We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Ranked #59 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Great Location!”
Reviewed October 7, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at the Renaissance Chicago Hotel. The location can't be beat! It is on the Chicago River and our room was right across State St from the Chicago Theater. The room was clean, quiet, and spacious. The rate was very reasonable and a great value considering the location. We very much enjoyed the pool and hot tub. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobAndKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    824
    578
    157
    47
    25
See reviews for
318
375
80
594
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2009

Nicely positioned overlooking river. Close to public transportation. Large well decorated and clean twin room. Coffee machine in room. Reasonable price for the quality of the hotel.
Friendly and helpful staff.
Restaurant nice but menu does not change - thus we ate out most of the time.
Nice swimming pool & jacuzzi.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAAHuntingdon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2009

We could not be more pleased with our three night stay at this lovely hotel. It is the perfect location for walking to all that Chicago has to offer, from sightseeing to museums. Our riverview room was wonderful. What a great view to come back to every day & night. We highly recommend the nearby Shaw's Oyster Bar for great food, music & service.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BGS53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, Ca
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2009

Stayed here for NeoCon 2009 and can't wait to return. Great location, great staff, good food on site and the rooms were very clean and comfy. My only wish is that we had a room facing the river, but that was our own fault for waiting to book the trip.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CariBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2009

We stayed at the Renaissance for a trip with my daughter for a trip to American Girl and other shopping. It was a great location...close to everything! Rooms were clean, spacious and quiet. Pool was a little small but did the job! My major complaint was the concierge service...they were clueless! There idea of help was to draw a dot on the map and sent us on our way. When asking to get a menu from a nearby restaurant ...she printed it out and then said "this is all I can give you,...the printer cut it off", and walked away. All I want to know is when you get off work wher do you eat? Only locals know where the good stuff is...right? She finally said a lot of people go to Giordanos...let me tell you as an Italian american I was offended by the quality of pizza...disgusting! Tasted like cardboard (like a frozen pizza that I paid $50 dollars for ) absolutely awful..how do you screw up pizza? The next night we ended up at Catch 31 next door was really good. An absolute must is a homeage ginger ale at Bao Wow...I still miss them! Get a bus pass for the length of your stay, you won't be disappointed! If you are bringing children, we saw "Aladdin" at the William Shakespear Theatre at Navy Pier and it was worth every penny!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaTwid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2009

We have just returned from visiting Chicago and Milwaukee and spent a fantastic three nights at this hotel. This is a typical high-end Marriott brand Hotel. The service at reception both on arrival and departure was fantastic, with friendly and efficient staff. WE had a river view room on the 17th Floor, which gave terrific views across the river and downtown area. The room was enormous with two large queen beds and a large bathroom. The room was spotlessly clean and well presented. As usual with Marriott the bed and pillows were so comfortable!
The hotel is in a great location and is within easy walking distance of all the attractions and the downtown loop. The Sears Tower (Willis Tower) is with a visit but we found the lines to be long when we visited and had to queue for around 20 minutes. By contrast we visited the Hancock tower the following day and found the place almost deserted. There were no queues and only a handful of people at the top. Both locations offer fantastic views across the city.
If you are travelling to Chicago we would highly recommend this hotel – its great value in a fantastic city.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2009

Booked this hotel in lieu of the Marriott Mag Mile (I'm a Marriott Rewards member) based on TripAdvisor reviews and I'm so glad I did! For starters this is a beautiful property and every staff person we encountered (especially Kelli and Bill at the front desk) was helpful and accomodating. The best part in terms of being a tourist however is that the El (State/Lake stop) is right outside the back door of the hotel - this made travel to/from the airport a breeze along with all of our sightseeing travels as well. Large room with a bay window (that opened!) overlooking the river, bathroom was spacious as well....a wonderful reprieve from the hectic city at night.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bella1078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Downtown / The Loop
JW Marriott Chicago
JW Marriott Chicago
#36 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,456 reviews
Near North Side
The Westin Chicago River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Address: 1 W Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-1631
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#22 Family Hotel in Chicago
#25 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#36 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#39 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 560
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merging the business of the Loop with the pleasure of State Street and Chicago’s Theater District, the newly renovated Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel invites discovery at every turn. Winner of a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, the Renaissance Chicago enthralls from the moment you enter the lobby – featuring a VIP Club Lounge, Artist Studio, Coffee Bar and Library. Unwind and revitalize in one of the 520 guestrooms and 40 suites featuring unique amenities with marble accents complimented by skyline views of the city's architecture. Wind down inside this luxury hotel in Chicago’s Rejuvenation Center boasting a refreshing indoor pool and indulgent spa treatments. Experience this downtown Chicago hotel’s distinctive and hip scene with local flair, delectable dishes and creative cocktails. This premier Chicago theater hotel is steps away from upscale shopping, fine dining, the theater district, and famed Millennium Park. Your own Windy City experience awaits at this downtown Chicago boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Chicago
Chicago Renaissance
Renaissance Chicago Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing