We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice hotel, Great restaurant, Small bath(room), Super breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Grand Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Ranked #57 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Zoersel, Belgium
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, Great restaurant, Small bath(room), Super breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Location very good. Price very acceptable. Best breakfast I ever had in the USA ! Friendly staff especially the concierge who made a lot of efforts to help us in booking restaurant(s) downtown. Hotel restaurant of excellent quality with a wide variety of different wines.
Bathroom rather small and could use some refurnishment. Room size OK and beds of good quality.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin K, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this review, March 3, 2012
Dear Bolleboos,
Thanks so much for your kind words! We appreciate your glowing review of LB Bistro and Patisserie as we commonly get rave reviews from our guests regarding our Bistro Breakfast. We also appreciate your great review of Shula's Steakhouse as well. Our management and onsite sommelier dedicate alot of time and effort into the development of the wine program for the restaurant, thanks for noticing!

In regards to your comments about the size of the bathrooms, you'll be happy to hear that we are currently in the first phase of a room renovation that will be completed in 2015. We look forward to seeing you back again soon!

Warm Regards,
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,186
    1,309
    596
    240
    125
See reviews for
900
842
173
1,879
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We arrived Valentine's Day mid-afternoon with pup on our second day of a cross-country move to California. Our GPS could not find the actual hotel entrance, but we managed to get around some of the strange one-way and under-building streets to find it. Comfortable, spacious and blessedly quiet room with firm (maybe just a bit too firm) bed, several pillow options, reasonably outfitted fitness center, small area for pet walking just across the street. Front desk, bell and concierge service were so refreshingly cordial and helpful. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: I believe we were in 2501, which was renovated and may have been a corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glutenfreeonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin K, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this review, March 3, 2012
Dear glutenfreeonthego,
Thanks so much for your wonderful review! We're happy that we could provide a comfortable stop for both you and your four-legged passanger! We pride ourselves on being to accomodate ALL of our guests, both human and dog. We hope all went well with your move and look forward to seeing both of you back in Chicago soon!
Warm Regards,
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

The pool and spa cost extra to use so be prepared for the extra $10 charge. Great place to stay. Quiet. Comfortable and convenient. Parking on the property is a bit steeply priced.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin K, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this review, March 3, 2012
Dear Kate H,
Thanks so much for your terrific review! We truely appreciate the kind words and look forward to serving you the next time you are in Chicago.
Warm Regards,
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

The hotel is impeccable. checked in with Lanette and she genuinely cares for our needs. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived but she offered to take our luggage and also (later we found out) she gave us an upgraded room. Breakfast at the restaurant downstairs is a MUST! Best breakfast ever; fresh juice station, bakery station, chefs stands for different tastes.. etc. Exceptional services through out the hotel! The concierge was really helpful (sorry that we don't remember her name but her mother in law lives in Boston),and you even see the general manager adjusting the picture frames in the lobby. What a wonderful experience! Thank you. Michelle and Darren

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin K, Manager at Sheraton Grand Chicago, responded to this review, March 3, 2012
Dear michelle0510,
Thanks so much for your kind words! It was a pleasure to read about your wonderful experiences while staying with us. I will pass on your complimentsto our Room Director so they can recognize Lanette and the concierge team for the impact they made on your stay. Also, thanks so much for your glowing review of LB Bistro and Patisserie! Our bistro breakfast with three stations, including the create-your-own crepe station, tend to win many guests over! We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Chicago.
Warm Regards,
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Had always been one of our favorite hotels but we thought the experience this weekend was sub-par for a Sheraton. Apathetic staff and lack of any level of service was disappointing. Spent an hour calling from pool area asking for towels. The water was freezing and entire area still seemed dirty from the previous evening. People with cold, small children had to take hand towels from workout area. The club level staff was friendly but you had to knock on their door to get a beverage. Something is very wrong with the management of this hotel. Tried unsuccessfully to email them from website but they had no area to comment. So sad to see a great hotel go downhill. Hopefully they can bring it back

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oishiimomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago il
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

The hotel was easy to get to and an easy walk to the Mag Mile. The beds are SO COMFY and the hotel is well run. The pool is very nice and there is a sauna.
Great workout room too!
I'd stay here again as a family :)

Room Tip: higher rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RCSTACK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This hotel is within walking distance to Michigan Ave shops and good restaurants. It is off the main busy street so easy to park if you bring your car. Staff goes out of their way to be helpful. We always get a good recommendation for a restaurant and get a certificate for either a complimentary appetizer or dessert. The views from any floor are great. Either river or lake view.

Room Tip: Rooms on river side provide good views of Chicago River and city lights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shirebuyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,120 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Swissotel Chicago
Swissotel Chicago
#66 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 3,459 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#14 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 3,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#74 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 3,668 reviews
Streeterville
W Chicago Lakeshore
W Chicago Lakeshore
#96 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 996 reviews
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Chicago

Property: Sheraton Grand Chicago
Address: 301 East North Water Street, Chicago, IL 60611-4534 (Formerly Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in Chicago
#29 Family Hotel in Chicago
#30 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#33 Business Hotel in Chicago
#35 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Grand Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand Chicago is Chicago's premier downtown riverfront hotel, just off Michigan Avenue, and within a short walk of Navy Pier, Millennium Park, museums, shopping and entertainment. The hotel offers spectacular views of either Lake Michigan or the city skyline. Guests enjoy deluxe accommodations, including Sheraton's Sweet Sleepersm Beds, in-room safes, coffee makers, in-room refreshment center, high-speed Internet access, cable television with movies and video games. Club guest rooms, located on the top four floors, feature plush robes, turndown service, complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon hors d'oeuvres. There are five distinctive restaurants and lounges, including the acclaimed Shula's Steak House, health club, indoor swimming pool, sun deck, sauna, and massage therapy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Sheraton Grand Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing