We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Raffaello Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Raffaello Hotel
Ranked #98 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Brookline, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We had a suite for 6 days and it was a really comfortable and pleasant stay. The bathrooms had the best shower in hotel that I've experienced in a long time. The staff is really helpful and customer-focused. The bed was terrific and we would definitely stay again. The only real issue was that housekeeping staff had to be constantly reminded to stock the coffee and condiments everyday. They didn't make the connection that a room with a coffee maker might actually benefit by having coffee!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Celeste L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharronjoye, Guest Relations Manager at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review. We are glad you liked our guestrooms and appreciated the warmth and attention of our staff. Your dissatisfaction with the delay in your coffee replenishment, however, is displeasing and your practical comments will be put to good use. We value your feedback and welcome the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    844
    754
    267
    126
    91
See reviews for
511
700
106
310
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was our first time to stay at the Raffaello and we will definitely return. It is the perfect location for shopping, entertainment and dining on the Magnificent Mile and Rush Street - only steps away from Water Tower Place and endless shopping for blocks. There are numerous hotels to choose from in Chicago, but we have always liked the atmosphere of smaller boutique hotels that offer European charm. Recently updated, the Raffaello was everything we wanted. It offered updated decor while retaining amazing old world architectural details. This was a quick weekend getaway for our family and we booked two rooms. The staff was incredibly helpful and courteous throughout our stay including the front desk staff, door staff and housekeeping. The door staff opened the front door for us and ALWAYS asked us if we were enjoying our day. Alex and Carl were great. Felt like we were coming home each time we returned to the building. Because the previous night was sold out, our rooms were not quite ready when we arrived, but they checked our bags and called our cell when the rooms were available which was well before the 4 PM check-in time. Girls went shopping and boys went to the Museum of Science and Industry. It didn't affect our schedule at all. We used the self-park garage option which is only a 1/2 block from the hotel and reasonably priced at $34 a day which they simply charged to our room. We did receive a complimentary upgrade to a suite for one of our rooms and it was very nice to have the second room for our young son to stay in with the sofa bed. Every room has the convenience of a mini frig and microwave as well. The bathrooms were slightly small and our suite did not have a vanity area but it was perfect for a shorter stay. Our teenagers' double room did have a separate vanity area in the bathroom which was nice. For longer stays, I would just ask for a room with a vanity area. Loved the rainfall shower heads and robes in our room. Beds were very comfortable and after a very long day of shopping, we all crashed pretty easily. The elevators are small - hence that European feel and being on the 17th floor probably took a little longer but honestly, we didn't really notice any real inconvenience. The rooftop bar is amazing with options to be inside or outside! What a great place to hang out. Of course there are countless restaurants in the downtown area, but if you only want to walk a few steps, there are some great options as well. The hotel has a restaurant which I am sure is lovely, but we opted for Francesca's which is directly behind the hotel. This Italian restaurant was exceptional and very reasonably priced. They even offered to customize menu options to include ingredients of our choice. Other dining options within steps are Rosebud's, Cheesecake Factory and The Local. For breakfast the hotel offers a pastry and coffee shop with some unique pastry options. YUM! Overall, we give the Raffaelo an outstanding rating. It's great to experience a large city like Chicago but return to the intimate feel of a smaller hotel like the Raffaello.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSchmidts2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharronjoye, Guest Relations Manager at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your perfect rating! We are glad you approved of our amenities, guestrooms and location and I find your kind words about the service you received from the Raffaello team extremely gratifying. We look forward to welcoming the entire family back home in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Outstanding location on North Side, comfortable room and attentive service from check-in time. Being an old hotel it is hard to imagine a feasible way to fix the roaring sound of the air conditioner -- indispensable in times of October cool time in Chicago.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Roberto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharronjoye, Guest Relations Manager at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We appreciate your gracious compliments on Raffaello's relaxing guestrooms, and helpful staff in this wonderful review, and our location in the Gold Coast is ideal for families here to enjoy Chicago and Lake Michigan. I am sorry to hear of the noise disturbance and will certainly ensure that issue is investigated and resolved. I hope you have the opportunity to visit us again, hopefully very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

The hotel was within walking distance to most of the attractions. Shops and restaurants also close. It was clean and we were lucky to have an upgrade, the room was the biggest we have ever been in. The bed was really comfortable. It was next to the Hancock building which was good as if you got a bit lost you just looked for the building and you knew which direction to go in! Would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2812kerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharronjoye, Guest Relations Manager at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for being our guest and giving us your positive feedback! Your compliments on our wonderful location and guestroom suites are sincerely appreciated. We anticipate your next visit to the Raffaello in Chicago's famed Gold Coast, hopefully very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, WA, USA
Level Contributor
146 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were visiting my brother in Chicago and he lives within about 10 miles of the Raffaelo. He did a lot of scouting for us and one day went to have a drink at the Drumbar on the top floor. He asked some folks there if they liked their rooms and they said they did. So he recommended the hotel to us. We were glad he did.

We stayed four days (Tues-Sat) and had booked a queen room and were upgraded to suite upon arrival. That was a very nice surprise and we truly loved having the extra room. It meant that I could get up before my bride in the morning and work on my photos or leave for a walk without waking her.

Bed was very comfortable, bathroom nicely appointed. We were on the fifth floor which made for shorter elevator rides. We had read some critiques complaining about the small elevators but having stayed extensively in European hotels, these were good size by comparison. Just be patient as you may have to wait for a few to come and go to get your luggage up or down.

Housekeeping was excellent. Room was clean. We do wish they would clean a little earlier as we went out for an entire day and came back around 3:30 and the room still had not been cleaned. I hate sitting in a room (thankfully it was a suite) while the room is clean.

We would stay at the Rafaello again. It is exceptionally well located next to the Hancock Building and only a block from the Water Tower Center which has super shopping and a great food court for breakfast.

One small criticism is that they need to get to free WiFi but I get that they don't. It would have been nice if the hotel directory had mentioned that there is free WiFi in the lobby. Didn't realize it until the last day. One other thing that didn't work for us. We decided to try the Drumbar and while it is beautiful and has wonderful view, the music was so loud we could barely hear ourselves think. But that's probably because we went up late. Should have gone earlier when the "older" crowd was there. How does anyone have a conversation in that room.

Room Tip: Beg for a suite. Better chance of getting one if you stay during the week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DrKoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharronjoye, Guest Relations Manager at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for your comprehensive review about the Raffaello! We are delighted you were pleased with our excellent location, comfortable guestrooms, and welcoming staff. I am so glad you had the opportunity to visit Drumbar, our rooftop lounge and your comments will be used constructively to improve the future guest experience. We would love to have you and your wife stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We liked everything about this hotel. It could have been a little less expensive, but we didn't realize when we booked that the Chicago marathon was going on that weekend. The staff was courteous and helpful. We arrived about 2:00-2:30, but our room wasn't ready yet (check-in is at 4). The desk clerk offered to call my cell when it was available, so we could shop or sight-see or whatever. We didn't have long to wait at all before we were called. The location was perfect for what we wanted - only a short walk to Ditka's and the Broadway Playhouse at Water Tower Place.

The shower was nice, and the hand-held had PLENTY of water pressure. The towels were thick, soft and absorbent. I was hoping for bathrobes, but there were none. The bed was very comfortable, and we had no problem keeping the room at a comfortable temperature.

Except for a weird mechanical tumbling noise that we could hear in the bathroom all night (didn't hear it in the room itself, though), the room was quiet, both in the hotel and down below on the street. It was also clean, and updated. I would definitely stay here again (hopefully the rates will be lower the next time).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MO_Girl_STL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharronjoye, Guest Relations Manager at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for posting your review of the Raffaello and giving us your 5 STAR rating! Our goal is excellent service in a comfortable environment and that we were able to provide this for you makes us very proud indeed. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Raffaello when you return to Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lawn, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was my wife's first trip to Chicago and I wanted everything to be perfect for her. The Raffaello certainly played a big part in what turned out to be a fantastic experience.
I read allot of reviews on TA and am always confused when the reviews are at one extreme or the other for the same hotel. All I can say is that if you are looking for things to pick apart I guess you can find them here. However, if you are looking for a place with a great staff, incredible location, clean rooms, comfortable beds and one of the coolest rooftop bars I have ever been to this is the place for you.
If you are looking for a place with a business center, large fast elevators and a big lobby then maybe it's not.
We will be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fourstringsalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharronjoye, Guest Relations Manager at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for being our guest and giving us your positive feedback! Our intention at the Raffaello is to provide a memorable and exceptional experience and we are delighted to have accomplished this for your wife's special day. I am so glad you had the opportunity to visit Drumbar, our rooftop speakeasy lounge and your gracious compliments regarding our friendly services will be shared with the entire Raffaello team. We look forward to welcoming you both back home in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#67 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#102 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffaello Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffaello Hotel

Property: Raffaello Hotel
Address: 201 E Delaware Pl, Chicago, IL 60611-1713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#60 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#69 Family Hotel in Chicago
#70 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Raffaello Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago’s only completely non-smoking 4-star boutique luxury hotel has the best location of any 4-star hotel, just steps away from Michigan Avenue in the heart of the Gold Coast. The famed Magnificent Mile, is just steps from Raffaello Hotel’s front door, as is shopping, theater, nightlife, restaurants, clubs, Navy Pier, Hancock Observatory, museums, zoos, and beaches. Amenities include breakfast room service, massage treatments, manicure and pedicure by Windy City Massage, concierge services, 24-hour business center, PC computer kiosks, 24-hour fitness center, valet parking, valet laundry, mini-bars, microwaves, rain forest showerheads, flat screen LCD TV’s, DVD players, in room safes, luxurious bathrobes, all cotton terry bath towels, 350 thread count sheets overlaying goose down duvets. 18th floor meetings and convention center. Every guest room is non-smoking as are the public areas validating our claim to being Chicago’s only completely non-smoking luxury boutique 4 star hotel, just off Michigan Avenue, the Magnificent Mile. Our newest addition, Drumbar, sits atop the 18th floor. Drumbar is a multi seasonal destination with a speakeasy style inside lounge and outdoor garden terrace. Designed as a drinking establishment to deliver warmth, style, and an energetic spirit of old meets new. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Raffaello Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffaello Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing