We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marathon Delight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Ranked #78 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed here for the 2012 Chicago marathon. SPG member. Everything was first-class! Staff was courteous and helpful. Room clean and comfortable. My family had a great view of the race start right from the room. The restaurant/bistro was exceptional The special "pasta buffet" they put out the night before the race for runners and families was just fantastic! The next time I do the Chicago Marathon I will definitely stay here. I would highly recommend the Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,430 - 3,436 of 5,163 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

GETTING IN FROM THE AIRPORT

We decided on taking the Go-Airport Express van from the airport which cost us about $79 for two people, round-trip.

CHECK-IN

The check-in procedure was painless and we were offered an early check-in at no additional cost.

ROOM

The room was spacious, clean and the bed was *very* comfortable. If we had extra days to spare, we'd spend them sleeping in! Internet was also available but at a per-day charge. Our room rate was $159 per night.

Finally, our view of the Chicago River was priceless!

RESTAURANTS

The hotel boasted a varity of restaurants under its roof, but we did not have time to try any of them.

BUSINESS CENTRE

The business centre was located inside of a cafe (which served Starbucks coffee) on the lower level of the hotel. Internet was free and so was printing.

CONCIERGE

We booked discount tickets to Blueman Group through the hotel; they were very helpful at showing us a calendar of events and trying to find the lowest prices.

LOCATION

This hotel is located within walking distance to Navy Pier, Magnificent Mile and Millennium Park.

OVERALL

We would definitely recommend this hotel to Chicago travellers. All of our expectations were met and in the case of the bed, were exceeded. The Sheraton always does it right.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iamthespark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Short stay for a meeting but hotel is very well located with easy access to fine restaurants, pharmacy and even a very good grocery facility nearby. Environment is safe and the lobby spacious and relaxing. Concierge efficient and highly informative. Worth returning to experience a good sense of the city.

Room Tip: very nice view on the river side; corner suite very nicely laid out
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kost e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I went to Chicago for parents' weekend at my son's school. After a rough early morning flight I arrived at the hotel early. My room was not ready, but the staff worked quickly to prepare it and settled me in a lounge with a much needed cup of coffee. Within a half hour, my room was ready and I was able to relax and decompress before the first activity of the weekend.

The staff was professional and courteous, right up through getting m a cab for a very early morning departure.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed at the Sheraton because our regular hotel was booked out.

I expected a bit more from a four star hotel.

- no free Wifi (damm it it's ridicouls)
- room wasn't that clean (I don't like to find hairs from strangers in the bathroom)
- snotty staff. Every time you ask someone at the lobby they were totally annoyed. That was a bit strange.

I'm disappointed and wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Kristy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

excellent location, within walking distance to navy pier. though rather a business hotel it was still very child friendly and both kids got mickey mouse pancakes in the morning. friendly staff and service. would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nlehrke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I was in Chicago for a Convention that had six or eight hotel options. I selected the Sheraton even though it was not the "host" hotel because of the great location. So close to Michigan Avenue, walking distance to Navy Pier, Millennium Park to see The Bean and many other great spots. My room was very nice and comfortable - all the conveniences I needed. I especially loved the hotel lobby areas - so beautiful with all the live flowers. The Concierge Staff were all so very helpful giving great suggestions and directions. I will definitely stay at this Sheraton again if given the opportunity!

Room Tip: I was on 20th floor - had great view of Navy Peir. My room was a ways from the elevator and very qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#90 of 192 in Chicago
7,134 reviews
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Swissotel Chicago
Swissotel Chicago
#64 of 192 in Chicago
4,620 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#28 of 192 in Chicago
5,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Chicago

Address: 301 East North Water Street, Chicago, IL 60611-4534 (Formerly Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Chicago
#30 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#31 Green Hotel in Chicago
#33 Business Hotel in Chicago
#48 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $115 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Grand Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand Chicago is Chicago's premier downtown riverfront hotel, just off Michigan Avenue, and within a short walk of Navy Pier, Millennium Park, museums, shopping and entertainment. The hotel offers spectacular views of either Lake Michigan or the city skyline. Guests enjoy deluxe accommodations, including Sheraton's Sweet Sleepersm Beds, in-room safes, coffee makers, in-room refreshment center, high-speed Internet access, cable television with movies and video games. Club guest rooms, located on the top four floors, feature plush robes, turndown service, complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon hors d'oeuvres. There are five distinctive restaurants and lounges, including the acclaimed Shula's Steak House, health club, indoor swimming pool, sun deck, sauna, and massage therapy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheraton Grand Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing