We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location's the key”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Ranked #59 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Location, location, location.....this hotel has it. On the river in downtown Chicago. Our room had a fabulous view of the river and the downtown. Very clean and comfy. Large room with great bed and linens.
Nice lobby bar and good drinks and snacks.
The concierges were the best, we really appreciate the help of Tom and Susie. They were great!
Very close to the Blue Line exit and you can easily ride from the airport. No need to rent a car, just take the public transportation or walk.

Room Tip: Ask for room above fifth floor and with river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njtonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,753)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,111 - 1,117 of 1,753 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

Love the location of this hotel, right in front of the river, the area is beautiful and clean. Mag mile, great restaurants, shops, parks, theatre all a few minutes walking. Stayed April 10-14. Our first room on the club level was very spacious but located towards the back of the hotel. I asked to be moved to a river front room if available for the rest of our stay (3 more nights), which was granted, also on club level, but the room was smaller and it was only partial river view. In any case, we enjoyed our stay here. Our room reservartion included buffet breakfast in the hotel restaurant every morning but we decided to have breakfast at the club lounge most mornings as it was very convenient, the food offerings were actually very good, lots of fresh fruit, pastries, chesses, eggs, bacon etc. and good coffee. We also visited the club lounge for a pre dinner drink one evening and both my husband and I were surprised to be charged $9 for a glass of wine. As platinum rewards member with the Marriott, we have been accustomed to and enjoyed the benefits and hospitality of the club level world wide therefore the wine charge was a shock. Our room was always clean and bed was very comfy, typical Marriott beddings. We tried the breakfast buffet twice as the club lounge was closed on weekends and found the food just same as the club lounge. I would however like to acknowledge some of the staff in this hotel as they were very friendly and provided great service. l

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Boxerlola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this location this past weekend (Fri. - Sun.) and it was an absolutely marvellous experience! The staff were all helpful and extremely friendly. The hotel restaurants and bar served excellent cuisine and spirits. Located right on the famed Chicago Loop, you are literally moments from shops and scenery, especially the Magnificent Mile that if you like shopping (Personally I don't but my wife loved it!) is a sensory overload. I was there for my friend's wedding/reception which was completely handled flawlessly by the Renaissance staff. Everything from the decorations to the menu selection at the reception was stellar. Side note: Best wedding cake I've ever tasted! But what won me over more than any amenity was the excellent customer service. From the moment you arrive, til your departure, the Renaissance hotel staff make you feel as you were a guest in their own homes and not a hotel. Very gratuitous and thoughtful of your every want and need. Disclaimer: This location is a tad pricey, and if you valet park it's $55 daily. However, the convenience of having your vehicle secured in an onsite underground location, opposed to having to self-park at a distant less secure garage; made the fee more bearable. But this is a high rent district of the city so it is expected to be a little steep in prices in order to make a profit. Sorry, but that's just business. Overall from 1 to 5 ( 1 being the lowest) I rate the Renaissance Hotel Downtown Chicago an enthusiastic 5! Excellent job you guys!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I spent 5 nights here for a conference. The rooms were reasonably sized and very quiet. I had a view of the L. The bed was really comfortable. Every single employee I had contact with was extremely pleasant, and the room was clean. There's a bar and coffee place inside, plus a Starbucks and a couple quick places to eat attached to the hotel. The location couldn't be better.

The downside was that the rooms are badly in need of updating. Not only was the décor out of date, but the carpet was quite literally threadbare in several locations and the desk lamp didn't work very well.

Also, the cost for internet was ridiculously high, although it was free in the lobby and conference areas at least.

I ordered room service twice. The menu's not that big but the food was tasty and everything was delivered hot and on time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dephal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The rooms were spacious and we had a fabulous river view that was worth the splurge. The beds were not as comfortable as what I usually expect from Marriott. I think they are in need of an upgrade but other than that the rooms were nice. The carpets were very clean and I always appreciate that. I hate when you stay at a nice hotel and your socks are black from walking on the carpet. The staff were all great. We had a reservation issue that they correctly quickly. Location is great. The magnificent mile is within site of the hotel and is only about a 6 minute walk.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a river veiw!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber2365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is our first visit to the Renaisance.We have stayed at many of the best hotels in Chicago..This hotel was a very pleasant surprise..Fron the beginning to the end we were very pleased w the service and the room..We asked for an free upgrade overlooking the Chicago River and it was granted quickly..[On a Friday night!}There were so many walkable delights[Heaven on Seven,Berghoffs,Bank of America Theater,]with in hotel delights as Starbucks and Wow Bao..Extended checkout and so many extras given w/o any problems..We will go back..The view was superb..Easy cab tio Greektown...And a special rate...

Room Tip: ask questions..negotiate..enjoy..19th floor pleasant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hemingwayscantina45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I'd stayed here a few years ago and had a good experience, so I booked the hotel again during a weekend trip to Chicago.

My primary reaction to the hotel is that it is in need of a fairly substantial makeover/renovation. In the guest room, the carpet was worn. The decor of the guest room, and particularly the bathroom, felt dated. Wallpaper was starting to peel in spots. The guest room hallways were a mess: in addition to dated decor (popcorn ceilings, old light fixtures, etc.), the wallpaper was scuffed, the floor boards were scuffed and starting to peel off in places, and the signage looked old. The carpet in the lobby of the hotel is showing signs of wear and tear; I also found the lobby decor to be in need of a freshening (the last renovation added some modern elements, it seems, but much of the core feels old--old marble, a long and imposing front desk, etc.).

Service was average. The hotel checked us in early, which was appreciated, but the room did not meet my expressed Marriott preferences (high floor, etc.). Service from the bellman was mediocre, especially when it came time to store luggage on the morning of our departure--at that time, the bell desk was understaffed and the bellman gave the clear impression he was overworked. When we asked for the towels in our room to be replaced one evening, we returned from dinner to find that the staff had dropped new towels on the bed but failed to remove the dirty towels from the floor of the bathroom. Turndown service (which other hotels in Chicago that cost about the same offer) was not offered.

The bed was comfortable, but the linens were worn and, on the second night of our stay, we discovered several pieces of broken up detergent in the sheets, sort of like little rocks. Unpleasant.

The hotel's location is excellent--right by the El, on the river, close to lots of shopping and restaurants, etc., so that is a plus. However, until a fairly major renovation is done on the property and staff are refreshed on service standards, I'll look elsewhere (and would advise other similalrly).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brmusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
JW Marriott Chicago
JW Marriott Chicago
#46 of 192 in Chicago
1,522 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 192 in Chicago
2,234 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#3 of 192 in Chicago
2,549 reviews
Near North Side
The Westin Chicago River North
Downtown / The Loop
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Address: 1 W Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-1631
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#20 Family Hotel in Chicago
#25 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#35 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#39 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $139 - $431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 560
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merging the business of the Loop with the pleasure of State Street and Chicago’s Theater District, the newly renovated Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel invites discovery at every turn. Winner of a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, the Renaissance Chicago enthralls from the moment you enter the lobby – featuring a VIP Club Lounge, Artist Studio, Coffee Bar and Library. Unwind and revitalize in one of the 520 guestrooms and 40 suites featuring unique amenities with marble accents complimented by skyline views of the city's architecture. Wind down inside this luxury hotel in Chicago’s Rejuvenation Center boasting a refreshing indoor pool and indulgent spa treatments. Experience this downtown Chicago hotel’s distinctive and hip scene with local flair, delectable dishes and creative cocktails. This premier Chicago theater hotel is steps away from upscale shopping, fine dining, the theater district, and famed Millennium Park. Your own Windy City experience awaits at this downtown Chicago boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Chicago
Chicago Renaissance
Renaissance Chicago Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing