We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to stay in a great location”
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Raffaello Hotel
Ranked #106 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were visiting my brother in Chicago and he lives within about 10 miles of the Raffaelo. He did a lot of scouting for us and one day went to have a drink at the Drumbar on the top floor. He asked some folks there if they liked their rooms and they said they did. So he recommended the hotel to us. We were glad he did.

We stayed four days (Tues-Sat) and had booked a queen room and were upgraded to suite upon arrival. That was a very nice surprise and we truly loved having the extra room. It meant that I could get up before my bride in the morning and work on my photos or leave for a walk without waking her.

Bed was very comfortable, bathroom nicely appointed. We were on the fifth floor which made for shorter elevator rides. We had read some critiques complaining about the small elevators but having stayed extensively in European hotels, these were good size by comparison. Just be patient as you may have to wait for a few to come and go to get your luggage up or down.

Housekeeping was excellent. Room was clean. We do wish they would clean a little earlier as we went out for an entire day and came back around 3:30 and the room still had not been cleaned. I hate sitting in a room (thankfully it was a suite) while the room is clean.

We would stay at the Rafaello again. It is exceptionally well located next to the Hancock Building and only a block from the Water Tower Center which has super shopping and a great food court for breakfast.

One small criticism is that they need to get to free WiFi but I get that they don't. It would have been nice if the hotel directory had mentioned that there is free WiFi in the lobby. Didn't realize it until the last day. One other thing that didn't work for us. We decided to try the Drumbar and while it is beautiful and has wonderful view, the music was so loud we could barely hear ourselves think. But that's probably because we went up late. Should have gone earlier when the "older" crowd was there. How does anyone have a conversation in that room.

Room Tip: Beg for a suite. Better chance of getting one if you stay during the week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DrKoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharronjoye, Guest Relations Manager at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you for your comprehensive review about the Raffaello! We are delighted you were pleased with our excellent location, comfortable guestrooms, and welcoming staff. I am so glad you had the opportunity to visit Drumbar, our rooftop lounge and your comments will be used constructively to improve the future guest experience. We would love to have you and your wife stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,337 - 1,343 of 2,217 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

We liked everything about this hotel. It could have been a little less expensive, but we didn't realize when we booked that the Chicago marathon was going on that weekend. The staff was courteous and helpful. We arrived about 2:00-2:30, but our room wasn't ready yet (check-in is at 4). The desk clerk offered to call my cell when it was available, so we could shop or sight-see or whatever. We didn't have long to wait at all before we were called. The location was perfect for what we wanted - only a short walk to Ditka's and the Broadway Playhouse at Water Tower Place.

The shower was nice, and the hand-held had PLENTY of water pressure. The towels were thick, soft and absorbent. I was hoping for bathrobes, but there were none. The bed was very comfortable, and we had no problem keeping the room at a comfortable temperature.

Except for a weird mechanical tumbling noise that we could hear in the bathroom all night (didn't hear it in the room itself, though), the room was quiet, both in the hotel and down below on the street. It was also clean, and updated. I would definitely stay here again (hopefully the rates will be lower the next time).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MO_Girl_STL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharronjoye, Guest Relations Manager at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you for posting your review of the Raffaello and giving us your 5 STAR rating! Our goal is excellent service in a comfortable environment and that we were able to provide this for you makes us very proud indeed. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Raffaello when you return to Chicago!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was my wife's first trip to Chicago and I wanted everything to be perfect for her. The Raffaello certainly played a big part in what turned out to be a fantastic experience.
I read allot of reviews on TA and am always confused when the reviews are at one extreme or the other for the same hotel. All I can say is that if you are looking for things to pick apart I guess you can find them here. However, if you are looking for a place with a great staff, incredible location, clean rooms, comfortable beds and one of the coolest rooftop bars I have ever been to this is the place for you.
If you are looking for a place with a business center, large fast elevators and a big lobby then maybe it's not.
We will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fourstringsalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharronjoye, Guest Relations Manager at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you for being our guest and giving us your positive feedback! Our intention at the Raffaello is to provide a memorable and exceptional experience and we are delighted to have accomplished this for your wife's special day. I am so glad you had the opportunity to visit Drumbar, our rooftop speakeasy lounge and your gracious compliments regarding our friendly services will be shared with the entire Raffaello team. We look forward to welcoming you both back home in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Really had a great stay there for the weekend of the giants game. The ladies at the front desk were extremely friendly, Diego, out front, was super, the location is fantastic (right next to Hancock building), rooms clean, sick donut shop in the lobby and a wonderful bar on the roof. The only blemish was the CIA agent, Harry, working the front door. Abrasive, curt, abusive to his coworkers and just plain mean.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharronjoye, Guest Relations Manager at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent visit. I am glad you and your friends enjoyed the game and had a great stay with us! We are delighted you found our guestrooms comfortable, our location excellent and our Front Desk staff welcoming. We will certainly use your comments constructively to improve the guest experience, and I look forward to sharing your compliment with Diego and the Raffaello Team. We hope that you will return to see us again real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

My fiance and I planned a stay at the Raffaello to celebrate her birthday and our engagement. We were greeted with smiles by a dutiful staff who promptly took and unloaded our luggage in the Suite that "LIZ" the incredible concierge upgraded us to to celebrate our happy occasion. When our room keys did not work the bell hop took them and promptly returned with new ones. Our stay was the paragon of hospitality and amenities.

Parking was a hassle and we ultimately needed to use a lot on an adjacent street but nevertheless I strongly recommend the Raffaello to anyone staying in Chicago.

Glazed and confused the gourmet doughnut shop in the lobby was an added sweet treat.

Room Tip: Their Deluxe suite provided ample space and everything and more that was needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharronjoye, Guest Relations Manager at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

We appreciate your gracious compliments in this wonderful review. Thank you for letting us be a part of such an important event, and I assure you Liz will receive recognition for her exceptional service to you and your new fiance. We anticipate your next visit, hopefully very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Awesome hotel in every aspect, great room, awesome location, and amazing staff! Alicia and Jeneline thank you for all your help during our stay. The rooftop bar upstairs is great. You won't regret staying here.
-Konstantin

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbykhovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharronjoye, Guest Relations Manager at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you for posting your review of the Raffaello and giving us your perfect rating! We are delighted the Staff provided you and your colleagues with exceptional service, and Alicia and Jeneline of our Front Office will receive special acknowledgement. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Raffaello when you return to Chicago!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary here last weekend. We were able to check in early and were upgraded to a suite in celebration of our anniversary. The staff was very friendly and efficient and couldn’t do enough to accommodate us. The room was large, clean and well-appointed. Keurig coffee maker, microwave, mini fridge and sink were a nice bonus. The towels, bed linens and toiletries were quality. The elevators were a little slow but it is an older building so that is to be expected. You couldn’t ask for a better location. We’ll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mimzy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharronjoye, Guest Relations Manager at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you for posting your compliments about your experience! Your Pearl Anniversary is a notable accomplishment and we enjoyed helping to make magnificent memories for you. We are glad you approved of our guestrooms, amenities and location but your kind words regarding the service you received are most rewarding. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Raffaello real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#107 of 192 in Chicago
1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Streeterville
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
#122 of 192 in Chicago
948 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#74 of 192 in Chicago
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffaello Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffaello Hotel

Address: 201 E Delaware Pl, Chicago, IL 60611-1713
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Family Hotel in Chicago
#60 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#64 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#70 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $87 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Raffaello Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago’s only completely non-smoking 4-star boutique luxury hotel has the best location of any 4-star hotel, just steps away from Michigan Avenue in the heart of the Gold Coast. The famed Magnificent Mile, is just steps from Raffaello Hotel’s front door, as is shopping, theater, nightlife, restaurants, clubs, Navy Pier, Hancock Observatory, museums, zoos, and beaches. Amenities include breakfast room service, massage treatments, manicure and pedicure by Windy City Massage, concierge services, 24-hour business center, PC computer kiosks, 24-hour fitness center, valet parking, valet laundry, mini-bars, microwaves, rain forest showerheads, flat screen LCD TV’s, DVD players, in room safes, luxurious bathrobes, all cotton terry bath towels, 350 thread count sheets overlaying goose down duvets. 18th floor meetings and convention center. Every guest room is non-smoking as are the public areas validating our claim to being Chicago’s only completely non-smoking luxury boutique 4 star hotel, just off Michigan Avenue, the Magnificent Mile. Our newest addition, Drumbar, sits atop the 18th floor. Drumbar is a multi seasonal destination with a speakeasy style inside lounge and outdoor garden terrace. Designed as a drinking establishment to deliver warmth, style, and an energetic spirit of old meets new. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelPower, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Raffaello Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffaello Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing