We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lovely hotel, easy location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Ranked #55 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, easy location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is a fabulous hotel, the staff are totally helpful and accommodating, the food is excellent (albeit we only had breakfast, a bar lunch and club room access). Our room was huge and really well appointed. I loved the location here - very close to the river, easy access to the Riverwalk, across the bridge for shopping and a nice brisk walk to Navy Pier. Good views from the hotel, nice and quiet, Macy's just down the street - what more does one need, I would stay here again. However only one concierge on duty so hard to organise any tours.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smt_RT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    533
    147
    45
    22
See reviews for
290
342
78
535
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

First of all the good: This is a beautiful hotel located in a lovely area of Chicago on the river. The river flows right in front of the hotel and be sure to upgrade to a room facing the river. The rooms are spacious and spotless. Housekeeping does not begin to knock until after nine AM which is gratefully appreciated on some mornings.
Now for the not so good: The front desk staff consists of a group of frosty workers. Is this a senior management decision to be efficient without being warm? I had to almost argue for the opportunity to pay extra for switching my room from the back of the hotel to the river view. What's up with that? I asked for an hour extension on my departure and was told that the hotel was "completely booked". An hour is not a long time to request as a Marriott Rewards Member and I have never been turned down at any hotel, including Marriotts, before. The servers in the restaurant looked uninterested and removed. During both times I ate there, I had to vigorously flag down the servers. No water poured, no smile, no midwest hospitality here either. I've stayed at Marriotts in other cities and this one stands out for its dour front desk and restaurant staff.

Room Tip: Upgrade to river view on high floor. It's worth the cost to bypass the city noise and the elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripfantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Great location, convenient to all downtown attractions. Lobby was nice and they had water with fruit which was so refreshing.
I wish Wi-Fi was free, even in the lobby. That would be all I would change about our stay. We plan to stay there for future trips.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the river, it is gorgeous to see the city from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This was my first time in Chicago and the Renaissance was in the perfect location. The shopping district was only a few blocks away, and had it not rained, I would have walked the 15 min to the Art Institute. Directly across from the river, provided for lovely walks. Our room was a good size, clean and modern. I plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
170 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We ended up at the Renaissance after we missed a connecting flight at Midway. Even though we had a very limited time there, it was a great stay. Our room had an incredible view of the river and the beds were extremely comfortable, with wonderfully soft bedding. We ordered room service who very promptly delivered two fabulous, handmade pizzas. And finally, the hotel very happily provided us with replacements for the toiletries that were still in our luggage at the airport.

I only wish we had had more time to spend at this wonderful property.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RedstoneBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was my second stay at the Renaissance for a work conference. The hotel is quite large and so it was convenient for the conference events. New this time around was a portable lunch option where conference attendees could purchase lunch on the conference events floor. The only drawback was one cashier and a very large group of professionals all needing to eat at the same time. It would be great to offer to cashiers in the future. The hotel's location in downtown Chicago is great - close to Michigan Ave, Lake Michigan and other shopping/restaurants. The room size was typical of most hotels...nothing outstanding. The bathroom was a good size though. Noise level could have been better as it was easy to hear the train below. Overall, it is a nice hotel with a great location for the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newmom1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
336 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 630 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I visited this historical downtown hotel for the first time on business to participate in a conference. The hotel is located in a prime downtown location at 1 West Whacker Drive. The Renaissance is quite impressive from both the outside and inside.

As a Marriott platinum rewards member, my check-in and check-out were both very efficient. My hotel room 2218 was located on the 22nd floor, with a nice view of the Chicago Theater and other city buildings. Check out the pics of my room and the views from my room. I also had access to the club lounge for both breakfast and evening snacks. The club service and quality of the food was excellent. The conference room rate with taxes was $220, which was very reasonable for this downtown hotel.

My only minor complaint is the hallways could use a renovation. My room was fine.

The Renaissance Schaumburg Hotel and Convention Center is a better hotel, but, does not offer the downtown convenience of this hotel so bottom line is both are excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Westin Chicago River North
Downtown / The Loop
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#9 of 189 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
JW Marriott Chicago
JW Marriott Chicago
#27 of 189 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,259 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Burnham Hotel
Kimpton Burnham Hotel
#18 of 189 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Address: 1 W Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-1631
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#22 Family Hotel in Chicago
#25 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#34 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#39 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 560
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merging the business of the Loop with the pleasure of State Street and Chicago’s Theater District, the newly renovated Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel invites discovery at every turn. Winner of a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, the Renaissance Chicago enthralls from the moment you enter the lobby – featuring a VIP Club Lounge, Artist Studio, Coffee Bar and Library. Unwind and revitalize in one of the 520 guestrooms and 40 suites featuring unique amenities with marble accents complimented by skyline views of the city's architecture. Wind down inside this luxury hotel in Chicago’s Rejuvenation Center boasting a refreshing indoor pool and indulgent spa treatments. Experience this downtown Chicago hotel’s distinctive and hip scene with local flair, delectable dishes and creative cocktails. This premier Chicago theater hotel is steps away from upscale shopping, fine dining, the theater district, and famed Millennium Park. Your own Windy City experience awaits at this downtown Chicago boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Chicago
Chicago Renaissance
Renaissance Chicago Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing