We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, Great rooms, Outstanding Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Ranked #57 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Renton, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
545 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, Great rooms, Outstanding Service”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I spent three nights in this hotel for a conference that was held at the hotel. My corner room on the 13th floor (yes, this hotel has a thirteenth floor) was spacious and very comfortable. The bath amenities are from Aveda--always a great, natural choice. The king bed came with six regular pillows (a mixture of synthetic and down) and one giant body pillow, ensuring comfort. The workspace from where I'm tying this is clutter-free, a large glasstop table with a leather chair that is the adequate height. The hotel conference food was some of the best I've ever eaten at a conference. The room is located near the heart of downtown, close to the water, the shops on Michigan Avenue and plenty of restaurants and bars. It's a great location for a conference and the hotel provides first rate service for such things.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLFERG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    855
    600
    159
    49
    25
See reviews for
333
391
80
614
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for the weekend while on town to see Harry Connick Jr. Great location, excellent service from the bellmen out front to the front desk, and a really HUGE room for downtown Chicago!

Big shout out to Brad the bartender in the Novo bar. Te bacon wrapped dates are amazing, and don't dare miss the blood orange gimlet!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texohlrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Very nice location - can walk to many things in downtown Chicago from the Field museum (a bit of a hike) to the length of Magnificent Mile. We had an issue with our air conditioning and the hotel was very responsive and fixed it quickly. Decent gym. Overall, a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sreptile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
577 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 398 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We're Gold members, so we've stayed at a lot of Marriott's throughout the years. We got to the hotel early and were able to check in but I asked the front desk person if there were any upgrades. She said yes but that we would have to wait until the room was cleaned. It was a nice upgrade so we decided to wait. We gave them our cell number to call when the room was available.

We never got a call but came back after 4 hours. When we talked to another front desk person, she was unaware that we had gotten an upgrade and told us that it was unlikely anyone would have given us that upgrade. In other words, she called us liars.

The original desk person was available so I tracked her down. She looked for a while and said here supervisor had unbooked that room for us. And her supervisor had left the building and there were no more upgrades of any kind available. We asked why no one had called us and she said that since we no longer had a room, the call was unnecessary. Huh?

So now we wanted our original room type. Sorry, but now none of those was ready. But she said we'd be the next room cleaned. Once again, we gave her our cell number. We waited around an hour more with no call.

I went back up to the front desk and our room had been ready for some time! But no phone call again. I asked why and she shrugged. Nice customer service, huh?

So after waiting 6 hours, we finally got a room. This is by far the most awful customer service at any hotel we've ever stayed.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SalfromIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I come to Chicago often and the Renaissance is my hotel of choice when traveling for business. I work with a company with offices on Wacker so it is extremely convenient. Rooms are standard size, but are appointed nicely. Beds and pillows are comfortable, views are mostly good. Bathrooms are nice and they have Aveda soaps/shampoos.

One downside is rooms that overlook the "El". They can be quite noisy as the trains seemingly travel all night long. When checking in request a room that does not overlook the El track.

Room Tip: Don't stay in a room that overlooks the "El".
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RNP1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
650 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 511 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I am currently still at this hotel and checking out tomorrow during a 4 night business stay as a Marriott Platinum member. Upon check in, I did not receive an upgraded room - my current room is on the 21st floor (not on the same level as the club lounge).

Some of the negatives about the room - carpet is worn and the room could use a little bit of upgrading. Housekeeping could do a better job - ipod alarm clock is dusty, bathroom sink was not always wiped clean.

The club lounge is on the 26th floor. I visited the lounge 3 times during my stay, mostly to get the desserts offered after 7:30pm. The staff is not very friendly and 7:30 seems a little early to put away the food. I did have the food today and it was decent, nothing special. However, what I most disliked was the charge for the alcohol. $11 for a glass of wine?! I pay less in a Chicago restaurant. If you are used to Marriott hotels in Europe or Asia, you will be turned off by this type of money grubbing behavior.

On a positive note, the rooms are very well insulated. I could not hear any neighbor or hallway noise. The bed and pillows are comfy as you would expect in any Renaissance hotel. The location is also very central and in a good area.

For $300/night, as a Platinum member, I expected more.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PandaHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I booked a suite with one and a half baths because the three of us we were going to be in town 5 days. So comfortable for two teenagers and Mom. Spacious, fabulous view of the river. Staff was wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TucsonBumblebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Westin Chicago River North
Downtown / The Loop
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
JW Marriott Chicago
JW Marriott Chicago
#39 of 190 in Chicago
1,468 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#22 of 190 in Chicago
4,697 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#13 of 190 in Chicago
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Address: 1 W Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-1631
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#22 Family Hotel in Chicago
#25 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#33 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#39 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 560
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merging the business of the Loop with the pleasure of State Street and Chicago’s Theater District, the newly renovated Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel invites discovery at every turn. Winner of a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, the Renaissance Chicago enthralls from the moment you enter the lobby – featuring a VIP Club Lounge, Artist Studio, Coffee Bar and Library. Unwind and revitalize in one of the 520 guestrooms and 40 suites featuring unique amenities with marble accents complimented by skyline views of the city's architecture. Wind down inside this luxury hotel in Chicago’s Rejuvenation Center boasting a refreshing indoor pool and indulgent spa treatments. Experience this downtown Chicago hotel’s distinctive and hip scene with local flair, delectable dishes and creative cocktails. This premier Chicago theater hotel is steps away from upscale shopping, fine dining, the theater district, and famed Millennium Park. Your own Windy City experience awaits at this downtown Chicago boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Chicago
Chicago Renaissance
Renaissance Chicago Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing