We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chicago Thanksgiving”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Ranked #59 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We were blown away by the courteous and friendly staff. The hotel is right at the heart of it in - downtown Chicago. Ask for a riverview corner room - wonderful view, and spacious too. The restaurant and bar had great selections - so relaxing and fun. The ambiance as soon as you step into the hotel is refreshing and inviting. Staff were so helpful with tips on where to eat - what to do, and always with a smile.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner - river view room - spacious and you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j4shadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,766)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,199 - 1,205 of 1,767 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

I recently attended a conference held at this Hotel. It is a typical downtown large city conference hotel. Our room was large and well equipped. That is about where the good comments end. Our room was in the back of the Hotel overlooking the elevated train which woke me up every time it went by the Hotel. The hallways felt like they were unheated. The 2 floors of meeting and convention space are poorly laid out and confusing. I found it difficult to locate the specific room in which my meetings were being held and equally difficult to find my way back to the elevators or exits. The food was simply awful. One day for lunch they served something completely unidentifiable which later was said to be potato gnocchi. No one in the room ate it - all the plates were returned to the kitchen full and the Hotel even refunded the charges for that lunch.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the front of the Hotel. The elevated train runs behind the hotel and it is very no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erich802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This was an hotel of last resort on a business trip as everywhere else was full. At USD300 per night, I reckon I can expect the world, so cue the disappointments: malfunctioning safe, which maintenance wouldn't repair, intermittent wifi, a TV that required maintenance and the rumble of the elevated railway every 2-3 minutes. The "navigator" failed completely to understand my requirements to shop for a gift for my wife.
There were good points, but the price dictates all the negatives.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wirralians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Was my first time to Chicago and I could not have been happier with the location of this hotel. I walked the 5 minute walk to Millenium Park and stumbled upon the "Bean". What an awesome experience! You can walk all they way around the park, down by the waterfront, and back in about 45 minutes, or take a really scenic jog. I also enjoyed walking literally accross the street to the House of Blues and seeing Blue October! Shopping and restaurants around the hotel are also plentiful!

The hotel was a typical older Renaissance. The rooms were nice, beds were comfortable, but the decor in and around the hotel is somewhat mid 90s? It's ok, but if you're looking for new and fashionable, this might not be your cup of tea.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItsAllAGame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This hotel is in a fantastic location just a the edge of the Loop and River North. The staff are very friendly and helpful. They even have humidifiers that you can get on request. I needed a lint roller a bit later; they brought it in a flash. The gym is pretty good.

My problem is that the hotel just does not feel like a Category 7 rewards points hotel. They tried to up sell me on a Club Room. However, the Club is closed on the weekend. Honestly, I have stayed in dozens of hotels all around the world. Never have I heard of the club closing on the weekend.

Next, the reason that needed the lint roller was that the blanket covered my paints in beige lint when I used it to take a nap. The couch was very comfortable, as is the fantastic bed.

The lighting is a bit poor. You need to go to each light to turn it on and off. Most hotels at this price point now have the bedside controls. Moreover, the room is not well lit enough for extended reading of printed materials. Also, a couple of the lampshades have weird stains on them.

The desk only has one outlet for charging devices. I can not remember the last time that I traveled with less than three things that needed to be charged. This meant using the outlet beside the bed and in the bathroom. I needed to use the bathroom because one of the plugs in the outlet beside the bed was faulty.

Tea drinkers may struggle a bit. The in-room system makes all of the hot water taste like coffee. Even after three flushes of the system with plain water, the coffee flavored water was still too string to use it. They really need to replace this with a Keurig, or something similar, to avoid this issue.

My recommendation is that you should stay here if you get a good deal. However, don't waste your Rewards on this hotel. Also, the convenient location could trump all of the things that I experienced. Finally, I am here on a weekend which impacts the services and features that are important.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank asrightasrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for one night to celebrate my husband's birthday. We had a corner suite on the 18th floor, and the views of the city over the river were simply spectacular. The room was spacious and had all the comforts of home. It was clean, and the bathroom was large enough for both of us to get ready at the same time. We had access to the Club level, so we enjoyed happy hour appetizers and beverages, late night desserts, and a full breakfast in the morning.

The location of the hotel is perfect. It's along the Chicago river in the middle of the theatre district and close to the subway. The Metra stations are within walking distance, as are many of the area attractions. You certainly don't need a car to get around - you can walk everywhere or take a cab if it's too cold or your heels are too high ;).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLS101511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a very nice business option in downtown Chicago. The staff was excedingly helpful and the property was updated very well.

We were upgraded to a suite overlooking the river and it was beautiful.

The location made it possible to walk to Miracle Mile shopping and restaurants.

Room Tip: Book a room overlooking the river and Miracle Mile
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank demetgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
JW Marriott Chicago
JW Marriott Chicago
#45 of 192 in Chicago
1,530 reviews
Near North Side
The Westin Chicago River North
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#28 of 192 in Chicago
4,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#6 of 192 in Chicago
2,256 reviews
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Address: 1 W Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-1631
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#20 Family Hotel in Chicago
#25 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#35 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#39 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $147 - $470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 560
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merging the business of the Loop with the pleasure of State Street and Chicago’s Theater District, the newly renovated Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel invites discovery at every turn. Winner of a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, the Renaissance Chicago enthralls from the moment you enter the lobby – featuring a VIP Club Lounge, Artist Studio, Coffee Bar and Library. Unwind and revitalize in one of the 520 guestrooms and 40 suites featuring unique amenities with marble accents complimented by skyline views of the city's architecture. Wind down inside this luxury hotel in Chicago’s Rejuvenation Center boasting a refreshing indoor pool and indulgent spa treatments. Experience this downtown Chicago hotel’s distinctive and hip scene with local flair, delectable dishes and creative cocktails. This premier Chicago theater hotel is steps away from upscale shopping, fine dining, the theater district, and famed Millennium Park. Your own Windy City experience awaits at this downtown Chicago boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Chicago
Chicago Renaissance
Renaissance Chicago Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing