We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Chicago Option”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Ranked #58 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2011

I have stayed at this property a few times and each visit has brought its challenges and benefits, last time I stayed here my room would not lock. Time before that, my wife had a allergic reation to a cleaning chemical... Why, I like the property is that, THE STAFF IS SO FRIENDLY. I know it is not NY or LA and that generally Chicago is the friendliest of the big cities, they have that mid-western reputation to live up to, but they are really nice here, even for the Mid-West. They always take good care of me and my guest and that is a plus. One expample is this: I travel and my wife comes along, she will use check-in first and after work, I will come back to the hotel. Sometime (most of the time) the hotel will give my wife or guest trouble about checking in to their or my room early to place bags or freshen up while they wait on me. This hotel will call me and verify, but the thing is they will do that, they will take the extra step without making my guest or wife feel like a criminal. Beyond the staff, which is hands down the best reason for staying here is the property, the location is wonderful. You are on the river, close to the lake, adjacent to the loop and a block or two away from the "Mile", Pier, and all the transportation. You are steps from the L, Metro and other lines and some of the best shopping and restaurants are a stones throw... but don't because there is a lot of glass in this hotel. There is a bar and restaurant on property, but they are week, so leave the hotel and you are on the tunnel route so if it is cold use the underground, just steps away. You are also seconds from many theatres and the library. The hotel is situated in a unique way that allows almost every room to have a view. Don't even sweat the river view, the views over the Chicago Theatre or Daly Plaza, may even be better and the inside corner King Bed rooms facing away from the river have a double window and are twice as large. As always be friendly at check-in and you will benefit for it. The conceirge lounge is very nice, it is two story (kind-of). At night don't bother, there nibble food was kind of week and the wine and beer selection was week as well, but the breakfast items were acceptable and they lounge is very roomy. Several quick service option are on property, including asian food and a breakfast place and there is a Kinkos/Fedex onsite a real plus for me. I like this property for the intangibles, it is not as fancy as I would expect in a Renaissance in a big city, I believe it is one of the properties that use to be a stoufer like the REN in Dallas. Here is my one complaint if Marriott is reading this, you do such a good job making REN different at the your resort locations (ie the Vinoy or Hollywood) but your downtown locations are aaaaaaaa. That said, this is a nice property and I have been able to get rates here on a Thursday through Sunday for less than $150.00 a night. I never travel for biz on a Monday though Wednesday, the prices are cheaper after Wednesday and your clients are always in a better mood. So take it from me, the REN Chicago is a Great Chicago Option!

Room Tip: Most Rooms have a View, opt for a nicer inside room over a river view, unless its Christmas.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerrythetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,705)
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,327 - 1,333 of 1,705 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2011

This is my favorite Chicago hotel. Every time I set foot in the Renaissance, I feel as though I am back home. The panoramic view of the river never ceases to amaze me. I have been known to just stare out the window at the Chicago skyline. The rooms exhibit a casual elegance that blends contemporary and classic decor. Additionally, the hotel management staff is very friendly and accommodating. Hopefully, we will have an opportunity to return in the near future.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Located steps from the corner of State and Wacker, this hotel is within a fifteen minute walk of Michigan Avenue, the Ogilvie Transportation Center (Metra trains), CTA stations, and several good restaurants. Request a river view room and you enjoy a panoramic view of the Chicago River and its own park-like green space which parallels Wacker below the hubbub of the city streets above. The energy along Wacker is wonderful and the river parkway below is a peaceful world onto itself. Great for a morning jog or evening stroll. And you are not buried in the largely tourist pedestrian traffic which prevails along Michigan.
I was born and raised in Chicago but moved away three decades ago. Every year or two I make a return visit, seeking the energy and breathtaking views I so fondly remember. This hotel delivers that experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wladovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

First problem was the charge of $15.00 per day for use of the internet, even for a Marriott rewards member. Second no free breakfast, even for rewards members. Third, the hotel is showing a little wear and tear in the public areas, the bath towels were not fluffy and limp. Plus side it was clean and quiet, although a colleague who stayed on the side of the hotel bordering the elevated rail reported noise issues. Staff was friendly. If you drive, plan on being charged $52.00 to park. Walk to a number of good places to eat. Hotel borders Chicago River walk. If you have a choice, look for other options in area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 206driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Took a weekend to Chicago with my grandaughter. This hotel is a little spendy, but is lovely and you can't beat the location. The beds and sheets are luxurious, room service is excellent thought expensive. Shampoo, conditioner, lotion and soaps are all Aveda. There is an Aveda spa onsite that was very nice. You have to go thorugh the spa to get to the pool. The pool is small, but very nice in a 4th floor enclosed space. The hottub was out of order the whole time we were there, but you could still sit in the warm water. The coolest feature at this hotel was the steam room. It was large, warm and the steam was infused with a menthol scent that was delightful. We spend a lot of time in the steam room. Hotel is right on the Chicago River. There is a subway across the river in the Marina Towers, a Johnny Rockets on the corner, a great little frozen yogurt shop close by as well as many other restaurants. The hotel is central to the EL, the Metra trains and buses. We took public transportation everywhere. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcbarkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Location was excellent. Walking distance to anything you might want. Room exellent Aveda amenities.My friend had a great massage at the spa.
Great place to stay for Rock and Roll ! Novo Bar was great food and drink and service. Staff at desk was excellent. Conciergue??? But the ladies at the front desk stepped up and made it all happen for us.
Def. stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmerun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Staff was extremely friendly, room was clean and had a beautiful river view!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLBroyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Westin Chicago River North
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
JW Marriott Chicago
JW Marriott Chicago
#40 of 191 in Chicago
1,485 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#23 of 191 in Chicago
4,775 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 191 in Chicago
2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Address: 1 W Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-1631
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#22 Family Hotel in Chicago
#25 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#34 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#39 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $218 - $762 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 560
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merging the business of the Loop with the pleasure of State Street and Chicago’s Theater District, the newly renovated Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel invites discovery at every turn. Winner of a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, the Renaissance Chicago enthralls from the moment you enter the lobby – featuring a VIP Club Lounge, Artist Studio, Coffee Bar and Library. Unwind and revitalize in one of the 520 guestrooms and 40 suites featuring unique amenities with marble accents complimented by skyline views of the city's architecture. Wind down inside this luxury hotel in Chicago’s Rejuvenation Center boasting a refreshing indoor pool and indulgent spa treatments. Experience this downtown Chicago hotel’s distinctive and hip scene with local flair, delectable dishes and creative cocktails. This premier Chicago theater hotel is steps away from upscale shopping, fine dining, the theater district, and famed Millennium Park. Your own Windy City experience awaits at this downtown Chicago boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Chicago
Chicago Renaissance
Renaissance Chicago Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing