We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chicago Business Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Ranked #58 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2014

The hotel has a great location and easy walking to major sight seeing venues. If you must travel to Chicago the location is great.

The city is full of pick pockets and panhandlers. If I am able I will never come to Chicago again. I hope not to have to paws thru this awful city again.

Room Tip: Be on the lookout for pickpockets!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charles1379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,705)
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

822 - 828 of 1,705 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2014

Great location, close walk to millennium park, magnificent mile and steakhouse of your choice... Check in was great! Danielle was helpful, efficient and pleasantly conversational. The "navigators" at the hotel were all incredibly helpful and offered a number of selections for food and attractions..you would be hard pressed to find bad service anywhere here. Room was comfortable. Plenty of pillows, great views...can't go wrong here!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank KAKBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

This is an excellent hotel with all the amenities of a big city hotel. Great location, right in the theater district, as well as big city shopping and restaurants. Be aware of the $65 per night parking if you are driving, but I guess that's lower than NYC. Try for a higher floor to get away from traffic noise and the "L" which is located next to the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor to get away from the street and train noise.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod_CFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

This is a very cool hotel. Old hotel updated with a trendy, modern decor. I stayed in a 2 queen bed room on the 11th floor. It was relatively quite overall. I heard a few sirens but heard very little from other guests. The room was clean and a nice size. The bed was cozy. The one minor complain I have is the towels...they could use some new towels. When the towels have holes in them, its time to toss them. Again very minor but one thing that could be improved. The room did not have much of a view from where I was but that was fine. I was there for business so not much leisure time in the hotel to enjoy the view. I ate breakfast at the hotel. I just had oatmeal. The service was slow in the restaurant. There was a Starbucks in the hotel. This is always a bonus for me as I have a slight addiction. :) The hotel was a fairly good location. It is a bit more than a walk down to the heart of Michigan Ave if you are planning on shopping. Overall great experience and I would stay at this hotel again as well as recommend to others.

Room Tip: Higher floors are always best to insulate from the street noise. On the 11th floor I heard a little...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelMamma07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is nice... Decor is trendy.... Staff was terrific! I just asked politely to upgrade to the Club level and was rewarded so with a welcoming smile. The food in the Club was not very good. Looked nice... Tasted otherwise. I grabbed breakfast on my first morning... Eggs were runny... Bagel was hard like it had been there a while. I've had better food at the Delta Airlines Club.

But so what...very clean rooms, comfortable bed with great duvets, down pillows and nice sheets...I enjoyed my stay.

Try to escape city noise by staying on a high floor. Recommended for sure!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
Thank 842randys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Nice and comfortable rooms with coffeemaker, fridge, Iron/ ironingboard and a comfortable bed.
The gym is ok, but treadmills are very basic.
Location is excellent, walking distance to everything, shopping, beach and museums.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Upon entering the hotel, I was greeted with a hello and welcome. The front desk was helpful and we had to leave our luggage with the bell stand because we arrived quite early in the day. The hotel called us when our room was ready. When we arrived at our room we overlooked the river and the sites were amazing.

Room Tip: request room on club floor and a view of the river and the high floors are wonderful.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherrykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Westin Chicago River North
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
JW Marriott Chicago
JW Marriott Chicago
#40 of 191 in Chicago
1,485 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#23 of 191 in Chicago
4,775 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 191 in Chicago
2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Address: 1 W Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-1631
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#22 Family Hotel in Chicago
#25 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#34 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#39 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $218 - $762 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 560
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merging the business of the Loop with the pleasure of State Street and Chicago’s Theater District, the newly renovated Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel invites discovery at every turn. Winner of a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, the Renaissance Chicago enthralls from the moment you enter the lobby – featuring a VIP Club Lounge, Artist Studio, Coffee Bar and Library. Unwind and revitalize in one of the 520 guestrooms and 40 suites featuring unique amenities with marble accents complimented by skyline views of the city's architecture. Wind down inside this luxury hotel in Chicago’s Rejuvenation Center boasting a refreshing indoor pool and indulgent spa treatments. Experience this downtown Chicago hotel’s distinctive and hip scene with local flair, delectable dishes and creative cocktails. This premier Chicago theater hotel is steps away from upscale shopping, fine dining, the theater district, and famed Millennium Park. Your own Windy City experience awaits at this downtown Chicago boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Chicago
Chicago Renaissance
Renaissance Chicago Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing