be beat. I was told that I'd been put into a recently renovated room--but perhaps Sheraton should pay more attention to their paint contractor as the paint was haphazard throughout the room (chipped, uneven, etc.). My view was a peak-a-boo view of the lake and a construction project across the street. The bed was very comfortable and the room was blissfully quiet. I didn't even consider room service or the hotel breakfast--way too pricey, especially with other less expensive options within walking distance. Things seemed more average than outstanding.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelLib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you for all your feedback. I sincerely apologize for any disappointment during your recent stay with us. That is not at all the Sheraton way, so if you would like to discuss further, I can be reached at 312-329-6995 and look forward to chatting with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,914 - 2,920 of 5,180 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

We were very pleased with the acomodations at the Sheraton. Rooms were always clean and the beds comfortable. We were especially pleased with the Club Lounge and how we were treated. Connie Alex was extra gracious in assisting us attend to the two grandkids. She went out of her way to be helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lester B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

I appreciate you taking the time to share your review about your stay and your business in general. Thank you for the feedback, I will definitely pass that on to Connie Alex. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

First time to Chicago and first stay at the Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers; both were fantastic. The hotel is close to tourist attractions; hotel staff are very welcoming and more then willingly to make your stay enjoyable; the rooms are very clean; fitness centre is good, and the General Manager is amazing. I took my son to Chicago to celebrate his 16th birthday and the General Manager arranged for a cake and other goodies to be delivered to our room for his birthday; he even sang Happy Birthday to my son, very impressive. My birthday was on the day after we left the hotel; on the day before we left the hotel the General Manager delivered a dozen pink roses as well as a cheese tray to my room to celebrate my birthday. By far the best hotel experience that I've ever had. I would highly recommend this hotel; fantastic on ever level.

Room Tip: I would recommend that you contact hotel to discuss your room preference as the hotel staff are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonONTARIO2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing such compliments and wishing your son a Happy Birthday! I'm elated to hear you had such a good time and on behalf of our General Manager, Rick and entire team, we hope to celebrate many more birthday's with you and your son! Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Twenty years ago this was one of THE places to stay in Chicago. Well, it is now just middle of the road average. The room and bathroom were extremely small. Service was mediocre and slow -- I am sure this is due to how busy the hotel was while staying there -- as it was a co-headquarter hotel for a very large conference. The location is very nice -- walking distance from the Loop and from North Michigan Avenue. Being near the river and the riverwalk was also nice. Several good restaurants in the area. Shula's on the property is overpriced and overhyped but a good meal. Most comfortable pillows ever!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

I sincerely apologize for any disappointments during your stay as we strive to make each stay enjoyable and exceed expectations. Should you want to address anything further, I can be reached at 312-329-6995. Also, I'm happy to hear you enjoyed our pillows and would be happy to share with you where we receive if you would be interested. I look forward to potentially chatting with you. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

A great location, just outside of downtown. Has easy access to the lake front and Navy Pier which are ideal for running. Hotel staff were very attentive, friendly and helpful. The rooms were spacious and clean. Only thing letting the place down is the exorbitant price of breakfast in their LB Bistro & Patisserie. I don't mind paying extra for a good breakfast, but the quality was just not there.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
Thank AtlanticShores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

I sincerely apologize for the confusion and disappointment during your recent stay with us regarding breakfast prices and I have passed that feedback on. If you would like to chat further, you can reach me at 312-329-6995. I look forward to chatting with you potentially and we hope to have the chance to host you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This was a really nice selection. The rooms are large, comfortable, clean, and the staff are professional and friendly. There are great views of the river. I liked the location of this property for our visit since we did a lot of walking on Michigan Ave as well as driving to events around the area. Then there is Shula's in the lobby! Wow, such great food and a wonderful bar scene!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PennyStettinius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

First off, I hope you had a great Christmas, thank you for selecting our hotel to enjoy this holiday
and sharing such compliments. I'm elated to hear you enjoyed your experience with us and can't wait to welcome you back with the same great service again soon! Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is a little older Sheraton, but the value, location, and staff are.excellent! You can walk near the river in the morning and it's a 6 minute walk to the miracle mile. The bell captains are wonderful and have been there for years, which is always impressive to me.

The lounge area is great and service has always been top notch. Also, Shula's is on location!

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the river, especially after St. Patty's day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

I'm so happy that you were able to enjoy our hotel and convenient, central location. It was a pleasure to host you and thank you for taking the time to share your review. Come back and see us again soon. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#91 of 191 in Chicago
7,178 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Swissotel Chicago
Swissotel Chicago
#67 of 191 in Chicago
4,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#8 of 191 in Chicago
2,288 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#30 of 191 in Chicago
5,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Chicago

Address: 301 East North Water Street, Chicago, IL 60611-4534 (Formerly Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Chicago
#30 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#31 Green Hotel in Chicago
#33 Business Hotel in Chicago
#49 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $130 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Grand Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand Chicago is Chicago's premier downtown riverfront hotel, just off Michigan Avenue, and within a short walk of Navy Pier, Millennium Park, museums, shopping and entertainment. The hotel offers spectacular views of either Lake Michigan or the city skyline. Guests enjoy deluxe accommodations, including Sheraton's Sweet Sleepersm Beds, in-room safes, coffee makers, in-room refreshment center, high-speed Internet access, cable television with movies and video games. Club guest rooms, located on the top four floors, feature plush robes, turndown service, complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon hors d'oeuvres. There are five distinctive restaurants and lounges, including the acclaimed Shula's Steak House, health club, indoor swimming pool, sun deck, sauna, and massage therapy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Grand Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing