We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Ranked #56 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This hotel is in a great location and I have always had a nice experience (have stayed there multiple times over many years). The staff is pleasant and accomadating. Will return again in the near future. Also, as a Platinum member, I have almost always received an upgrade.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 60,089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,721)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,120 - 1,126 of 1,721 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013

Overall, very good experience during my recent (Jan 2013) stay at the Renaissance Hotel, Chicago. Very nice property to host for a meeting size of approximately 200. Walking distance to many restaurants, shopping and the Chicago Theater. Room service is timely and the food is above average. The hotel bar can become very crowded when there are large meetings be held at the Renaissance, however, the lobby offers several seating "nooks" throughout.

Also, I like that the hotel entrance does allow for off-street lanes for taxis and such - meaning, that you don't feel rushed to enter/exit the vehicle in difficult traffic.

Overall, I would recommend for a business or personal stay.

Room Tip: Don't forget to ask for a room overlooking the river for a view. Or ask for a higher floor, fur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VABeerLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed at the Renaissance for two nights in December (25-27) and it was very nice. Check in was quick and the hotel is very centrally located on State street. I had a room close to the State and Lake side so I could hear the el occasionally but that didnt bother me because I used to live downtown not far from the train so im used to it but if noise bothers you I would ask for a room away from the train.

The room had a very comfortable bed desk, flat screen tv, and two chairs. The bathroom was a nice size. The floor looked like it was stained with something faintly but not a big issue. My toliet did back up but they sent someone to fix it right away. Water pressure was good for hot showers.

There is a coffee shop in the building and a Wow Bao which is really good. Potbelly's is across the street as well as Dunkin Donuts, and Starbucks.

I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsNikkiT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have stayed there TWICE now, 1 year apart.
Clean, Central, very comfortable and excellent Marriott hospitality that you look forward to after your arrival.
Around the corner (3mins walk) is MACYS, SEARS, OLD NAVY to name but a few.
The Central shopping area is walkable (about 15mins) but the shops can be pricey..
TIP: For FAB food (and drinks), we highly recommend The 'D4 Pub and Cafe' 345 E. OHIO STREET (Tel: 312-624-8385)..Go Hungary !!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dauphin_army
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I came to Chicago to propose to my girlfriend and booked a romance package here at the renaissance. The staff was incredibly helpful and made sure we had a great room overlooking the river. The view was simply stunning and the executive suite was very large, with 2 bathrooms.

The hotel itself is modernly decorated and quite funky in the lobby and meeting spaces. The room we stayed in was a little more conservatively decorated, but very well down.

We stayed for 2 nights and simply loved the experience. The location is perfect for walking to most sites in the area and michigan ave is only a few minutes away. The view outside is to the "corn cob" condo buildings and it was really neat to see them that close!

We did have breakfast in the restaurant as part of the package and it was very nice - although I'm not sure we'd pay $22 a person if it wasn't included. Monday morning we had breakfast in the lounge on the 26th floor and that was nice as well, the coffee was rather weak, but that's OK.

We used the fitness room and all the machines were in very good condition and everything was very clean! The pool and spa looked very nice, but we didn't use them.

We will definitely stay her again and recommend you give it a shot! Check out marriott frequently to see if they do the package in the executive suite - well worth it!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMR_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Convenient location by the river. Walking distance most shops and restaurants. Breakfast room with great views and good service. One downside to notice: running music in the corridor all night is not a good idea.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
Thank Mathias S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Here on business for meetings. Good: Great location and staff. The bad: Few things not working properly in the room. Most importantly, ask for a room AWAY from the train. Very loud if you are on 9th floor with the train right outside your window...running every couple minutes.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agj789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Westin Chicago River North
Downtown / The Loop
JW Marriott Chicago
JW Marriott Chicago
#42 of 192 in Chicago
1,502 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 192 in Chicago
2,166 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#3 of 192 in Chicago
2,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Address: 1 W Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-1631
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#22 Family Hotel in Chicago
#25 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#33 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#39 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $182 - $619 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 560
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merging the business of the Loop with the pleasure of State Street and Chicago’s Theater District, the newly renovated Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel invites discovery at every turn. Winner of a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, the Renaissance Chicago enthralls from the moment you enter the lobby – featuring a VIP Club Lounge, Artist Studio, Coffee Bar and Library. Unwind and revitalize in one of the 520 guestrooms and 40 suites featuring unique amenities with marble accents complimented by skyline views of the city's architecture. Wind down inside this luxury hotel in Chicago’s Rejuvenation Center boasting a refreshing indoor pool and indulgent spa treatments. Experience this downtown Chicago hotel’s distinctive and hip scene with local flair, delectable dishes and creative cocktails. This premier Chicago theater hotel is steps away from upscale shopping, fine dining, the theater district, and famed Millennium Park. Your own Windy City experience awaits at this downtown Chicago boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Chicago
Chicago Renaissance
Renaissance Chicago Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing