We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Understated Luxury in Downtown Chicago”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Ranked #56 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Understated Luxury in Downtown Chicago”
Reviewed February 5, 2008

The Renaissance is probably one of the nicest hotels in downtown Chicago. I have enjoyed their service twice now, and each time has been an excellent experience.

The hotel is probably five or six blocks from Magnificent Mile and a short hike to Millenium Park. The hotel has a constant stream of cabs to take you to more distant attractions and there is an El stop about a block from the hotel to get to and from the airport or out to other parts of the city.

Inside the hotel, the lobby is very nice. Service at the desk is as prompt as can be expected when there is a check-in or check-out rush. The concierge services were good when I used them in my previous stay.

The fitness facilities are quite large for a hotel (or at least many hotels I've stayed at) and all the equipment was relatively new and included free weights as well as cardio machines. It can get crowded as there are litterally hundreds of guests that could potentially be using it, but no worse than my normal gym back home.

Room service is prompt. The only issue I had was addressed quickly. They missed part of my order and the attendant must have had a cellphone on him to call down because it couldn't have taken more than 5 minutes for the rest to arrive.

The rooms, though, and specifically the beds, are what make the stay. The Renaissance beds are as comfortable as if not superior to the Westin's. The furnishings are in good order overall. The room sizes, however, vary slightly. Remember, this is a downtown room, so it may feel a little smaller than normal. My first stay had me in a smaller room. The second was in a corner room, which was definitely larger.

Given its location, service and quality of the rooms, it was worth the $200 I paid both the first and second times. You might be able to find a better rate booking further out, but closer in, $200 seems to be the price of entry (although it is not out of line with what you'll find elsewhere downtown).

Overall, I recommend this hotel completely.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Emil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    837
    583
    159
    48
    25
See reviews for
321
381
80
605
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sagamore Hills, Ohio
Level Contributor
94 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Renaissance Chicago in Nov. for 5 nights. The hotel was clean, had nice sized rooms, coffee makers, and the normal amenities that you would expect in an American hotel. We did not try the restaurant, but there was a Starbucks in the lobby that was very convenient. If you walk out the back door of the hotel you are right on a major shopping street with Macy’s, and a number of others stores—it was a nice surprise as I was more focused on Michigan Ave. and did not even realize this when I booked the hotel. A short walk away is a nice little bakery and sandwich shop called Corner Bakery, my friends and I enjoyed eating there a couple of times. The best part about Chicago though is Michigan Ave. The hotel is at the base of this long wonderful street, if you make it to the other end and can’t make it back—call for a taxi, they are every where!
Would I stay at this hotel again? Yes. It was very nice, the staff was helpful and they were very courteous and efficient.

  • Liked — coffee maker, iron and ironing board
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Veda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2008

I have stayed at this hotel about five or six times. It keeps getting better. I recently stayed the weekend before Jan 1. The hotel was crowded, but everything was perfect and service was as gracious as ever.

I was upgraded to one of the larger club rooms. It was wonderful. The room was huge with a large bay window with a fantastic view of the river and the new Trump Tower under construction. The bathroom had a separate large soaking tub and shower. The bed was luxurious and very comfortable.

Service was excellent. The hotel offers a complimentary shoe shine service which is especially great in the winter. I called to have my shoes polished over night and they were returned gleaming in 10 or 15 minutes.

The location is excellent. You're about a block or two from all of the wonderful shopping on Michigan Ave and just around the corner from the flagship Macy's on State Street.

The health club, pool, and spa are very nice. They've were renovated last year. The equipment is excellent and they actually have a good selection of free weights in addition to the usual machines.

I ordered room service for breakfast and everything was delicious and served very promptly.

The high-speed internet service was fast and dependable. It was a little pricey, but no different that other hotels I've stayed at.

Chicago does have other and even more upscale choices such as The Peninsula, Four Seasons, Ritz-Carlton with the Mandarin Oriental and Shangri-la on the way. A night at one of these hotels will easily be 2-3 times the rate at the Renaissance. They are beautiful and luxurious 5-star hotels, but it's hard to justify the extra cost when you can get affordable luxury at the Renaissance.

I can't think of anything negative about this hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mid_West_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2008

I live in the Northwest suburbs of Chicago and have stayed in many hotels in Chicago growing up. This hotel is by far one of the greatest hotels I have stayed in, anywhere. My dad is a Marriott rewards member, and therefore has points that have added up from his numerous business stays in Marriott hotels. This summer, my girlfriends and I booked this hotel during the 4th of July holiday. Not only did the front desk give us a river view room, but they were very polite and helpful. I am 21 years old, so sometimes when a bunch of college kids check into fancy hotels, such as this one, we are treated like less important customers. But not here. The entire staff has been nothing but friendly the three times I have stayed in this particular hotel. The have fresh bathrobes waiting in the bathrooms. The rooms are very spacious. The beds have down comforters and you can choose your pillow type!

The concierge not only called cabs for us to travel about the city, but also put us on the guest list at some of Chicago's hottest night clubs. The fruit water they had in the lobby and by the pool was amazing. A ful service spa, spacious workout center, jacuzzi and pool with skylights looking into the city are only some of the perks. The lobby bar/lounge is sophisticated, and has wonderful martinis.

From now on, I refuse to stay anywhere but this hotel. I have yet to speak to anyone who has stayed there, and thought anything but the best.

  • Liked — The rooms were top of the line from the bathrooms to the pillows!
  • Disliked — I have nothing bad to say about this hotel.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bambinaxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2008

this is really a great place to stay. we have stayed here many different times and have always enjoyed our experience here. The staff is great. Most times you have a view of a river even if you're not in a river view room. you a near state street shopping, near the "el" train, and there are many shops in the basement area that adjoins to hotel...nail salon, starbucks, kinko's just name a few.
A highly recommend......

  • Liked — the work out room...you can run on the treadmill with a city view and the spa area
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank murnatelane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2008

The hotel was lovely and all of the staff that I came in contact with were nice, polite and helpful.The room was clean, comfortable and spacious.The bathroom was very nice and the bed was wonderful.Paid $119 with a Travel zoo deal and think it was a great value.I would stay again without hesitation.

  • Liked — Well located and attractive.Not too big.
  • Disliked — I thought that the hallways on the room floors(at least my floor)were kinda gaudy, at least compared to the rest of the hotel.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheboygangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2007

I and my 3 grandsons, ages 13, 15 & 17, spent 2 nights at the Renaissance Chicago. It was their first time to Chicago, my first with kids. The staff, the location and everything was great. I have stayed here many times before so I had a pretty good idea what to expect. We plan on returning in 2008, and hope to be able to stay here again.

  • Liked — great loaction, very clean
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimJacksonville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Near North Side
The Westin Chicago River North
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#20 of 189 in Chicago
4,530 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
JW Marriott Chicago
JW Marriott Chicago
#36 of 189 in Chicago
1,419 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago/North Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Address: 1 W Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-1631
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#22 Family Hotel in Chicago
#25 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#35 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#39 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 560
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merging the business of the Loop with the pleasure of State Street and Chicago’s Theater District, the newly renovated Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel invites discovery at every turn. Winner of a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, the Renaissance Chicago enthralls from the moment you enter the lobby – featuring a VIP Club Lounge, Artist Studio, Coffee Bar and Library. Unwind and revitalize in one of the 520 guestrooms and 40 suites featuring unique amenities with marble accents complimented by skyline views of the city's architecture. Wind down inside this luxury hotel in Chicago’s Rejuvenation Center boasting a refreshing indoor pool and indulgent spa treatments. Experience this downtown Chicago hotel’s distinctive and hip scene with local flair, delectable dishes and creative cocktails. This premier Chicago theater hotel is steps away from upscale shopping, fine dining, the theater district, and famed Millennium Park. Your own Windy City experience awaits at this downtown Chicago boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Chicago
Chicago Renaissance
Renaissance Chicago Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing