We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great room, Great location, Poor service”
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Raffaello Hotel
Ranked #96 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“Great room, Great location, Poor service”
Reviewed August 3, 2007

My daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights at the end of July. Overall, the room was great and the location was better, but the service was indifferent at best. Towels were missing from our room one day and coffee the next. Phone calls to the front desk did correct these problems. The front desk personnel were pleasant, but not terribly helpful. We really liked the evening doormen. However, the morning we checked out, no one offered to help us load our luggage into our car. I was rather surprised. Also, the lack of a restaurant is unfortunate.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank evvmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    852
    757
    274
    127
    91
See reviews for
515
709
106
312
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
north carolina
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2007

I just wanted to take a moment to let you know how much your doorman, Robert, helped us out. My friends and I visited Chicago last weekend to celebrate a birthday. As soon as we checked into your hotel, Robert was at our service. It was our first visit to the city and he was more than happy to assist us with directions and recommendations all weekend. One member of our party was disabled and Robert went above and beyond to make sure we had accessible transportation whenever we needed it. He is an excellent member of the service industry and made our trip enjoyable and memorable.

Thank you

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank sampsongraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2007

We just returned from a weekend at the Raffaello Hotel in Chicago. I booked through Hotwire over a month in advance, and got a really good deal (under 150/night) at the Raffaello. After having read some of the reviews here, though, I was a bit nervous about staying at this hotel. We arrived around 11 am, figuring we could at least check our bags. Check in is at 4 pm, and we were initially told to return then - but the concierge told us we could come back at 2 and a room would probably be ready. This was fine - we did some sightseeing and then returned. The room was not yet ready; however the bellman had already brought out our bags and so they had to be rechecked. No problem so far. We came back at 4 and check in itself went smoothly - however they had lost our bags. After some frantic searching in different employees' offices, they were finally located. It's this kind of disinterested service ethos that really brings the Raffaello down - it's the level of service one would expect from a college town Days Inn. The employees at the Raffaello are affable enough, but they really don't want to concern themselves with any problems or questions guests may have - they seem to universally want guests to just go away and leave them alone. Lousy service aside, the room itself was as pictured - quite lovely actually. Bed was great - tv was nice - all were up to snuff. Location can't be beat for the price - right off Michigan Ave. behind the Hancock building. I would probably still stay here again - I just wouldn't check my bags with them. If they find a way to work out the service kinks this could be quite a nice hotel. FYI - they charge 40 bucks a day for valet parking - and all they do is drive your car to the deck across the street. You can self park there for $23 for 24 hours.

  • Liked — Room, price and location
  • Disliked — Lousy disinterested service
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Pilar78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, Lancashire
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2007

My family and I stopped at the Raffaello for two nights in mid July. Overall the rooms costs approx. 100 pounds per night. for a double. Considering the price of British hotels, we thought that the hotel was extremely good value for money.

I think that for the first time ever, I can say that the room was stayed in look almost exactly the same as the ones shown on the website. Normally this never happens. We all thought our rooms were fantastic. The decor was beautiful and luxurious ... and most of all spacious (we were in room 812 ... my brother was in an even bigger one). Maybe we were just lucky, I'm not sure. The decor and furniture was very modern and tasteful.

I thought the shower was fantastic, but at 5 7", I only just fit underneath it. My boyfriend struggled, and we were unaware that it was adjustable (no instructions).

The location is great, just a block away from the John Hancock building and the Magnificent Mile (shoppers beware - you will spend a fortune). Plus only a couple of blocks from the lake.

We didn't really have any problems with the staff, but then we didn't have much cause to use them. However, with only a small check-in desk and lobby, I imagine that it could get crowded and busy at times. They did try and charge us drinks from the minibar which we hadn't drunk, but it was cleared up quickly.

Breakfast was a bit of a disappointment. I asked at the desk the night we checked in where they could recommend to go, and they pointed to the place across the street under the Hilton. It was only the desk morning after making plans to eat there that we discovered they offered a continental breakfast buffet. I thought that it was slightly odd that the staff didn't mention it. We breakfasted at the hotel the day after - it was ok but not worth $10.

Other than this, our stay was very pleasant indeed. I would stop here again and also recommend friends to stop here too.

  • Liked — Beautiful rooms
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginger_Rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2007

We did not expect much from the hotel since we paid $200 for the night in downtown Chicago. That did not include the parking, which was $40 per day, with in and out priveleges. It was listed as a 4 star hotel on Hotwire, but the other 4 star hotels in the area were $300/night and up. We decided to take a chance and save the $100 bucks for a nice dinner at Hugo's. Overall, we were pleasantly surprised, but there were a couple negative surprises as well.

The hotel is right behind the John Hancock building. During check in we were getting nervous because two different people came down to complain about problems with their room. Both got a different room. We had no problems with our room. The room and bath were very clean, and everything worked. We were missing towels, which were delivered later.

The room decor was simple and modern with neutral colors. The beds were very comfortable with down comforters and lots of pillows. There was no view to speak of, but we were only on the 5th floor. There was a large flat screen TV and a DVD player. Bring your own DVDs because on demand movies are $15. There is not much else to watch, since there are only 8 TV channels.

Call for your car at least 15 minutes before you need it, and make sure the front desk gets the number right. We ended up getting the wrong car, and had to wait another 15 minutes. The doorman was really nice, and went out of his way to help us.

House keeping came knocking at 8:00 in the morning, and returned several times afterwards. There was no do not disturb sign in the room. The front desk had to send one up.

For the money, for the location, and for the night, it was a great place to stay. You definitely need to take lack of hotel ammenities into consideration, especially for a longer stay.

  • Liked — Price, location, no smoking, comfortable beds
  • Disliked — Parking cost, no breakdfast, no ammenities
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank letsroam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#72 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#102 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffaello Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffaello Hotel

Property: Raffaello Hotel
Address: 201 E Delaware Pl, Chicago, IL 60611-1713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#60 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#69 Family Hotel in Chicago
#70 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Raffaello Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago’s only completely non-smoking 4-star boutique luxury hotel has the best location of any 4-star hotel, just steps away from Michigan Avenue in the heart of the Gold Coast. The famed Magnificent Mile, is just steps from Raffaello Hotel’s front door, as is shopping, theater, nightlife, restaurants, clubs, Navy Pier, Hancock Observatory, museums, zoos, and beaches. Amenities include breakfast room service, massage treatments, manicure and pedicure by Windy City Massage, concierge services, 24-hour business center, PC computer kiosks, 24-hour fitness center, valet parking, valet laundry, mini-bars, microwaves, rain forest showerheads, flat screen LCD TV’s, DVD players, in room safes, luxurious bathrobes, all cotton terry bath towels, 350 thread count sheets overlaying goose down duvets. 18th floor meetings and convention center. Every guest room is non-smoking as are the public areas validating our claim to being Chicago’s only completely non-smoking luxury boutique 4 star hotel, just off Michigan Avenue, the Magnificent Mile. Our newest addition, Drumbar, sits atop the 18th floor. Drumbar is a multi seasonal destination with a speakeasy style inside lounge and outdoor garden terrace. Designed as a drinking establishment to deliver warmth, style, and an energetic spirit of old meets new. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Raffaello Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffaello Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing