We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very nice stay and good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Grand Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Ranked #62 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
322 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Very nice stay and good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

My third stay at this hotel and it has retained its great service. Part of a group of hundreds and impressed with the rapid check-in and the logistics of handling that many people for almost one week. On check-in there was some confusion about my room preference and it was resolved immediately. Ended up with a room with two windows and a fantastic view of Chicago and the river. So many things in walking distance including grocery store, wine store, great sushi restaurant straight down the street from the front door. Fast internet service. Comfortable room and good food at all conference meals. While in Chicago I always visit Shaw's, Roys's and this time added the sushi restaurant and Smith and Wollisky. All walkable and great. The only negative I experienced was the hot water in the shower. It takes a few minutes to warm up so go ahead and turn the water on and don't expect to get in immediately.

Room Tip: although the rooms are smaller in the lower numbers, 01-05, the views are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sometrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Many thanks for your kind remarks. I'm so happy you explored the local area around our hotel as we agree everything you need is steps away. In addition to experiencing a convenient location, speedy check-ins and friendly service are important to our staff so you can have an enjoyable time as possible while in Chicago. Make sure to come see us a fourth time real soon and our Concierge can offer more delicious dining options nearby!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,294
    1,375
    625
    251
    132
See reviews for
946
891
180
1,971
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

I am typically unimpressed with most Sheraton hotels, generally, but the beauty of this Chicago Sheraton was impressive! The lobby and all the public spaces are very modern, grand/spacious, and beautiful. I got to stay in a recently renovated double room on a high floor that had comfortable beds, new built-in headboards and furnishings (such as dressers and tv stands) and an overall quality I would expect more of a Westin (Sheraton's Starwood brother hotel) rather than at a Sheraton. I also ate at the brunch buffet, which had good food and a decent selection. The hotel also seemed to have a very nice, upscale bar and decent conference facilities. This was a very good hotel, but Chicago does tend to have much better downtown hotels than most other American cities, I did have one major issue at the hotel with the plumbing in my room, however. The toilet kept making a running sound and would not flush on three occasions. Each time that happened, however, the front desk was very responsive with sending someone up to fix it. However, I would have rather had one permanent fix rather than the inconvenience of multiple temporary fixes. Hopefully they have fixed that in the room, permanently. The hotel was gracious and did end up giving us a $50 credit on our bill for the inconvenience. The other small complaint I had was that I did not feel the room was as well-stocked with toiletries as I would have liked, and I think that better hotels should have a body wash rather than a body bar. I did end up getting more toiletries from the front desk, however, and this was a very small thing. That alone made me realize I was staying at a Sheraton rather than a Westin.

Room Tip: Ask for a recently renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us, it's great to hear you enjoyed our newly-renovated hotel as we've strived to make our hotel as comfortable as possible. Thank you for also informing us of any opportunities where we could make our hospitality even better as customer feedback is very important to us. Hopefully now you'll continue staying with Sheraton and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Chicago as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Just returned from a company sales event. In talking with fellow employees it seems that not all the rooms have been updated. Mine was great - great bed, TV, view, bathroom. Others seemed ready for a make-over. I suggest when checking in (at the beautiful lobby) you ask for an upgraded room. I was not a VIP or anything so the upgrades seem available to all.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgraded room at check-in
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ji l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
We hope you enjoyed your sales conference here at the Sheraton Chicago and I'm pleased to hear that your accommodations and view of the city were comfortable during your travels from Atlanta. As you mentioned, we are in the process of completing the renovation to our guestrooms, including Club Level rooms so we will continue to offer extra comfortable stays on your next trip to the Windy City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
389 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

I stayed here 3 nights for a conference in the hotel. My room was on kind of a corner-so it seemed chilly, even with the heat on. Evidently they were having issues with the heat. My room was quiet and clean. No issues with wi-fi. Location was great. I did not use the gym-my gym had a location 1 block over so I went there. There is a movie theater and a couple of markets across the street.

Lots of restaurants and shopping close by. But it did seem like the hotel did not have very many of their restaurants open.

I did not have a bad experience, but several of my co-workers had their phones ring several times during the night-there was some sort of glitch with the programming. I had a shuttle, but FYI parking is $45 night for self-park.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DavidandKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Hello David & Kim,

Just wanted to assure you that any issues throughout your conference at our hotel have been completely rectified and we look forward to having you return to our hotel for your next conference.

Take Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights. We were pleased with the prices. We were also very pleased with the location. On the river and we had a fantastic view of Navy Pier from our room. The rooms were clean. The hotel is gorgeous. The lobby is breathtaking. We had a night cap at the hotel bar, even though the drinks were a bit expensive they were tasty, had a great selection, and we had a beautiful view of the river. Quick check-in and check-out. Beds were super comfy and the pillows were amazing! We also grabbed a quick breakfast at the little cafe below the lobby before checking-out. It was 6AM and the staff was awake and chipper! Had a great selection for an on-the-go breakfast. We really enjoyed our stay and will return there soon!

Room Tip: Stayed in 1806 had a beautiful view of the Navy pier!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your accolades of our staff, location and overall hotel, Paula! It was a pleasure creating a memorable stay for you and your husband and we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

It was a beautiful hotel, with a great view. I loved the pool, and the beds. But there are SO many better hotels in Chicago. They did not give us a microwave, no wifi, no breakfast, no mini fridge, no DVD player, and no radio. I've stayed at a Motel 6 that had all of those things. Under the beds was dirty, and the room service was rude. Not very helpful service, and not very romantic (if that's what you're looking for). There are BETTER options in the same area of the city. I expected a beautiful romantic getaway, and I got average and expensive stay. There is better value

Room Tip: View of the pier was beautiful at night. See fireworks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Hello Jennifer,

I apologize for any inconvenience or disappointment during your last experience at the Sheraton Chicago. We value all our guests feedback so the opportunity to speak with you about this further would be most appreciated. Please feel free to call me at 312-329-6995 or email me at brian.hutchins@sheraton.com at your convenience.

Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

I like it in general, and I hope you too. I recomended for you.
I like it in general, and I hope you too. I recomended for you.
I like it in general, and I hope you too. I recomended for you.
I like it in general, and I hope you too. I recomended for you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Salah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#9 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Swissotel Chicago
Swissotel Chicago
#64 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,636 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#14 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#69 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,977 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#82 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,804 reviews
Near North Side
The Westin Chicago River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Chicago

Property: Sheraton Grand Chicago
Address: 301 East North Water Street, Chicago, IL 60611-4534 (Formerly Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Green Hotel in Chicago
#29 Family Hotel in Chicago
#30 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#33 Business Hotel in Chicago
#38 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Grand Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand Chicago is Chicago's premier downtown riverfront hotel, just off Michigan Avenue, and within a short walk of Navy Pier, Millennium Park, museums, shopping and entertainment. The hotel offers spectacular views of either Lake Michigan or the city skyline. Guests enjoy deluxe accommodations, including Sheraton's Sweet Sleepersm Beds, in-room safes, coffee makers, in-room refreshment center, high-speed Internet access, cable television with movies and video games. Club guest rooms, located on the top four floors, feature plush robes, turndown service, complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon hors d'oeuvres. There are five distinctive restaurants and lounges, including the acclaimed Shula's Steak House, health club, indoor swimming pool, sun deck, sauna, and massage therapy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sheraton Grand Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing