We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Raffaello Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Talbott Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$679
$589
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$540
$519
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$490
$428
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$406
$373
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$1,049
$975
The Peninsula
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$289
$254
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$399
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$618
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kimpton Hotel Allegro(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$521
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$594
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,248)
Filter reviews
2,248 results
Traveler rating
897
806
301
143
101
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
897
806
301
143
101
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdonut shopdrum bargrand suitedonutsgreat locationthe john hancock buildingthe magnificent milerooftop barwater tower placemichigan avenuetop floorsmall hotelroom serviceself parkspacious roombusiness centerthe gold coast
Filter
Updating list...
1,357 - 1,362 of 2,248 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had a suite for 6 days and it was a really comfortable and pleasant stay. The bathrooms had the best shower in hotel that I've experienced in a long time. The staff is really helpful and customer-focused. The bed was terrific and we would definitely stay again. The only real issue was that housekeeping staff had to be constantly reminded to stock the coffee and condiments everyday. They didn't make the connection that a room with a coffee maker might actually benefit by having coffee!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Celeste L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharronjoye, Guest Relations Manager at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review. We are glad you liked our guestrooms and appreciated the warmth and attention of our staff. Your dissatisfaction with the delay in your coffee replenishment, however, is displeasing and your practical comments will be put to good use. We value your feedback and welcome the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was our first time to stay at the Raffaello and we will definitely return. It is the perfect location for shopping, entertainment and dining on the Magnificent Mile and Rush Street - only steps away from Water Tower Place and endless shopping for blocks. There are numerous hotels to choose from in Chicago, but we have always liked the atmosphere of smaller boutique hotels that offer European charm. Recently updated, the Raffaello was everything we wanted. It offered updated decor while retaining amazing old world architectural details. This was a quick weekend getaway for our family and we booked two rooms. The staff was incredibly helpful and courteous throughout our stay including the front desk staff, door staff and housekeeping. The door staff opened the front door for us and ALWAYS asked us if we were enjoying our day. Alex and Carl were great. Felt like we were coming home each time we returned to the building. Because the previous night was sold out, our rooms were not quite ready when we arrived, but they checked our bags and called our cell when the rooms were available which was well before the 4 PM check-in time. Girls went shopping and boys went to the Museum of Science and Industry. It didn't affect our schedule at all. We used the self-park garage option which is only a 1/2 block from the hotel and reasonably priced at $34 a day which they simply charged to our room. We did receive a complimentary upgrade to a suite for one of our rooms and it was very nice to have the second room for our young son to stay in with the sofa bed. Every room has the convenience of a mini frig and microwave as well. The bathrooms were slightly small and our suite did not have a vanity area but it was perfect for a shorter stay. Our teenagers' double room did have a separate vanity area in the bathroom which was nice. For longer stays, I would just ask for a room with a vanity area. Loved the rainfall shower heads and robes in our room. Beds were very comfortable and after a very long day of shopping, we all crashed pretty easily. The elevators are small - hence that European feel and being on the 17th floor probably took a little longer but honestly, we didn't really notice any real inconvenience. The rooftop bar is amazing with options to be inside or outside! What a great place to hang out. Of course there are countless restaurants in the downtown area, but if you only want to walk a few steps, there are some great options as well. The hotel has a restaurant which I am sure is lovely, but we opted for Francesca's which is directly behind the hotel. This Italian restaurant was exceptional and very reasonably priced. They even offered to customize menu options to include ingredients of our choice. Other dining options within steps are Rosebud's, Cheesecake Factory and The Local. For breakfast the hotel offers a pastry and coffee shop with some unique pastry options. YUM! Overall, we give the Raffaelo an outstanding rating. It's great to experience a large city like Chicago but return to the intimate feel of a smaller hotel like the Raffaello.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSchmidts2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharronjoye, Guest Relations Manager at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for your perfect rating! We are glad you approved of our amenities, guestrooms and location and I find your kind words about the service you received from the Raffaello team extremely gratifying. We look forward to welcoming the entire family back home in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Outstanding location on North Side, comfortable room and attentive service from check-in time. Being an old hotel it is hard to imagine a feasible way to fix the roaring sound of the air conditioner -- indispensable in times of October cool time in Chicago.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank Roberto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharronjoye, Guest Relations Manager at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

We appreciate your gracious compliments on Raffaello's relaxing guestrooms, and helpful staff in this wonderful review, and our location in the Gold Coast is ideal for families here to enjoy Chicago and Lake Michigan. I am sorry to hear of the noise disturbance and will certainly ensure that issue is investigated and resolved. I hope you have the opportunity to visit us again, hopefully very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The hotel was within walking distance to most of the attractions. Shops and restaurants also close. It was clean and we were lucky to have an upgrade, the room was the biggest we have ever been in. The bed was really comfortable. It was next to the Hancock building which was good as if you got a bit lost you just looked for the building and you knew which direction to go in! Would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2812kerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharronjoye, Guest Relations Manager at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you for being our guest and giving us your positive feedback! Your compliments on our wonderful location and guestroom suites are sincerely appreciated. We anticipate your next visit to the Raffaello in Chicago's famed Gold Coast, hopefully very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were visiting my brother in Chicago and he lives within about 10 miles of the Raffaelo. He did a lot of scouting for us and one day went to have a drink at the Drumbar on the top floor. He asked some folks there if they liked their rooms and they said they did. So he recommended the hotel to us. We were glad he did.

We stayed four days (Tues-Sat) and had booked a queen room and were upgraded to suite upon arrival. That was a very nice surprise and we truly loved having the extra room. It meant that I could get up before my bride in the morning and work on my photos or leave for a walk without waking her.

Bed was very comfortable, bathroom nicely appointed. We were on the fifth floor which made for shorter elevator rides. We had read some critiques complaining about the small elevators but having stayed extensively in European hotels, these were good size by comparison. Just be patient as you may have to wait for a few to come and go to get your luggage up or down.

Housekeeping was excellent. Room was clean. We do wish they would clean a little earlier as we went out for an entire day and came back around 3:30 and the room still had not been cleaned. I hate sitting in a room (thankfully it was a suite) while the room is clean.

We would stay at the Rafaello again. It is exceptionally well located next to the Hancock Building and only a block from the Water Tower Center which has super shopping and a great food court for breakfast.

One small criticism is that they need to get to free WiFi but I get that they don't. It would have been nice if the hotel directory had mentioned that there is free WiFi in the lobby. Didn't realize it until the last day. One other thing that didn't work for us. We decided to try the Drumbar and while it is beautiful and has wonderful view, the music was so loud we could barely hear ourselves think. But that's probably because we went up late. Should have gone earlier when the "older" crowd was there. How does anyone have a conversation in that room.

Room Tip: Beg for a suite. Better chance of getting one if you stay during the week.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DrKoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharronjoye, Guest Relations Manager at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you for your comprehensive review about the Raffaello! We are delighted you were pleased with our excellent location, comfortable guestrooms, and welcoming staff. I am so glad you had the opportunity to visit Drumbar, our rooftop lounge and your comments will be used constructively to improve the future guest experience. We would love to have you and your wife stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews