We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, needs freshening up”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Ranked #59 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, needs freshening up”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We had stayed at the Renaissance about 4 years ago on my birthday and, this year, took advantage of a Marriott points promotion to stay here with our teenage children. Picked this hotel due to great River North location and the indoor pool.

The plusses: Fantastic location near a lot of shopping, theatres, restaurants and the beautiful riverside. Great hotel bar, clean rooms and friendly service.

The minuses: Rooms could use an update, advertised separate tub and shower but our room was not appointed with this. Also, a few other incidents left us less than satisfied: My husband attempted to ask the concierge to help print tickets to the Chicago Auto Show for him. He was told he'd have to download the app to his phone, and then send to the hotel's printer. He really felt they could have provided more assistance. Also, when we took our car out of valet and came down to get in the car, the two bellmen just stood there as we sat in our car, and made no attempt to give us our keys. My husband had to get out of the car and ask for our keys. The hotel's hot tub was also out of order, which was a big disappointment for my kids, who are past the "splashing in the pool" stage. Lastly, my husband and I came down on our last night for a nightcap, and the bartender, who was alone at the rail, complained to anyone who would listen about how busy he was, and flat-out told one of the servers he couldn't fix his drinks right away because he was too busy. The poor guy had to wait 20 minutes to serve his guests in the lounge. I really feel that if service people are stressed, they shouldn't express it in front of the guests if they can. It really put a damper on our leisure time to listen to him.

Other than that, a good stay overall. There are a number of coffee and sandwich type places just downstairs from the hotel (you don't even have to brave the winter weather to enjoy them). Also a convenient ATM.

Room Tip: Ask for a fridge if you can, and request a room with separate shower and tub if you'd like to ut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbugillinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceChicagoGM, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
travelbugillinois, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Your comments are extremely important to us, and I will personally follow up with the issues you experienced. While I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay overall, I also see the areas that require attention. Please rest assured I will follow-up with our management team. We hope to see you again in the near future, we do hope to have a complete guest room renovation beginning in early 2015! Please let me know when you plan to return and I will ensure your stay is a perfect 10!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    844
    590
    159
    49
    25
See reviews for
327
384
80
608
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

During a valentines weekend trip with my wife to New York, bad weather left us stranded in Chicago for a day. Having no reservations, I called the the first Marriott I came across in a quick Google search. I had no high hopes regarding price since this was a last minute request but I was pleasantly surprised by the price for the room that was available immediately. After a 40 minute taxi ride (traffic) from O'Hare were were in the very well appointed lobby. The staff were extremely courteous and were were given a corner room with a king bed. We were very happy with the room , the bed was extremely comfortable and everything was clean and orderly. The windows in our room were very large and offered good views of the city. The hotel was very nicely situated, with numerous places to eat in and around the building. There is a Starbucks located downstairs which was very nice. It is also located right next to the metro (very convenient) and was pleasantly about a 3 minute walk from the Cloud Gate. Finally the hotel had a car service for transportation back to O'Hare which was much nicer than a taxi. This was my first chance to get out and explore Chicago and it was a wonderful experience. It is not often I am delighted to have had my flight canceled.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceChicagoGM, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Airai-Palau, thank you for the 5 star review! We hope to welcome you back again very soon, and next time with gorgeous weather so you can explore our fabulous city. I am extremely pleased to read that every aspect of your stay exceeded your expectations! See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We came to Chicago for a wedding and stayed 3 nights at the Renaissance. We had stayed in this hotel a few years ago and remembered that we enjoyed our stay. We were surprised at the condition of the hotel, needs to be refreshed to say the least... Our first issue was they only provide one bath towel per person, to make that worse, a very thin towel... Then I proceed to take a shower on arrival and I find myself in standing water 2 inches deep because the bathtub drain is partially plugged. I don't know why hotels don't do preventative maintenance on this, but the hotel maintenance folks fixed it after we left for the rehearsal dinner. We came back to our room and put the TV on, signal and quality was on and off and not all channels were HD... Can't imagine why a hotel in downtown Chicago can't get a great signal for their satellite or whatever cable system they subscribe to, but the constant interruption made TV watching unbearable. Called the desk about it and they just said that happens sometimes because of weather or wind... Lastly, the coffee shop downstairs had odd operating hours, closed after 1 pm and on Sundays. The coffee in the room was horrible and they only gave us one serving of regular, we had to ask for more (hence our need to head down the elevator to the coffee shop that closes when you need them!).

Anyway, the bed was nice, it was extremely cold that weekend and the windows seemed to let quite a bit of the cold to come through... Again maintenance! There was no mini bar in the room (1304), strange!

Upon checking out, the desk person asked how our stay was and I described my concerns and experience and all she said was we are sorry that turned out to be the case. I have never seen a lower level of customer care...

We were very disappointed and will not stay here again, many better choices out there! Bye bye Renaissance and Marriott!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Iamalpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceChicagoGM, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
As I am disappointed that your stay with us had a few areas of improvement, I would like to thank you for your comments. I would be delighted to welcome you back to show you a flawless stay. As I mentioned via e-mail in response to your Guest Satisfaction Survey the stay you described is unacceptable and is not a typical experience at our hotel. I hope you are able to give us a second chance to redeem ourselves, and please feel free to reach out to me directly when you book your next stay, so I can ensure it will be a perfect 10!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

This hotel is a great location with what I needed for a week long business trip. The room and bathroom were both spacious. Love the bedding. The view of the river was outstanding, and the price was right. The scenting of the main and elevator lobbies was a nice touch. The hotel lounge is classy with a great vibe. Not raucous, but not sleepy either. The fitness center isn't large, but it had what I needed for a well-rounded workout. Only wish would be for a classier restaurant on premises. What was available had a limited menu or bright diner lighting. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceChicagoGM, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Julie,
Thank you so much for the raging review. I am happy to see that your stay was flawless and we can’t wait to welcome you back. Stay warm, we hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Great location close to the Merchandise Mart and I had a nice room, clean and comfortable bed, clean bathroom. Would prefer a real shower not one in a tub, but that is minor. Really would prefer a comfortable office chair at the desk for working in the room.

Check in was easy, but no restaurant in the hotel other than Tapas junk in the bar and that was disappointing....left me walking down the street in zero degree weather for dinner.

The other disappointment was they never called for my wake-up call nor delivered my pre-ordered breakfast until I called down to the manager. I give him credit...he had a breakfast sent up immediately and for free. So I will give this place another try and see if we can improve upon the experience....because it was clean, comfortable, and in a great location.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hjb4971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceChicagoGM, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments with us. I would like to apologize that you did not receive your wakeup call and breakfast was not delivered. This is unacceptable, and I will definitely look into this with the appropriate managers at our hotel. I am glad to see that you will stay with us again, please do not hesitate to contact me when you return, as I will ensure your next stay is flawless! One quick note, we do have a restaurant located on our second floor called “Great Street” and “Bar Novo” is located on our fist level. I hope when you return you are able to visit Great Street as they have a lovely menu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I typically stay at this hotel for 1-2 night business trips. My stay usually involves getting in late or getting in early which has never been a problem. There is an "Aroma" cafe in the lobby with decent coffee and snacks for the morning. I've never had breakfast at the restaurant, but room service breakfast is usually very good. The location is terrific for any activities in the loop or in River north. There are several trains that run withing a few blocks of the hotel. The hotel is also linked internally with some other restaurants and amenities and there is an entrance to the pedway right outside the hotel. Just over the river in River North are a bunch of great restaurants and bars. There are also lots of convenient eating choices near by like Chik-fil-A and subway and pottbelly, etc.

The service in general is excellent, the people are friendly, welcoming, accommodating, etc. The entrance is easy with the large driveway - easy to get in-and-out (not in street traffic) and plenty of cabs usually on hand. I've not been to the bar, but it looks really nice and often has a decent crowd most week nights. The lobby is not overly big, but very functional and useful for impromptu calls, etc. Internet in the hotel works well. Its not cheap, but it comes included in my corporate rate so I always use it when staying there.

The rooms are fairly well appointed. I've stayed in king rooms on various floors. Some have views of the river which is nice - others are on the back side. The room are generally quiet as far as other guests and hallways are concerned. On certain side of the building you are overlooking the El which might be a problem for people sensitive to noise, but doesn't bother me. The bathrooms have decent toiletries - separate shampoo and conditioner which my wife find important. The moisturizer/body lotion sometimes seems recycled which is gross, but I don't use that anyway.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Djibrilduff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceChicagoGM, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
We truly appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. Guest comments like yours allow us to see what we are doing right, and what can be improved at our property. I especially like the part of your review regarding staff service. We always want to make you feel like you are at home while you are traveling. I will be sure to share your comments with the hotel staff. Thank you again for taking the time to leave us feedback, and we cannot wait for your return! Stay Warm!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I love this hotel. It is situated so centrally to everything in Chicago, is clean and the staff are terrific. The rooms are comfy, clean and spacious. True Marriott standards! A great place to stay if going to house of blues or a broadway show.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceChicagoGM, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Tracy-
Thank you for the fabulous review! Your comments are exactly what we strive for as hoteliers and I will personally share your comments with our team. Comments like yours are a joy to share with the staff so thank you! We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Westin Chicago River North
Downtown / The Loop
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#21 of 190 in Chicago
4,596 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
JW Marriott Chicago
JW Marriott Chicago
#35 of 190 in Chicago
1,440 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago/North Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Address: 1 W Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-1631
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#22 Family Hotel in Chicago
#25 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#37 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#39 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 560
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merging the business of the Loop with the pleasure of State Street and Chicago’s Theater District, the newly renovated Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel invites discovery at every turn. Winner of a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, the Renaissance Chicago enthralls from the moment you enter the lobby – featuring a VIP Club Lounge, Artist Studio, Coffee Bar and Library. Unwind and revitalize in one of the 520 guestrooms and 40 suites featuring unique amenities with marble accents complimented by skyline views of the city's architecture. Wind down inside this luxury hotel in Chicago’s Rejuvenation Center boasting a refreshing indoor pool and indulgent spa treatments. Experience this downtown Chicago hotel’s distinctive and hip scene with local flair, delectable dishes and creative cocktails. This premier Chicago theater hotel is steps away from upscale shopping, fine dining, the theater district, and famed Millennium Park. Your own Windy City experience awaits at this downtown Chicago boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Chicago
Chicago Renaissance
Renaissance Chicago Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing