We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favorite place to stay downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Ranked #59 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Hartland, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Our favorite place to stay downtown”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We have stayed here twice and have found this hotel to be very comfortable, welcoming and well located for shopping, museums and access to the beautiful lakefront. The guest rooms are larger than in the Marriott on Michigan Avenue. We have been given a riverfront room or suite each time which makes for a wonderful view in the spring and summer. The staff are friendly and attentive.
After our first night, I found that the mattress was much too firm for my comfort and my request for a mattress topper was promptly granted for the next night. The room and bathroom are always clean.
This hotel is our first choice for our occasional getaways to Chicago.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    825
    578
    157
    47
    25
See reviews for
318
375
80
595
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Central, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Spent three nights. The staff at the desk went above and beyond when I checked in and realized that I had forgotten our theater tickets at home. The receptionist helped me to try and print-out the tickets and when I couldn't get them to print from my e-mail account she let me forward it to her e-mail account and then printed them from her account. She saved the day. I stay here frequently and when rooms are available they will upgrade to club floors and corner rooms when available. The hotel bar can be very crowed but the staff does a good job of making sure everybody is served in a timely manner.

Room Tip: It is a city hotel so the higher rooms are less noisy from the trains and street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knlaw2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This hotel is so nicely located. Be sure to ask for a river view room because it more than compensates for some distractions. Normal room with nice bath--clean--the usual fridge, ironing board, coffee. We weren't here for a hotel destination spa experience so we loved this hotel.

Room Tip: River view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Msdebeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Location, location, location.....this hotel has it. On the river in downtown Chicago. Our room had a fabulous view of the river and the downtown. Very clean and comfy. Large room with great bed and linens.
Nice lobby bar and good drinks and snacks.
The concierges were the best, we really appreciate the help of Tom and Susie. They were great!
Very close to the Blue Line exit and you can easily ride from the airport. No need to rent a car, just take the public transportation or walk.

Room Tip: Ask for room above fifth floor and with river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njtonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agoura Hills, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Love the location of this hotel, right in front of the river, the area is beautiful and clean. Mag mile, great restaurants, shops, parks, theatre all a few minutes walking. Stayed April 10-14. Our first room on the club level was very spacious but located towards the back of the hotel. I asked to be moved to a river front room if available for the rest of our stay (3 more nights), which was granted, also on club level, but the room was smaller and it was only partial river view. In any case, we enjoyed our stay here. Our room reservartion included buffet breakfast in the hotel restaurant every morning but we decided to have breakfast at the club lounge most mornings as it was very convenient, the food offerings were actually very good, lots of fresh fruit, pastries, chesses, eggs, bacon etc. and good coffee. We also visited the club lounge for a pre dinner drink one evening and both my husband and I were surprised to be charged $9 for a glass of wine. As platinum rewards member with the Marriott, we have been accustomed to and enjoyed the benefits and hospitality of the club level world wide therefore the wine charge was a shock. Our room was always clean and bed was very comfy, typical Marriott beddings. We tried the breakfast buffet twice as the club lounge was closed on weekends and found the food just same as the club lounge. I would however like to acknowledge some of the staff in this hotel as they were very friendly and provided great service. l

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Boxerlola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this location this past weekend (Fri. - Sun.) and it was an absolutely marvellous experience! The staff were all helpful and extremely friendly. The hotel restaurants and bar served excellent cuisine and spirits. Located right on the famed Chicago Loop, you are literally moments from shops and scenery, especially the Magnificent Mile that if you like shopping (Personally I don't but my wife loved it!) is a sensory overload. I was there for my friend's wedding/reception which was completely handled flawlessly by the Renaissance staff. Everything from the decorations to the menu selection at the reception was stellar. Side note: Best wedding cake I've ever tasted! But what won me over more than any amenity was the excellent customer service. From the moment you arrive, til your departure, the Renaissance hotel staff make you feel as you were a guest in their own homes and not a hotel. Very gratuitous and thoughtful of your every want and need. Disclaimer: This location is a tad pricey, and if you valet park it's $55 daily. However, the convenience of having your vehicle secured in an onsite underground location, opposed to having to self-park at a distant less secure garage; made the fee more bearable. But this is a high rent district of the city so it is expected to be a little steep in prices in order to make a profit. Sorry, but that's just business. Overall from 1 to 5 ( 1 being the lowest) I rate the Renaissance Hotel Downtown Chicago an enthusiastic 5! Excellent job you guys!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I spent 5 nights here for a conference. The rooms were reasonably sized and very quiet. I had a view of the L. The bed was really comfortable. Every single employee I had contact with was extremely pleasant, and the room was clean. There's a bar and coffee place inside, plus a Starbucks and a couple quick places to eat attached to the hotel. The location couldn't be better.

The downside was that the rooms are badly in need of updating. Not only was the décor out of date, but the carpet was quite literally threadbare in several locations and the desk lamp didn't work very well.

Also, the cost for internet was ridiculously high, although it was free in the lobby and conference areas at least.

I ordered room service twice. The menu's not that big but the food was tasty and everything was delivered hot and on time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dephal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Downtown / The Loop
JW Marriott Chicago
JW Marriott Chicago
#36 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,457 reviews
Near North Side
The Westin Chicago River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Address: 1 W Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-1631
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#22 Family Hotel in Chicago
#25 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#36 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#39 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 560
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merging the business of the Loop with the pleasure of State Street and Chicago’s Theater District, the newly renovated Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel invites discovery at every turn. Winner of a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, the Renaissance Chicago enthralls from the moment you enter the lobby – featuring a VIP Club Lounge, Artist Studio, Coffee Bar and Library. Unwind and revitalize in one of the 520 guestrooms and 40 suites featuring unique amenities with marble accents complimented by skyline views of the city's architecture. Wind down inside this luxury hotel in Chicago’s Rejuvenation Center boasting a refreshing indoor pool and indulgent spa treatments. Experience this downtown Chicago hotel’s distinctive and hip scene with local flair, delectable dishes and creative cocktails. This premier Chicago theater hotel is steps away from upscale shopping, fine dining, the theater district, and famed Millennium Park. Your own Windy City experience awaits at this downtown Chicago boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Chicago
Chicago Renaissance
Renaissance Chicago Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing