We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Chicago Favorite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Ranked #59 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Saint John, Indiana
Level Contributor
331 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A Chicago Favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We have stayed at the Renaissance Chicago Hotel numerous time, The rooms are very large, great bathroom, years ago the hotel was a Stouffer Hotel. Hotel is kept up extremely well, its on State and Wacker, a great location, lots of rooms face the river, a fabulous view. Its right next to the Theater District, great for plays. Channel 7 News is right on State St steps from the hotel. Lots of shopping on either side of the river. Wonderful restaurants within walking distance, Catch 35 right next door, a great seafood restuarant. Mag Mile within walking distance, Millennium Park, the lake shore. Just can't say enough about this hotel. The conceige lounge always has a very nice selection, there is a Starbucks in the lobby and also in the ped way. Always my 1st choice when staying in the city!

Room Tip: Ask for a riverview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tagent22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    813
    573
    155
    47
    25
See reviews for
312
373
79
588
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel during a business trip. It is quite and well situated in the Loop. The conceirge was exceptionally helpful. They acquire excellent Bulls tickets at a great price and had good suggestions for restaurant options in the area. The pool and sauna were a great end to a busy day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCam73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Illinois/STL
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I recently stayed at the Renaissance Chicago Downtown. I have nearly always stayed at another hotel while downtown previously. I'll definitely stay here again. The staff was excellent, very helpful and courteous, and the rooms were very nice. They were somewhat larger than the rooms at the other hotel I have patronized and completely up to date. The bar and restaurant were quite good too. Although I was on business I think it would be a good choice for a family trip to downtown Chicago.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north end have a good view up the Magnificent Mile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelSaluki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Wanting a long weekend in Chicago led us to the Renaissance on W Wacker. Our preferences were for a quiet room with a river view. Our room on the 21st floor fit the bill perfectly. The room was larger than I would have expected, a nice size bathroom and good closet space. The view of the river was fabulous and the location was in walking distance of theater, tours, millennium park, etc. The restaurant was closed for renovation, but Catch 35 was adjacent and excellent. The bar area had a little too much young vibe for us, but it seemed pleasant enough. We would definitely return here.

Room Tip: We heard no external or internal noise on the 21st floor river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cajFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

All was well, from arrival to departure. The concierge lounge is not as roomy or nice as other location, but the attentive staff made it worthwhile.

I forgot to pack my laptop charger and got a loaner for my laptop within 10 minutes. This could had been an embarrassing moment if my laptop die during my presentation.

Housekeeping always came by in the evening just to make sure you're taken care of. If you do not want them to knock, just hang the 'do not disturb' sign outside. In my case, I enjoyed the little extra attention.

If price is a concern for you, this might not be the place. Room price is high, couple with other nearby restaurants can really make a dent in your wallet, or your employer's.

I would definitely stay at this location again on my next trip back to Chicago.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

The Renaissance is a great hotel for both business and leisure. I stayed last week for business. Nice large room with a king bed. Plenty of space to spread out. Nice bathroom with Aveda soap, shampoo, etc. room service was very accommodating making me a nice artisan cheese plate for a late night snack.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

PROS:
- Location conveniently next to the CTA State/Lake train station; but be sure you now which side of the street to board for your particular line.
- Restaurant not available while staying here, but the substitute breakfast offering at the Bar Novo was excellent and the ambiance was warm and comforting.
- Service was outstanding: restaurant staff very attentive and friendly; concierge printed our boarding pass while we were at the theatre; front desk retrieved a room charge copy for me; front door staff helpful in calling and directing taxis; banquet staff were quick to make table chair changes.
CONS:
- Location: the convenience of being located next to the CTA train station creates an inconvenience of train noises for rooms above the track, as our room was, The room was a large one on a high floor corner overlooking State street and train station. Great view, and we adjusted to the train noise (which sometimes sounded like ocean waves); it seemed to stop before midnight depending on the day of the week.
- dated worn room furniture; hallway looked weary
- no bathroom fan, but the fixtures were modern

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the river side - you won't hear the loop trains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PiedmontWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Downtown / The Loop
JW Marriott Chicago
JW Marriott Chicago
#39 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,395 reviews
Near North Side
The Westin Chicago River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Address: 1 W Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-1631
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#22 Family Hotel in Chicago
#25 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#36 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#39 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 560
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merging the business of the Loop with the pleasure of State Street and Chicago’s Theater District, the newly renovated Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel invites discovery at every turn. Winner of a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, the Renaissance Chicago enthralls from the moment you enter the lobby – featuring a VIP Club Lounge, Artist Studio, Coffee Bar and Library. Unwind and revitalize in one of the 520 guestrooms and 40 suites featuring unique amenities with marble accents complimented by skyline views of the city's architecture. Wind down inside this luxury hotel in Chicago’s Rejuvenation Center boasting a refreshing indoor pool and indulgent spa treatments. Experience this downtown Chicago hotel’s distinctive and hip scene with local flair, delectable dishes and creative cocktails. This premier Chicago theater hotel is steps away from upscale shopping, fine dining, the theater district, and famed Millennium Park. Your own Windy City experience awaits at this downtown Chicago boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Chicago
Chicago Renaissance
Renaissance Chicago Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing