We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior hotel off Magnificent Mile”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Ranked #70 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This was my first stay at this hotel and booked 4 nights.
I must say I did not what to expect, as Sheraton properties really vary a lot.
I arrived on Sunday 24th March and even if the streets of downtown were deserted, the hotel was very full. The lobby is impresive and the common areas very nice indeed. Also liked the florr in a breakfast restaurant (did not use it) and the Link by Sheraton which is really a big plus.
I was staying on club floor in a corner room, and was very happy with it. Overlooking the Navy Pier and the lake. The bed was great, Tv very good, and the furniture and ambience interesting. Nothing special, but nice modern touch. The bathroom was basic, but still acceptable. I am really grateful for a corner room, as it was very quiet and nothing could be heard from outside. However the closet was tiny and only suitable for some shirts and a bag pack. I think it was because of the special layout of the room, as other rooms have bigger spaces. Also the strange safe incorporated into the wall with a key..have not seen anything like this. It seems more late 70-ies.
I was also suprised about the ugly room doors and the gap between them and the floor. You could hear who was inside doing what every time you passed by. Definitely not much privacy. It is common practice specially in USA hotels, which really bothers me.
This hotel was one of the best Sheratons for the moment but being so large it is impossible to have a personal touch. I was missing a little better service from the staff who was just corteous, but nothing more. They only helped what asked for.
The hotel was not so clean as others wrote. There were dirty plates outside on the hallway of the 31st floor for 3 days and also used cups on the tables next to the elevators. The carpet there was really dirty with kind of balls of hair...no vacuum cleaning for weeks!
I was surprised that all the staff that passed over there did not clean it, even if it was not their work!
I had a problem with Green choice which I set up when booked and also at check it. I kept receiving the notes beneth my door that I am "not entitled for that service the last day of my stay". Of course it was not true. I spoke to the front desk about this and other stuff but they did check the computer but all stayed the same. It seems no records on customers...
The main problem with my stay was children everywhere. Of course they are children and have the right to go to the hotel, but their behaivour was not acceptable. The parents are to blame, as they really did everything what they wanted without beeing supervised. Shouting, chasing each other, climbing the sofas, and playing with their shoes on, on the chairs. They were alone riding elevators in bathing suits, coming into the lounge bare foot and playing with food. They were in the pool at all times, and playing games at the Link computers.
How could you possibly enjoy such a caos? The hotel management should seriously advise those who do not behave properly.
But overall nice hotel, in a nice area and well presented and for the price paid I cannot complain.
Would stay here again, but as there are so many better hotels nearby, why?

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ludwig70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Thank you for providing such detailed feedback and please know I will share your thoughts with the applicable teams to ensure we improve our service and experiences of our guests. I look forward to having the opportunity to host you again soon and should you want to discuss anything further, please call me at 312-329-6995.

Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,057)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Grand Chicago
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,041 - 3,047 of 5,058 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed on Tuesday night, march 24 2013. We went to the pool around 715m and it crowded. We called the front desk asking what time it opens in the morning. They said 530am. We said ok, we go to the pool in the morning with our 2 kids(5.8) and the pool was closed for cleaning. They were heart broken! When talking about our trip to Chicago, had a greAt time, but did NOT to swim at the Sheraton. Very poor customer service!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank Us4In07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

I sincerely apologize for any disappointments during your stay as we strive to make each stay enjoyable and exceed expectations. Should you want to addresss anything further, I would love to speak with you and can be reached at 312-329-6995. I look forward to chatting with you and repairing our relationship.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Fantastic view, beds were great, staff was very helpful, location amazing! Hotel was very busy but the room was very quiet. Great shower! Price was very reasonable for Chicago. Will return as soon as possible for another great experience.

Room Tip: Perfect location on River for St. Patrick celebration and general city access. Beautiful clean room...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for sharing such positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon! Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Where to begin??

We have tried on 4 occassions now to speak to someone in the accounting department regarding an issue we had to no avail. To be honest the service in this hotel is an an absolute disgrace.

We stayed in the hotel from Friday 15th March to Monday 18th of March.

I called the hotel on Friday March 15th and pre paid for a bottle of champagne to be delivered to the room as a surprise for my girlfriend and to be there when we arrived. The champagne was not in the room.

We called reception from the room to enquire where the champagne was, which we were then given an apology and reassured that the champagne was on the way. 45 minutes later, the champagne had still not arrived.

We discussed this with front desk, who again apologized, and told us that she would raise the issue to her manager and we could have complimentary wifi for the duration of our stay as a good will gesture. We told her at this point we did not want the champagne, as we did not have time for the duration of our stay to drink it and we wanted it cancelled. She cancelled it and confirmed my boyfriends credit card would be reimbursed.

When we arrived back to the hotel around 12 midnight that night, the champagne was in the room.

We did not drink it as explained above - it was supposed to be a surprise and the surprise was now ruined.

We raised the issue again with reception on Sunday 17th March, and it was explained that we would be reimbursed for the champagne but we could keep the bottle. Same was discussed on check out on Monday March 18th, again it was reaffirmed we would be reimbursed.

It is now Wednesday 27th March and I still have not been reimbursed for the champagne.

The less said about the patheic excuse for a breakfast in the "Club Lounge" the better.

I use tripadvisor all the time but this is the first time I have felt the need to write a review. I have rarely witnessed such poor customer service in a hotel. It seems all this hotel is interested in is extracting as much money as possible from its guests.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank COS83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

I sincerely apologize for the confusion from a billing perspective and at your earliest convenience I would love the chance to speak with you so that we can repair our relationship and ensure all billing discrepancies have been rectified. I can be reached at 312-329-6995 and look forward to chatting with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Not every quality hotel appreciates children as guests, but everyone from the front desk, the maid service, and the restaurant staff were friendly and accommodating. The pool was a particular draw for us and the quick (and relatively inexpensive) cab ride to the Shed Aquarium and Field Museum, not to mention proximity to Navy Peer, made it an ideal location.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanClure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you for sharing your spring break adventures with us and I'm so happy to hear that you and your family had such a great time and were able to experience our location in the heart of the city. Please come back and see us again soon as we would love to host you and your seven year old! Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I have stayed at the Sheraton Chicago twicw in the past 6 months. The service and amenities are second to none! The rooms are very clean and spacious. The food and service was awesome. I will never stay anywhere else when I go to Chicago!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing such compliments. I'm elated to hear you have enjoyed each experience with us and can't wait to welcome you back with the same great service again soon! Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Solid Staff, great location, only thing holding me back on a 4 star rating is being in a room that hadn't been updated like other floors and some decent grime in the shower tiles that was easily removed with a finger scrub

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoCALcanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

So happy to hear you enjoyed our staff and location. I sincerely apologize for any other disappointments during your stay as we strive to make each stay enjoyable and exceed expectations. Should you want to addresss anything further, I can be reached at 312-329-6995. Thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 191 in Chicago
2,136 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#87 of 191 in Chicago
6,839 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#24 of 191 in Chicago
4,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Swissotel Chicago
Swissotel Chicago
#64 of 191 in Chicago
4,251 reviews
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Chicago

Address: 301 East North Water Street, Chicago, IL 60611-4534 (Formerly Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Chicago
#30 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#31 Green Hotel in Chicago
#33 Business Hotel in Chicago
#42 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $134 - $531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Grand Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand Chicago is Chicago's premier downtown riverfront hotel, just off Michigan Avenue, and within a short walk of Navy Pier, Millennium Park, museums, shopping and entertainment. The hotel offers spectacular views of either Lake Michigan or the city skyline. Guests enjoy deluxe accommodations, including Sheraton's Sweet Sleepersm Beds, in-room safes, coffee makers, in-room refreshment center, high-speed Internet access, cable television with movies and video games. Club guest rooms, located on the top four floors, feature plush robes, turndown service, complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon hors d'oeuvres. There are five distinctive restaurants and lounges, including the acclaimed Shula's Steak House, health club, indoor swimming pool, sun deck, sauna, and massage therapy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Grand Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing