We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK except for the bites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Ranked #67 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“OK except for the bites”
Reviewed May 23, 2008

I was in Chicago for a convention and stayed at the Sheraton towers. I had a negative experience because I got about one dozen very painful bites by bed bugs on my torso. It made attending the conference uncomfortable. The staff changed the sheets but could not move me to another room, as the conference had booked the whole hotel. After the sheets were changed, I got no more bites, thankfully. Despite this, I managed to enjoy the stay. I liked the location next to the river, and the fact that it was easy to walk to Magnificent Mile.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bugs
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kyoto5301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,422
    1,441
    650
    260
    141
See reviews for
1,000
933
187
2,077
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,367)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
rodetripper
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2008

We stayed here for 3 nights last week. The hotel is very dreary and in need of a remodel, but they were filled with conventions, so I guess they don't need to. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were quiet. Our shower button on the nozzle kept getting stuck in the shower position, but our room was on the 19th floor with a view of Navy Pier and the Lake. I was surprised because we had gotten the room on priceline. The nearby parking is not much cheaper than the hotel, which charges $34/night. It's a fantastic location and on the way to the Pier is a liquor store and a fabulous gourmet grocery store called Fox and Obel, where we got most of our meals. They have a cafe area where you can eat from their menu, or eat items from the store.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rodetripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2008

We had a fabulous stay at this hotel, which we booked on lastminute.com for a great rate. We just wanted a base from which we could explore Chicago and what the city had to offer. We found the staff friendly and helpful, especially the concierge who ensured we had a jam-packed schedule for each day. The location was perfect and the bedroom was comfortable and contained everything we needed for our 3 night stay. The pool, although small, was nice. Everything was clean and i would highly recommend this hotel. If I return to Chicago I would be happy to stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — It would have been nicer to have had a bigger pool
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCR80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2008

I visited this place for business, so a had to stay for a full week to attend a conference. The rooms are small, the breakfast was amazingly expensive and so was the internet access in my room.
I also had to pay for the gym in the hotel.
They charged 6 US dolars for one bottle of drinking water and the coffee maker was placed in ...the bathroom..in Europe that's not even allowed.
The only positive item of this hotel were the doormen.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the rooms, facilities
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank younfemaleMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmont, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2008

Took the kids and did the American Girl package.... a great deal, cupcakes, a bed for the doll, and free parking ($40). The hotel is convenient to all downtown attractions. The pool is nice, small but nice. The room was nice and comfortable. A great time had by all.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cubswin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2008

We booked a night at the Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers through PRICELINE and got a decent rate. Our room was on an upper floor overlooking the river which was quite nice. Overall the room looked a bit dated. The bed was lumpy, and the carpeting and window treatments looked like they needed replacement. We also go the feeling that Sheraton was attempting to get every last nickle from us - from the $4 pop to the $20 muffins. Probably OK for a business traveller...but not for a weekend getaway.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Condition of the Room
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ILLINIFANChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthews, North Carolina
Level Contributor
130 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2008

For $139, any Sheraton is a good value, but for this downtown location (right on the water and 2 blocks from Michigan Ave), and on a weeknight, that value rises immensely. Lobby is very up to date, and check-in staff was exceptionally helpful. Sweet sleeper bed was comfortable as always, and everything in the room was in proper working condition. Only downside (and really minor) was the lack of an in-room room service order form for breakfast the following morning. If I could get this rate more often from Starwood, they would become my preferred program for personal as well as business travel!

  • Liked — Location and value for rate
  • Disliked — Business center closes at 10 - would seem like a hotel that could use a 24hr center
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 189 in Chicago
1,924 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 189 in Chicago
4,516 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#84 of 189 in Chicago
6,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#71 of 189 in Chicago
4,374 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Swissotel Chicago
Swissotel Chicago
#58 of 189 in Chicago
3,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Chicago

Property: Sheraton Grand Chicago
Address: 301 East North Water Street, Chicago, IL 60611-4534 (Formerly Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Chicago
#30 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#30 Green Hotel in Chicago
#33 Business Hotel in Chicago
#40 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Grand Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand Chicago is Chicago's premier downtown riverfront hotel, just off Michigan Avenue, and within a short walk of Navy Pier, Millennium Park, museums, shopping and entertainment. The hotel offers spectacular views of either Lake Michigan or the city skyline. Guests enjoy deluxe accommodations, including Sheraton's Sweet Sleepersm Beds, in-room safes, coffee makers, in-room refreshment center, high-speed Internet access, cable television with movies and video games. Club guest rooms, located on the top four floors, feature plush robes, turndown service, complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon hors d'oeuvres. There are five distinctive restaurants and lounges, including the acclaimed Shula's Steak House, health club, indoor swimming pool, sun deck, sauna, and massage therapy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Grand Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing