We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, friendly staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Ranked #72 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights. We were pleased with the prices. We were also very pleased with the location. On the river and we had a fantastic view of Navy Pier from our room. The rooms were clean. The hotel is gorgeous. The lobby is breathtaking. We had a night cap at the hotel bar, even though the drinks were a bit expensive they were tasty, had a great selection, and we had a beautiful view of the river. Quick check-in and check-out. Beds were super comfy and the pillows were amazing! We also grabbed a quick breakfast at the little cafe below the lobby before checking-out. It was 6AM and the staff was awake and chipper! Had a great selection for an on-the-go breakfast. We really enjoyed our stay and will return there soon!

Room Tip: Stayed in 1806 had a beautiful view of the Navy pier!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thank you for your accolades of our staff, location and overall hotel, Paula! It was a pleasure creating a memorable stay for you and your husband and we hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,086)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,178 - 3,184 of 5,088 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

It was a beautiful hotel, with a great view. I loved the pool, and the beds. But there are SO many better hotels in Chicago. They did not give us a microwave, no wifi, no breakfast, no mini fridge, no DVD player, and no radio. I've stayed at a Motel 6 that had all of those things. Under the beds was dirty, and the room service was rude. Not very helpful service, and not very romantic (if that's what you're looking for). There are BETTER options in the same area of the city. I expected a beautiful romantic getaway, and I got average and expensive stay. There is better value

Room Tip: View of the pier was beautiful at night. See fireworks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Hello Jennifer,

I apologize for any inconvenience or disappointment during your last experience at the Sheraton Chicago. We value all our guests feedback so the opportunity to speak with you about this further would be most appreciated. Please feel free to call me at 312-329-6995 or email me at brian.hutchins@sheraton.com at your convenience.

Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I like it in general, and I hope you too. I recomended for you.
I like it in general, and I hope you too. I recomended for you.
I like it in general, and I hope you too. I recomended for you.
I like it in general, and I hope you too. I recomended for you.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SalahS_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

My boyfriend and I stay here quite a bit when we go to Chicago. The rooms are clean (and we got an upgrade this time so the room was amazing). Housekeeping does a really good job. The beds are so comfortable. Room service was fast, but the breakfast choices felt limited. Also, there wasn't a room service menu in the room.
Great location. Can get anywhere.
The thing that made this last trip memoable is my boyfriend and I got separated, he stayed out and I went back to the hotel. Well, I woke up at 5 AM and he wasn't back, so I immediately think he is dead. The front desk was so helpful, even though there wasn't much they could do besides calm a crazy girl down. It was very nice of them though. For such a giant hotel, they made me feel like they cared.
Oh, and my boyfriend was alive. He's just a nut.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 598Storm598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Thank you for your continued business at the Sheraton Chicago, we appreciate you picking us when your travels bring you to the Windy City from St. Louis. What a relief your boyfriend is alive and well and that our staff could assist you, as that's what we're here for! Come back and see us again soon, we just renovated all our Club Level rooms and Club Lounge so your upgrade will be that much better. The Club Lounge also offers breakfast daily so hopefully that will provide you more dining optoins to start your day. Or, check out the Link@Sheraton or LB's restaurants for even more selection. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I stayed here for a couple of nights on business. The pros: beautiful hotel with coffee shop downstairs; great location two blocks from Michigan avenue. Cons: pricey; the maintenance in my room was not up to par; pay for wifi (unfortunately pretty standard anymore); long lines at reception. Not exactly what I would expect from a hotel chain of this calibre.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank runsforthetrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed here on New Years Eve along with a ton of other people trying to check in at the same time. The hotel handled the mass of people efficiently and quickly with a smile on their faces the whole time. Our room had a beautiful view of the river and Lake Michigan. The added security for the night was comforting. The location was perfect for all of our plans. Will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank conhelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Happy New Year! Thank you for ringing 2013 in at the Sheraton Chicago! So happy our staff was able to make your visit smooth from start to finish. The comfort and safety of our guests is a top priority in addition to friendly, sincere service. Wishing you a great start to your year and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Chicago Hotel & Towers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

this hotel has good location but shows its age. my phone didnt work for 3 days except to ring several times during the night....my toilet kept running unless i fixed the chain....i couldnt get on wi fi without tech support......no mini frig in rooms even with heaters rooms very cold, corridors freezing. really hoping our conference goes back to the hilton...

Room Tip: less glass the better as very cold
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMPRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#86 of 192 in Chicago
6,928 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 192 in Chicago
2,165 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Chicago

Address: 301 East North Water Street, Chicago, IL 60611-4534 (Formerly Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Chicago
#30 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#31 Green Hotel in Chicago
#33 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $120 - $527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Grand Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand Chicago is Chicago's premier downtown riverfront hotel, just off Michigan Avenue, and within a short walk of Navy Pier, Millennium Park, museums, shopping and entertainment. The hotel offers spectacular views of either Lake Michigan or the city skyline. Guests enjoy deluxe accommodations, including Sheraton's Sweet Sleepersm Beds, in-room safes, coffee makers, in-room refreshment center, high-speed Internet access, cable television with movies and video games. Club guest rooms, located on the top four floors, feature plush robes, turndown service, complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon hors d'oeuvres. There are five distinctive restaurants and lounges, including the acclaimed Shula's Steak House, health club, indoor swimming pool, sun deck, sauna, and massage therapy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Starwood, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Grand Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing